2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> I Could Use Some Advice..., Guitar Rig 3.
Gilmore
post Nov 26 2008, 09:50 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 2-October 07
From: Reykjavik, Iceland
Member No.: 2.932



Hi

Yesterday I was trying out GR3 and I just pluged the guitar in my soundcard (Soundblaster XF-I Fatality). I used Creative Asio driver and set the latency at 5. I got some great sounds, but there was still some unwanted noise I didn´t like. I think this soundcard is not good enough. I was thinking of buying mabye mbox 2 or mbox 2 mini, don´t you think everything should sound clean and sweet throught that?

But I was thinking, I do have Pod X3 Live, and I like it alot, but what i´ve heard from GR3 it´s sounds alot better and more realistic and more like real tube amps, specially the overdriven sounds. So I´m asking you guys if you would prefer GR3 over PodX3?


--------------------
Electric Guitars: Gibson SG 61´ Reissue, Gibson Les Paul Classic, Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2008 OW RW) , Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2003 2TSB MPL), Ibanez Prestige RG2570E, Warmoth Telecaster (BlueBurst), Warmoth Custom (CherryBurst).
Accoustic Guitars: Ovation Custom Legend, Ovation Legend (12 string), Martin 000-15M.
Classical Guitars: Jose Ramirez 125 Ano (Cedar), Manuel Rodriguez Model D (Spruce).
Bass: Ibanez SRX500.
Keyboard: M-Audio Keystation 88es.
Recording interface: Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DPS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darfuria
post Nov 26 2008, 10:05 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 322
Joined: 11-April 08
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4.867



Guitar Rig is a very noisy piece of software regardless, but I'd definitely take the POD.


--------------------
Want a website for you or your band? http://www.websiteformyband.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
post Nov 26 2008, 10:24 AM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Member No.: 3.387



Did you plug the guitar in LINE IN or MIC, MIC is sometimes better choice because in Creative soundcards it has a kind of built pre-amp.

But, this sound card is not meant to be an audio interface, I am not sure if your POD can act as an audio interface. (does it has USB port)

Another thing, guitar output has high-impendance (as input of amps), while computers (and mixers) have low-impendance. TO match impendance you need a DI box (direct injection). And if your POD has USB connection it may already have DI built in. Check the manual for that. And if it is possible than you connect your guitar through POD with clean sound and try guitar rig that way.

And to get rid of any additional noice, you can try noise reduction in guitar rig smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gilmore
post Nov 26 2008, 11:41 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 2-October 07
From: Reykjavik, Iceland
Member No.: 2.932



Thanks for the help. smile.gif

Yes the Pod has USB connection and I will try what you suggested. But I might still get the mbox, because Pro Tools comes with it. smile.gif



--------------------
Electric Guitars: Gibson SG 61´ Reissue, Gibson Les Paul Classic, Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2008 OW RW) , Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2003 2TSB MPL), Ibanez Prestige RG2570E, Warmoth Telecaster (BlueBurst), Warmoth Custom (CherryBurst).
Accoustic Guitars: Ovation Custom Legend, Ovation Legend (12 string), Martin 000-15M.
Classical Guitars: Jose Ramirez 125 Ano (Cedar), Manuel Rodriguez Model D (Spruce).
Bass: Ibanez SRX500.
Keyboard: M-Audio Keystation 88es.
Recording interface: Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DPS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
post Nov 26 2008, 01:19 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Member No.: 3.387



You're welcome, any time smile.gif

MBOX is a good choice, if you can, go for MBOX 2 wink.gif

And there's also a cheeper solution, M-Audio Transit, it can also work with pro-tools, I plan to get one to be able to record on my laptop. But definately, MBOX is better smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fatb0t
post Nov 26 2008, 03:27 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.202
Joined: 25-November 07
Member No.: 3.373



Mbox2's are legit and you can get them on eBay for cheap.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Nov 26 2008, 03:33 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (Gilmore @ Nov 26 2008, 09:50 AM) *
Hi

Yesterday I was trying out GR3 and I just pluged the guitar in my soundcard (Soundblaster XF-I Fatality). I used Creative Asio driver and set the latency at 5. I got some great sounds, but there was still some unwanted noise I didn´t like. I think this soundcard is not good enough. I was thinking of buying mabye mbox 2 or mbox 2 mini, don´t you think everything should sound clean and sweet throught that?

But I was thinking, I do have Pod X3 Live, and I like it alot, but what i´ve heard from GR3 it´s sounds alot better and more realistic and more like real tube amps, specially the overdriven sounds. So I´m asking you guys if you would prefer GR3 over PodX3?


I used the buildin soundcard for quite a while before I bought my Emu card.
The sound's decent, but you get alot of noise, as you mentioned.

The best go is an external soundcard or a POD, really.
If you have a tubeamp, you'll probably want to invest in a soundcard+attuenator.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Vinod Saranga
post Nov 26 2008, 03:41 PM
Post #8


Acoustic Instructor
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.279
Joined: 15-September 07
From: Colombo,Sri Lanka
Member No.: 2.796



Whenever there is a noise  don't forget to check your cables  smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gilmore
post Nov 26 2008, 07:08 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 2-October 07
From: Reykjavik, Iceland
Member No.: 2.932



I tried using the Pod with GR3, and it sounded great, no noise at all, but the downside is, that the sound from the pod is heard along with the GR3 sound I choose. I selected just clean sound and no amp or cab on the Pod, but the sound is doubled by the sound from the GR, so I don´t know if it´s possible to bypass all sound from the Pod, and only the GR3 sound will be heard. It´s probably not designed to use with 3rd party software. :/





--------------------
Electric Guitars: Gibson SG 61´ Reissue, Gibson Les Paul Classic, Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2008 OW RW) , Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2003 2TSB MPL), Ibanez Prestige RG2570E, Warmoth Telecaster (BlueBurst), Warmoth Custom (CherryBurst).
Accoustic Guitars: Ovation Custom Legend, Ovation Legend (12 string), Martin 000-15M.
Classical Guitars: Jose Ramirez 125 Ano (Cedar), Manuel Rodriguez Model D (Spruce).
Bass: Ibanez SRX500.
Keyboard: M-Audio Keystation 88es.
Recording interface: Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DPS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Nov 27 2008, 12:32 AM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



When you use GR3, do you plug your guitar straight into your soundcard? You will need a DIbox to do this.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marcus Siepen
post Nov 27 2008, 05:19 PM
Post #11


Instructor (Blind Guardian)
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.433
Joined: 5-March 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 4.464



I would definitely stick to GR3, in my opinion it offers the MUCH better sounds, specially when it comes to high gain stuff, but this is a matter of taste of course. About your way of connecting the guitar, I would also recommend a proper interface, I am not sure if your soundcard is causing this noise. And about the interface question, yes, go for Pro Tools and the MBox 2, this just rules smile.gif


--------------------
Guitars: various Gibson Les Pauls / Gibson J 45
Amps: Mesa Boogie Tripple Rectifier / Triaxis / 2:90 Poweramp / Rectocabs
Effects: Rocktron Intellifex / Rocktron Xpression
Homepage: www.marcussiepen.com www.blind-guardian.com
Check out my video lessons!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
post Nov 27 2008, 09:05 PM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Member No.: 3.387



QUOTE (Gilmore @ Nov 26 2008, 07:08 PM) *
I tried using the Pod with GR3, and it sounded great, no noise at all, but the downside is, that the sound from the pod is heard along with the GR3 sound I choose. I selected just clean sound and no amp or cab on the Pod, but the sound is doubled by the sound from the GR, so I don´t know if it´s possible to bypass all sound from the Pod, and only the GR3 sound will be heard. It´s probably not designed to use with 3rd party software. :/


In windows mixer, mute the playback of the MIC or LINE IN, depending where you connected your guitar (that will disable that "unprocessed" sound from the POD) and you should have only guitar rig sound then smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gilmore
post Nov 27 2008, 11:49 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 2-October 07
From: Reykjavik, Iceland
Member No.: 2.932



I solved the problem. I just opend the driver setup window and turned off monitoring, and then I got only the sound from GR. I have latency about 27, it´s ok, but lower would be better. But the sounds from the GR3 are much better than the POD´s, more realistic and much thicker sound, and you almost get this pushing air feeling like you have with real amp, I like it ALOT. smile.gif

But the problem is when I turn on Cubase, it wont let me use the POD drivers when I have GR3 turned on, so that´s a big problem for recording. It´s like the two programs can´t share the driver. I also think the POD is effecting the sound of GR even though I choose clean sound with no amps, so I guess I will buy Mbox2 with Pro Tools. But this showed me roughly how GR3 sounds, and I´m hooked on it now. I had a problem coming up with a good classic rock sounds on the POD, even though I found great sound I use on most of my recordings, but it is a little bit thin and lacks that thickness that GR3 has to offer. I can´t wait to start recording with it. smile.gif


--------------------
Electric Guitars: Gibson SG 61´ Reissue, Gibson Les Paul Classic, Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2008 OW RW) , Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2003 2TSB MPL), Ibanez Prestige RG2570E, Warmoth Telecaster (BlueBurst), Warmoth Custom (CherryBurst).
Accoustic Guitars: Ovation Custom Legend, Ovation Legend (12 string), Martin 000-15M.
Classical Guitars: Jose Ramirez 125 Ano (Cedar), Manuel Rodriguez Model D (Spruce).
Bass: Ibanez SRX500.
Keyboard: M-Audio Keystation 88es.
Recording interface: Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DPS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
post Nov 28 2008, 12:23 AM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Member No.: 3.387



To decrease latency you need some ASIO driver, try installing ASIO4ALL driver, you can get them here: http://www.asio4all.com/

12ms latency or less should be tolerable smile.gif

And regarding cubase, don't use GR3 as standalone program with cubase, install VST for GR3 and INSERT it to audio track.

This post has been edited by Dejan Farkas: Nov 28 2008, 12:27 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gilmore
post Nov 28 2008, 08:29 AM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 2-October 07
From: Reykjavik, Iceland
Member No.: 2.932



QUOTE (Dejan Farkas @ Nov 28 2008, 01:23 AM) *
To decrease latency you need some ASIO driver, try installing ASIO4ALL driver, you can get them here: http://www.asio4all.com/

12ms latency or less should be tolerable smile.gif

And regarding cubase, don't use GR3 as standalone program with cubase, install VST for GR3 and INSERT it to audio track.


Of course, I didn´t think of that. Silly. wink.gif

And I am using ASIO drivers, POD X3 ASIO! When I use just the POD I get 14ms in latency, but with GR I get 27ms.



--------------------
Electric Guitars: Gibson SG 61´ Reissue, Gibson Les Paul Classic, Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2008 OW RW) , Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2003 2TSB MPL), Ibanez Prestige RG2570E, Warmoth Telecaster (BlueBurst), Warmoth Custom (CherryBurst).
Accoustic Guitars: Ovation Custom Legend, Ovation Legend (12 string), Martin 000-15M.
Classical Guitars: Jose Ramirez 125 Ano (Cedar), Manuel Rodriguez Model D (Spruce).
Bass: Ibanez SRX500.
Keyboard: M-Audio Keystation 88es.
Recording interface: Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DPS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
post Nov 28 2008, 10:58 AM
Post #16


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Member No.: 3.387



27 ms is really too much smile.gif

Two questions:

Do you have latest firmware and driver for the POD?

Do you connect your speakers to computer or to POD?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gilmore
post Nov 28 2008, 11:16 AM
Post #17


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 2-October 07
From: Reykjavik, Iceland
Member No.: 2.932



I know 27 is a little to much.

I hook everything to the POD, and yes I always update drivers and firmware. I´ve heard that Line6 interfaces and Pods have higher latency if using 3d party software. If I use Gearbox, the latency is 12 - 14ms, and that´s very usable.

I´m gonna go to the musicstore today and look at mbox. smile.gif














--------------------
Electric Guitars: Gibson SG 61´ Reissue, Gibson Les Paul Classic, Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2008 OW RW) , Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2003 2TSB MPL), Ibanez Prestige RG2570E, Warmoth Telecaster (BlueBurst), Warmoth Custom (CherryBurst).
Accoustic Guitars: Ovation Custom Legend, Ovation Legend (12 string), Martin 000-15M.
Classical Guitars: Jose Ramirez 125 Ano (Cedar), Manuel Rodriguez Model D (Spruce).
Bass: Ibanez SRX500.
Keyboard: M-Audio Keystation 88es.
Recording interface: Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DPS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Nov 29 2008, 04:44 PM
Post #18


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Definitely buy an M-Box. You with get ProTools with it, and this is the industry standard for mixing and producing.

Also with POD, try to adjust sampling to 96000, maybe you will cut down latency to 17-18ms, which is acceptable.

This post has been edited by Ivan Milenkovic: Nov 29 2008, 04:44 PM


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gilmore
post Dec 1 2008, 03:52 PM
Post #19


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 2-October 07
From: Reykjavik, Iceland
Member No.: 2.932



Thanks for great advices guys. smile.gif It´s working very well.

Except for one thing......I´ve installed GR3 and the plugin was installed in Steinberg/Cubase/Vst Plugins folder, where I install all my plugins, but the plugin don´t appear in the list when I press F11 in Cubase. What´s wrong??



--------------------
Electric Guitars: Gibson SG 61´ Reissue, Gibson Les Paul Classic, Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2008 OW RW) , Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2003 2TSB MPL), Ibanez Prestige RG2570E, Warmoth Telecaster (BlueBurst), Warmoth Custom (CherryBurst).
Accoustic Guitars: Ovation Custom Legend, Ovation Legend (12 string), Martin 000-15M.
Classical Guitars: Jose Ramirez 125 Ano (Cedar), Manuel Rodriguez Model D (Spruce).
Bass: Ibanez SRX500.
Keyboard: M-Audio Keystation 88es.
Recording interface: Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DPS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
post Dec 1 2008, 04:04 PM
Post #20


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Member No.: 3.387



Did you restart the Cubase after installing the plugin?

If you did, try adding an Audio track, and click on Insert tab on the left, you should be able to "insert" the GR3 into the track, if not than it is something wrong with the plugin instalation. But first try to do this steps smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 08:10 AM