2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Help Recording With Midi Controler
Kapto
Nov 30 2008, 06:58 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 211
Joined: 9-December 07
From: Spain
Hi
Maybe this question has been posted before. Anyway I'll go ahead tongue.gif
OK I open Cubase and load a vst..... bass, synth or drum. The thing is that I get like 0.5 sec delay that's a lot. While playing the second note I hear the 1st note I hit previously. Do I need to buy some software or hardware to hear the sound almost at real time?
Thanx for any advice given

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
"It's a long way to the top..."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hisham Al-Sanea
Nov 30 2008, 10:05 PM
Instructor
Posts: 4.085
Joined: 19-October 07
From: middle east / lebanon
i think you dont need any software to buy. & i think this problem is ordinary to the midi keyboard, so you have to move the track by mouse to reset the delay between tracks.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kapto
Nov 30 2008, 10:54 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 211
Joined: 9-December 07
From: Spain
huh.gif huh so there's nothing that can be done in real time?
Thank you

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
"It's a long way to the top..."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Dec 1 2008, 12:03 AM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
What keyboard and sound card do you have mate?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ramiro Delforte
Dec 1 2008, 12:39 AM
Instructor
Posts: 2.279
Joined: 4-August 08
From: Argentina, Buenos Aires
In Nuendo (Cubase is almost the same, they are from the same company) you have in the Menu-Devices-Device Setup-VST Audiobay
There you have different drivers, if you change them the latency time will change, you can try that. If that doesn't work could be that you need a better sound card.

Hope that will help you.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Check out my Instructor Profile and Board

LIVE VIDEO CHATS EVERY MONDAY AROUND 22PM (GMC HOUR)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kapto
Dec 1 2008, 03:27 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 211
Joined: 9-December 07
From: Spain

Lol The soundcard is the one that comes with the motherboard Realtek so nooothing special.

I guess Ramiro & Ivan are right. A better sound card might do the trick.
Thanks again

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
"It's a long way to the top..."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Dec 2 2008, 12:18 AM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Definitely get a better soundcard, the MIDI latency is probably due to the poor integrated soundcard. It's time for an early Christmas shopping mate. smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
Dec 2 2008, 12:23 AM
Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Sometimes before I tried to connect MIDI keyboard on Realtek on-board sound, but it was not working well, even with Asio4all drivers, at that time I bought Creative Audigy2 ZS sound blaster to be able to use the MIDI keyboard, it's not the best option but just a low-budget one smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kapto
Dec 2 2008, 12:59 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 211
Joined: 9-December 07
From: Spain
QUOTE (Dejan Farkas @ Dec 2 2008, 01:23 AM) *
Sometimes before I tried to connect MIDI keyboard on Realtek on-board sound, but it was not working well, even with Asio4all drivers, at that time I bought Creative Audigy2 ZS sound blaster to be able to use the MIDI keyboard, it's not the best option but just a low-budget one smile.gif

Well as long as it works fine that's ok.
Thx I'll check it out

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
"It's a long way to the top..."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Dec 2 2008, 01:36 AM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
It should work, I used this card for some time. I think it only enables 96000 sampling, Dejan could confirm that.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
Dec 2 2008, 01:57 AM
Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Yes, it has 24bit, 96kHz and works fine with asio4all drivers, I think the latency was about 10ms, which is ok.

I used it also for some guitar recording, but the trouble was when I wanted to have more than one audio track with guitar rig inserted on each, then few midi tracks with vst's.. this card could not handle it so I had to move to M-Audio Audiophile 2496.

For MIDI controller the Audigy will work fine, but if you plan to use like I mentioned above, you'll have to consider something better smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kapto
Dec 2 2008, 10:05 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 211
Joined: 9-December 07
From: Spain
Yeah, I think I'll go for the Audigy. I record guitar on the GNX4. I just wanna mess about with the midi controler as it's something new to me.
Thank you guys. I appreciate the help

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
"It's a long way to the top..."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emir Hot
Dec 2 2008, 11:10 AM
Instructor
Posts: 7.201
Joined: 14-July 08
From: London UK
I remember long ago when I had a 486 computer I connected very cheap keyboard into my SB AWE 32 sound card. It worked great. Midi doesn't have any conversion and every midi controler is designed to work the same. It just sends a simple information to program. Because there is no conversion to audio signal the latency shouldn't be a problem with midi. There must be something in settings. I remember I had to change something in the keyboard setup and I was able to record.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Check out my <a href="https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Emir-Hot" target="_blank">Instructor profile</a>

www.emirhot.com
www.myspace.com/emirhotguitar
www.myspace.com/sevdahmetal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
Dec 2 2008, 11:34 AM
Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
I agree with you Emir to some point, MIDI input is not a problem here.. the latency appear when assigning VSTi to a MIDI channel since today's VSTi are actually real audio samples, and onboard audio cards cannot hadle it, especially if you have drums, bass and keys as VSTi, and also monitoring the recording track, while playing back the other tracks

The easiest way to check if keyboard input is ok is to recording something simple with cubase metronome (not paying attention to latency), and then check in MIDI editor if the MIDI lines are aligned to the grid.. if the timing of MIDI lines is ok, then the keyboard input is ok, and the problem lies in reproduction.

I also did not have any problem with 586 machine with SB AWE 32, but I was just using integrated general midi soundbank

But that's only my opinion smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
enforcer
Dec 2 2008, 11:58 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 1.202
Joined: 23-September 08
From: Istanbul
If your latency problem is not solved, you may as well try to record your take in Microsoft SW Synth (windows built-in) and after recording it, you'll send it to a VSTi by simply changing the MIDI output.. Remember it always work biggrin.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------


incoming spoiler read it at your own risk!


Spoiler:


Vigier G.V Wood HH
American Stratocaster Maple Standart with X2N bridge pickups
Samwick Artist custom modified Baswood Lespaul with S.Duncan JB and N56 pickups
Self made Fretless Strat type made of Rosewood/Maple with self wound Neck and Ibanez V8 Bridge Pickups
Floor Pod 2.0 Amp Simulation System
Pod Xt Pro Rack Amp Simulation System
Digitech TSR 12 Rack Effect and Studio Reverb
Behringer Composer Rack Compressor Expander
Morley Bad Horsie Wah Pedal
Behringer FB1010 Floor Board



it, surely, spoiled me!!!


and may the force be with you :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emir Hot
Dec 2 2008, 12:02 PM
Instructor
Posts: 7.201
Joined: 14-July 08
From: London UK
Ok now I understand Dejan. Thanks for explanation.
In this case i would record with integrated GM sounds and there should be no latency. It's not really fun to listen to these sounds but it can help in an emergency smile.gif After I can apply VST instrument to the same track. He said he is using onboard sound card so he must have integrated GM.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Check out my <a href="https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Emir-Hot" target="_blank">Instructor profile</a>

www.emirhot.com
www.myspace.com/emirhotguitar
www.myspace.com/sevdahmetal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
Dec 2 2008, 12:02 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 5.635
Joined: 29-November 07
From: Nottingham, UK
I had this problem. Make sure you're using ASIO drivers in your recording suite as they run better and give a better latency value so you can record without the delay. I'm not sure whether it will still be bad with your onboard sound but it'll make it better.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


This post has been edited by OrganisedConfusion: Dec 2 2008, 12:02 PM


--------------------
Gear
Guitars:- Caparison Horus Snowcloud, Parker Nitefly M, Parker Nitefly SA, Gibson SG, Parker P10e, 40 Year Old Spanish Acoustic
Amps:- Framus Ruby Riot 2x12" stack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Dec 2 2008, 08:25 PM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Did you get the Audigy card mate? They should be around 10/15 bucks these days.. You can even get Audigy SE this is really cheap and it does all the work Dejan did with his Audigy card when he was using it.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


This post has been edited by Ivan Milenkovic: Dec 2 2008, 08:26 PM


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kapto
Dec 3 2008, 02:57 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 211
Joined: 9-December 07
From: Spain
QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Dec 2 2008, 09:25 PM) *
Did you get the Audigy card mate? They should be around 10/15 bucks these days.. You can even get Audigy SE this is really cheap and it does all the work Dejan did with his Audigy card when he was using it.

Lol no that cheap about 30/40 the Audigy 2 zs. I'm bidding on one on Ebay. 16hrs remaining wink.gif
BTW
The recording is fine I see the recorded tracks with a right timing it's just that I like to hear what I play with the shortest delay possible.
I'll keep you updated on this one, no worries

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
"It's a long way to the top..."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
enforcer
Dec 3 2008, 04:15 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 1.202
Joined: 23-September 08
From: Istanbul
man I remembered times when I was trying to mix near 50 tracks with an audigy platinium (that I spent nearly $200 a few years back) it was a real torture. I am happy nowadays with my $150 spent used M-Audio Delta 1010LT, not the greatest jewel on the market for sure but it suits my needs biggrin.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------


incoming spoiler read it at your own risk!


Spoiler:


Vigier G.V Wood HH
American Stratocaster Maple Standart with X2N bridge pickups
Samwick Artist custom modified Baswood Lespaul with S.Duncan JB and N56 pickups
Self made Fretless Strat type made of Rosewood/Maple with self wound Neck and Ibanez V8 Bridge Pickups
Floor Pod 2.0 Amp Simulation System
Pod Xt Pro Rack Amp Simulation System
Digitech TSR 12 Rack Effect and Studio Reverb
Behringer Composer Rack Compressor Expander
Morley Bad Horsie Wah Pedal
Behringer FB1010 Floor Board



it, surely, spoiled me!!!


and may the force be with you :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 




RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 7th April 2020 - 09:27 PM