2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Help Recording With Midi Controler
SensE
Dec 3 2008, 04:48 AM
Post #21
Dec 3 2008, 04:48 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 508
Joined: 5-February 08
From: Wichita, USA
I'm using a firewire interface and Realtek on-board soundcard. Do I need to purchase an extra soundcard to overcome the latency issue?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
Dec 3 2008, 08:15 AM
Post #22
Dec 3 2008, 08:15 AM
Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Would you please tell us what do you mean by "using firewire interface" smile.gif
- you connect your MIDI keyboard to firewire connector, or
- you have an external audio interface where you connect your MIDI keyboard, connected to firewire connector

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nemanja Filipovi...
Dec 3 2008, 08:47 AM
Post #23
Dec 3 2008, 08:47 AM
Singing Instructor
Posts: 3.391
Joined: 23-January 08
QUOTE (enforcer @ Dec 3 2008, 04:15 AM) *
man I remembered times when I was trying to mix near 50 tracks with an audigy platinium (that I spent nearly $200 a few years back) it was a real torture. I am happy nowadays with my $150 spent used M-Audio Delta 1010LT, not the greatest jewel on the market for sure but it suits my needs biggrin.gif

Delta is a great card.wink.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Participate im my new Crazy Blues Collaboration
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gerardo Siere
Dec 3 2008, 10:04 AM
Post #24
Dec 3 2008, 10:04 AM
Instructor
Posts: 2.424
Joined: 20-December 07
From: San Juan
In cubasen there is at the left of everytrack a clock icon where you can compensate the deley for the track, you can record and then use it, then you can fix somo wrong notes using the piano-roll.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Check out my video lessons!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Dec 4 2008, 02:09 PM
Post #25
Dec 4 2008, 02:09 PM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
QUOTE (SensE @ Dec 3 2008, 04:48 AM) *
I'm using a firewire interface and Realtek on-board soundcard. Do I need to purchase an extra soundcard to overcome the latency issue?


Do you use firewire for video camera mate or for MIDI keyboard?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SensE
Dec 5 2008, 03:07 AM
Post #26
Dec 5 2008, 03:07 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 508
Joined: 5-February 08
From: Wichita, USA
Im using the Presonus firebox. I cannot connect my keyboard into this firewire interface because my keybaord doesnt have the spdif output. What I did was connecting the keybaord to my computer straight away via USB port. It has quite a bit of latency issue.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
Dec 5 2008, 09:03 AM
Post #27
Dec 5 2008, 09:03 AM
Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
OK, first make sure your system is connected this way:



And secondly, to connect your MIDI to MIDI/SPDIF you need a breakout cable, like this (such cables are usually packed with devices)



Ane then just connect MIDI OUT on keyboard to MIDI IN on the breakout cable, with MIDI cable (assuming that you have MIDI OUT on your keyboard):



The other option is connecting the MIDI keyboard via USB, and leaving the rest of the system as described on the Hook-up diagram. Try all this, and let us know if it works smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


This post has been edited by Dejan Farkas: Dec 5 2008, 09:05 AM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Dec 5 2008, 08:15 PM
Post #28
Dec 5 2008, 08:15 PM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
QUOTE (SensE @ Dec 5 2008, 03:07 AM) *
Im using the Presonus firebox. I cannot connect my keyboard into this firewire interface because my keybaord doesnt have the spdif output. What I did was connecting the keybaord to my computer straight away via USB port. It has quite a bit of latency issue.


THat's really strange mate, this interface of yours should not have any latency issues with the keyboard. What DAW software do you use? Did you choose ASIO Firebox drivers as default drivers in your DAW?

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kapto
Dec 12 2008, 05:35 PM
Post #29
Dec 12 2008, 05:35 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 211
Joined: 9-December 07
From: Spain
OK just recieved the Audigy SE soundcard today. Installed it and it does the job. There's a liiiitle delay (which I guess is normal) but nothing compare as before.
Thanks for the help guys! wink.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
"It's a long way to the top..."
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Dec 13 2008, 09:31 AM
Post #30
Dec 13 2008, 09:31 AM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
No problem mate, glad you got your problem fixed. I worked with Audigy SE card for some time, and it's a good card to start with.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 




RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st March 2020 - 08:39 PM