Reply to this topicStart new topic
> From Linux To Windows
Jose Mena
post Dec 9 2008, 05:50 PM
Post #1


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 1.359
Joined: 28-July 08
From: Miami FL
Member No.: 5.593



Hello Guys

Since it seems that many of us guitar players are into computers and stuff, I thought I would ask here:

Has anyone ever ported linux program into windows, I am not talking emulation, I am talking about I have the code, it was written on linux and builds on linux operating system, want to take the code and compile it in windows to make it a win32 application.

I am not a programmer, but somehow find myself involved with stuff like this.

Later


--------------------
Check out my Video Lessons
Visit my Instructor Board
Visit MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fatb0t
post Dec 9 2008, 08:27 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.202
Joined: 25-November 07
Member No.: 3.373



Is the application open source? If it's open source you need to rewrite the application to accommodate windows eccentricities... I'd imagine you're better off using a linux virtual machine to use that program when you need, then close the virtual machine and go back to windows. Recoding programs to use in a different OS isn't an easy task unless the app was written in java or something that is cross platform..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jose Mena
post Dec 9 2008, 08:41 PM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 1.359
Joined: 28-July 08
From: Miami FL
Member No.: 5.593



Yes, open source application, simple program that works under linux and we want it to work on windows, I know not an easy task, it was written in C++, I've done some research and apparently it can be done using cygwin.


--------------------
Check out my Video Lessons
Visit my Instructor Board
Visit MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Static
post Dec 10 2008, 11:11 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 23-February 08
Member No.: 4.360



Is it a program with a GUI or does it just run in the terminal?

This post has been edited by Static: Dec 10 2008, 11:12 AM


--------------------

Guitars: Peavey HP Special Custom, Gibson SG Standard, Ibanez RG1570
Amps: Marshall TSL601, Fender Frontman Reverb, Fender Champion 600
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GrindGuer
post Dec 10 2008, 12:00 PM
Post #5


Experienced Rock Star & Challenge Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 289
Joined: 29-November 08
From: France
Member No.: 6.326



Maybe you could just use Linux ? wink.gif OK, I'm not very usefull... huh.gif
I don't know C++, so I can't help you. And I've always been interested in porting windows software to Linux, not the opposite. But I think Cygwin is what I would look for.


--------------------
�Million-to-one chances crop up nine times out of ten.�
― Terry Pratchett, The Light Fantastic
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Dec 10 2008, 12:52 PM
Post #6


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



It really depends on the program.

If its hard core calculations with little I/O running as a command line it likely just recompile. If you are relying on linux libraries for specific functions, you may need to port those as well or find equivalents. If it has a GUI, as static says, all bets are off and you are into a fairly hefty rewrite. At that stage, the design of the program becomes significant - did the original author take care to isolate OS specific things such as the GUI? In which case a rewrite might not be too hard. If he didn't though, it could be a large job, as the windows GUI is significantly different from the Linux GUI.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jose Mena
post Dec 10 2008, 03:44 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 1.359
Joined: 28-July 08
From: Miami FL
Member No.: 5.593



Thanks everyone for the help.

No GUI for this one, but looking to add one, but I'd be happy if the thing works in a dos terminal for the moment.

@ Andrew: man what are you??, guitar player?, Computer wiz?, you are awesome man, I figured I need 3 libraries which I am working on installing right now.

Again thanks everyone, I'll have more questions soon if you guys don't mind


--------------------
Check out my Video Lessons
Visit my Instructor Board
Visit MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Dec 10 2008, 07:28 PM
Post #8


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Jose Mena @ Dec 10 2008, 09:44 AM) *
@ Andrew: man what are you??, guitar player?, Computer wiz?, you are awesome man, I figured I need 3 libraries which I am working on installing right now.


I've just been around a bit is all wink.gif

Actually, computers are my day job!


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Dec 11 2008, 10:09 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (Jose Mena @ Dec 10 2008, 03:44 PM) *
@ Andrew: man what are you??, guitar player?, Computer wiz?, you are awesome man, I figured I need 3 libraries which I am working on installing right now.


Lollercoaster
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
utak3r
post Feb 5 2009, 02:05 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 553
Joined: 3-January 09
From: Szczecin, Poland
Member No.: 6.530



Don't hesitate to ask, if you have any questions in this field smile.gif


--------------------
sooner or later... you will meet the undertaker...
utak3r.pl
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
29a
post Feb 5 2009, 02:41 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 356
Joined: 28-December 08
Member No.: 6.464



You could try to compile it against cygwin and pray. As praying isn't very effective you'll probably have to change some things in the source code to make it work. It's mostly minor things tough. I'd be more happy to help you to port it in the other direction but as utak3r said just ask smile.gif

- Jonas


--------------------
My Website | My Gear | Elixir Nanoweb Strings Review | Installing Schaller Security Locks
"If privacy is outlawed, only outlaws will have privacy." - Phil Zimmermann
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Toni Suominen
post Feb 5 2009, 10:37 PM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.038
Joined: 2-December 07
From: Rauma, Finland
Member No.: 3.434



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Dec 10 2008, 01:52 PM) *
It really depends on the program.

If its hard core calculations with little I/O running as a command line it likely just recompile. If you are relying on linux libraries for specific functions, you may need to port those as well or find equivalents. If it has a GUI, as static says, all bets are off and you are into a fairly hefty rewrite. At that stage, the design of the program becomes significant - did the original author take care to isolate OS specific things such as the GUI? In which case a rewrite might not be too hard. If he didn't though, it could be a large job, as the windows GUI is significantly different from the Linux GUI.


I have no idea what you just said there biggrin.gif


--------------------
Gear:
-PRS Custom 22
-Edwards Les Paul
-PodXT
-Ibanez Acoustic


Check out my lessons and my instructor profile!

My Youtube channel

My Last.FM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
utak3r
post Feb 6 2009, 12:08 AM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 553
Joined: 3-January 09
From: Szczecin, Poland
Member No.: 6.530



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Dec 10 2008, 12:52 PM) *
If he didn't though, it could be a large job, as the windows GUI is significantly different from the Linux GUI.


hm, nowadays we're at the better position - under Windows you have both Gtk and Qt, so it doesn't need to be completely rewritten... smile.gif
Besides there're few GUIs which are completely platform independent, like wxWindows for example smile.gif Things are getting better slowly, year by year...


--------------------
sooner or later... you will meet the undertaker...
utak3r.pl
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
29a
post Feb 6 2009, 10:47 AM
Post #14


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 356
Joined: 28-December 08
Member No.: 6.464



QUOTE (utak3r @ Feb 6 2009, 12:08 AM) *
hm, nowadays we're at the better position - under Windows you have both Gtk and Qt, so it doesn't need to be completely rewritten... smile.gif
Besides there're few GUIs which are completely platform independent, like wxWindows for example smile.gif Things are getting better slowly, year by year...

QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn)
Did the original author take care to isolate OS specific things such as the GUI
One could say that by using a cross Platform Framework like gobject/gtk or QT the author did take care of that. But you're right virtually nobody creates applications that directly access X11 anymore.

- Jonas


--------------------
My Website | My Gear | Elixir Nanoweb Strings Review | Installing Schaller Security Locks
"If privacy is outlawed, only outlaws will have privacy." - Phil Zimmermann
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jose Mena
post Feb 6 2009, 04:38 PM
Post #15


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 1.359
Joined: 28-July 08
From: Miami FL
Member No.: 5.593



QUOTE (29a @ Feb 5 2009, 08:41 AM) *
You could try to compile it against cygwin and pray. As praying isn't very effective you'll probably have to change some things in the source code to make it work. It's mostly minor things tough. I'd be more happy to help you to port it in the other direction but as utak3r said just ask smile.gif

- Jonas


Man I tried this with cigwin and then with mingw, had some linker problems, my knowledge with code is very limited


--------------------
Check out my Video Lessons
Visit my Instructor Board
Visit MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sensible Jones
post Feb 6 2009, 05:45 PM
Post #16


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.233
Joined: 2-January 09
From: London-ish. UK.
Member No.: 6.517



QUOTE (Toni Suominen @ Feb 5 2009, 09:37 PM) *
I have no idea what you just said there biggrin.gif

You and I both Toni!!!!!
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif


--------------------
I'd rather have a full Bottle in front of me than a full Frontal Lobotomy!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
29a
post Feb 6 2009, 10:32 PM
Post #17


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 356
Joined: 28-December 08
Member No.: 6.464



QUOTE (Jose Mena @ Feb 6 2009, 04:38 PM) *
Man I tried this with cigwin and then with mingw, had some linker problems, my knowledge with code is very limited
I've just sent my glass orb to repair so you'll have to post the error message wink.gif

- Jonas


--------------------
My Website | My Gear | Elixir Nanoweb Strings Review | Installing Schaller Security Locks
"If privacy is outlawed, only outlaws will have privacy." - Phil Zimmermann
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Resurrection
post Feb 7 2009, 02:08 PM
Post #18


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 202
Joined: 22-May 07
Member No.: 1.906



QUOTE (Jose Mena @ Feb 6 2009, 03:38 PM) *
Man I tried this with cigwin and then with mingw, had some linker problems, my knowledge with code is very limited


As 29a says, the linker error messages should give some clues. Is the linker complaining about unresolved symbols? Are you trying to link against any libraries other than the standard C++ run-time libraries?



--------------------
QUOTE
If you think you can, you can. And if you think you can't, you're right.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th March 2017 - 10:53 PM