Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Home Recording Help Pleaaase
bleak
post Dec 15 2008, 01:37 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 27-November 08
Member No.: 6.312



Ive got quite a few compositions i've written on guitar pro that I would like to record on my pc, but I need help with some equipment...

My equipment so far - ESP Viper 200fm, Marshall MG 30DFX (which has an emulated line out), I also have a jack converter to convert an amp cable into a headphone size cable (not sure the technical jack names).

As for my PC its about 6 years old and I have a Creative sound blaster live 5.1 soundcard and I have Cubase SX3

Ive tried recording by plugging the lineout of my amp into the pink recording slot in my soundcard, with the jack. But this wasnt that great quality and there was about 0.5 second latency which was impossible to use!


I was wondering if some people could give me some pointers on what I need (equipment, software etc ) Im guessing I prob need a preamp, not sure what they really do.. all this stuff im new to and it confuses me. Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
post Dec 15 2008, 01:46 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Member No.: 3.387



Try installing Asio4all drivers, and set them in Cubase Options, it should fix the latency smile.gif
http://www.asio4all.com/

Pink slot is a mic slot, try blue one (line in)



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Dec 15 2008, 01:55 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



QUOTE (bleak @ Dec 15 2008, 01:37 PM) *
Ive got quite a few compositions i've written on guitar pro that I would like to record on my pc, but I need help with some equipment...

My equipment so far - ESP Viper 200fm, Marshall MG 30DFX (which has an emulated line out), I also have a jack converter to convert an amp cable into a headphone size cable (not sure the technical jack names).

As for my PC its about 6 years old and I have a Creative sound blaster live 5.1 soundcard and I have Cubase SX3

Ive tried recording by plugging the lineout of my amp into the pink recording slot in my soundcard, with the jack. But this wasnt that great quality and there was about 0.5 second latency which was impossible to use!


I was wondering if some people could give me some pointers on what I need (equipment, software etc ) Im guessing I prob need a preamp, not sure what they really do.. all this stuff im new to and it confuses me. Thanks!


You gotta use direct monitoring.
Add line in to playback in windows, and you'll hear your guitar. smile.gif

In cubase though, the asio may work. Never tried with a non-professional card.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
superize
post Dec 15 2008, 01:56 PM
Post #4


Ultimate Tone Guru
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 4.335
Joined: 26-July 07
From: Glommersträsk. Sweden
Member No.: 2.410



or you can buy a Line 6 Toneport they are great for recording


--------------------
My Gear

Ibanez RG
Jackson js30 warrior
jackson rr24
Line 6 Spider III amp
Line 6 pod xt live
Washburn acoustic

Youtube Account
My bands Myspace


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleak
post Dec 15 2008, 02:15 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 27-November 08
Member No.: 6.312



QUOTE (superize @ Dec 15 2008, 12:56 PM) *
or you can buy a Line 6 Toneport they are great for recording


what does the Toneport do? smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
superize
post Dec 15 2008, 02:20 PM
Post #6


Ultimate Tone Guru
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 4.335
Joined: 26-July 07
From: Glommersträsk. Sweden
Member No.: 2.410



QUOTE (bleak @ Dec 15 2008, 02:15 PM) *
what does the Toneport do? smile.gif


You plug it in to the computer via usb connectionand then you connect the guitar in the toneport. Then you use a program called gearbox to get the guitar sound(this follows with the toneport) then you use a recording software to record the guitar sound.

So basiclly it works like a sound card(i think)

I use this for all my recordings and the sound quality is pretty good.....


--------------------
My Gear

Ibanez RG
Jackson js30 warrior
jackson rr24
Line 6 Spider III amp
Line 6 pod xt live
Washburn acoustic

Youtube Account
My bands Myspace


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nemanja Filipovi...
post Dec 15 2008, 02:27 PM
Post #7


Singing Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.391
Joined: 23-January 08
Member No.: 3.960



Yep I think you will need a bit of a better sound card.Because of the latency and conversion ofcurse.

http://www.gigasonic.com/line-6-tone-port-ux2.html

Line 6 Toneport UX2 Computer Recording Interface



--------------------
Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Participate im my new Crazy Blues Collaboration
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleak
post Dec 15 2008, 04:40 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 27-November 08
Member No.: 6.312



QUOTE (Nemanja Filipovic @ Dec 15 2008, 01:27 PM) *
Yep I think you will need a bit of a better sound card.Because of the latency and conversion ofcurse.

http://www.gigasonic.com/line-6-tone-port-ux2.html

Line 6 Toneport UX2 Computer Recording Interface


So does the Line 6 Toneport create a good sound no matter how good/bad your soundcard is?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
post Dec 15 2008, 07:41 PM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Member No.: 3.387



QUOTE (bleak @ Dec 15 2008, 04:40 PM) *
So does the Line 6 Toneport create a good sound no matter how good/bad your soundcard is?


toneport is audio interface, so you don't need a sound card any more.. you connect guitar and speakers to toneport, and with USB to computer, so you completely avoid the computer's sound card smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 15 2008, 11:05 PM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I had the same issues you have mate with Audigy and Cubase. You can check out my article about home recording here for some explanations about latency and soundcards. It think Toneport would be the best solution mate.

If you aren't sure about Toneport, here's my detailed review of the Toneport UX1 here on GMC Wiki. You will also find a Toneport GX review here. Hope this helps mate.

This post has been edited by Ivan Milenkovic: Dec 15 2008, 11:08 PM


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bleak
post Dec 15 2008, 11:37 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 67
Joined: 27-November 08
Member No.: 6.312



ah thank you for all your replies, much appreciated smile.gif

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kaznie_NL
post Dec 18 2008, 10:25 AM
Post #12


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.809
Joined: 8-December 07
From: Hedel, Netherlands
Member No.: 3.471



I also have latency, but I don't have problems with it. Just record without monitoring (meaning no "sound" from your computer) and after you recorded it, sync your part with the backing!


--------------------
My YouTube Channel Here

My Rec Takes Here


--- GEAR ---
Ibanez SA08LTD2 BAR
Vox AD50VT
Pod Farm
Line 6 Pod Studio GX
El Cheapo Strat
Dunlop Slide
Korg Toneworks AX5G
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pedja Simovic
post Dec 18 2008, 10:33 AM
Post #13


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 8.109
Joined: 13-September 08
From: Nis, Serbia
Member No.: 5.892



I also have low quality sound card but I record using POD XT Live which has USB output that you can hook up to your computer. Its a bit expensive but its well worth it - great sounds + acts like a sound card and has no latency !

Second thing is , if you don't want to spend a single $ , download asio for all drivers and activate them in your Cubase. That should eliminate latency and you should by able to record without any problems using Line in in the back of your sound card smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Dec 18 2008, 11:56 AM
Post #14


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



I recommend Toneport (GX,UX1 or UX2) - I use UX2 for all my lessons work! It is just very simple to use and sounds great!


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
unmarshal'
post Dec 18 2008, 07:55 PM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 15-November 08
Member No.: 6.248



I also recommend using the Pod or Toneport for recording guitar directly to a DAW. If you have a sweet amp and you'd like to record it, you need an audio interface to the computer. The one I use is over firewire and it works great. You can record 2 guitars at a time as well as have 2 microphones recording to different channels simultaneously.

I use the PreSonus Firebox 6x10

Get a dynamic microphone and do some reading on mic'ing a guitar amp and you're set.

-Marshall



--------------------
Guitars:
Gibson Les Paul 2008 Standard,
Fender 52 RI Telecaster,
Schecter Hellraiser C1 FR,
Fender CIJ Mustang,
Taylor 714CE

Amps:
Fender Deluxe Reverb (not vintage)
PodXT

Wishlist (next purchases):
Orange Tiny Terror
Rickenbacker 330 possibly 12 string version

I dig the jangle
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zynex
post Dec 19 2008, 10:46 AM
Post #16


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 125
Joined: 5-November 08
From: Holland
Member No.: 6.191



The singer of my band often records stuff with me at his place. We managed to get a pretty good sound quality. We are not pro's at this, and still have alot to learn, but we are wel on our way.

We use a Phonic Helix board for our input and Cubase to record the tracks. This Helix board has a build-in soundcard so the PC does not have to. Also he has a pretty expensive microphone (dont exectly know the brand, its not mine). This microphone is exelent for recorden vocals, guitar, and even base. The keyboard we record via a direct line-in input.

You could visit a local music store and ask for some information about recording gear. Tell them exactly what your goals are and how much you want to spend. Most music stores have good personel who know what they are talking about.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd January 2017 - 01:19 PM