Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Send Effects For Dummies?
Torben
post Dec 18 2008, 10:14 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 13-April 08
From: Norway
Member No.: 4.880



Hi,

All this recording stuff is rather new to me. I went to my music store and purchased an external soundcard / midi controller (or whatever) the Konnekt 24 from TC electronics. It's very good, but also a little pricey. And considering my level of playing a bit overkill, perhaps?

Konnekt 24 comes with two build in effects: Fabrik R and Fabrik C. I understand that it's reverb and compression.
In the shop they showed me the use of "send effects". I understood that you send the effect to a separate track (in your sequencer - in this case Cubase LE), while playing. That gives you the advantage of having the effect separated from your guitar track. Then you can actually play around with the effect settings after recording.

The problem is, that I don't get it. I haven't been able to do it by myself.

So if someone could explain to me how to record using send effects? With an explanation, that even I understand? How do I proceed? Step by step?

Thanks a lot in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
enforcer
post Dec 18 2008, 10:28 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 1.202
Joined: 23-September 08
From: Istanbul
Member No.: 5.945



Hey there buddy,

I am not accostumed to your soundcard but I got something to say about send effects.
The good side of the send effects are you dont need to prepare a VST of a physical effect rack for each instrument thus saving money and CPU. I believe your built in send effects are working like a send effect in real life. You see in real life, when you are in front of a mixing table, you have usually one Reverb rack, using one AUX send from mixer as input, and returning to a seperate mixer channel to join in the main mix. I believe your sound card work just like this. Just hit F4 at cubaseLE there from Send/Effects tab, see if you can create a new send/return channel by choosing your FABRIK R channel, then enter to channel settings of the track you wish to apply the reverb, and at the right hand side you'll see "send effects" TO, there try to send your channel to your FABRIK R effect channel.

Hope this helps biggrin.gif


--------------------


incoming spoiler read it at your own risk!


Spoiler:


Vigier G.V Wood HH
American Stratocaster Maple Standart with X2N bridge pickups
Samwick Artist custom modified Baswood Lespaul with S.Duncan JB and N56 pickups
Self made Fretless Strat type made of Rosewood/Maple with self wound Neck and Ibanez V8 Bridge Pickups
Floor Pod 2.0 Amp Simulation System
Pod Xt Pro Rack Amp Simulation System
Digitech TSR 12 Rack Effect and Studio Reverb
Behringer Composer Rack Compressor Expander
Morley Bad Horsie Wah Pedal
Behringer FB1010 Floor Board



it, surely, spoiled me!!!


and may the force be with you :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 18 2008, 12:35 PM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Fabrik basically acts as a plugin that you can turn on when sending the effects:

This is the procedure to make it work, but it may differ a bit, depending what Cubase version you have. If you have any doubts, just ask and I will try to explain better mate.

1. You need to create an FX track in Cubase, and assign the Fabrik FX to that track, like on the first picture.

2. Then you need to send the FX track to audio track that has a dry guitar signal and adjust with the slider how much of the send track you wanna blend in, like on the picture 2.

This post has been edited by Ivan Milenkovic: Dec 18 2008, 12:38 PM
Attached image(s)
Attached Image Attached Image
 


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Torben
post Dec 19 2008, 10:49 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 13-April 08
From: Norway
Member No.: 4.880



Thanks a lot to both of you! I have a better understanding of it now, I think.

Now I'm looking forward to try this, but unfortunately I had an accident yesterday. I wanted to upgrade the software of the soundcard so I downloaded the latest version and installed it. And: BING! The controller software simply dissapeared!
I tried to reinstall it, but if I leave it as the older version it doesn't work and if I upgrade it, it dissappears again.
It's really strange. I must say that I have had quite a few problems in the past with this software, but after solving those (very different) issues, it generally have worked. But now I'm lost.....

I've contacted TC Electronic's support, but haven't got an answer yet.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

This post has been edited by Torben: Dec 19 2008, 10:50 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 19 2008, 08:33 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



That's really strange mate, I have no idea how to help with that specific problem. I hope you will fix this problem soon.

Marry Christmas to you as well smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd March 2017 - 07:31 PM