Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Looper Pedals, Suggestions, experiences, advice
fatb0t
post Dec 18 2008, 03:18 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.202
Joined: 25-November 07
Member No.: 3.373



Good mornin' GMC!

Question for all you gear heads out there... Though I play with 2 different bands during the week, I often find myself practicing at home and wishing I could record a modal chord progression to practice some improvisation. Now obviously, I could hook up my interface, load up my DAW, and go to town recording - but quite frankly that's a pain in the ass.
Sometimes I want to just want to record a simple progression that I can loop over and over - and then play over it...

I was thinking about getting this Digiteh JamMan...
http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product...edal?sku=156600

Anyone ever use it? Anyone suggest anything better?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
unmarshal'
post Dec 18 2008, 07:49 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 15-November 08
Member No.: 6.248



I just picked up the Boss RC-20XL Loop Station and I highly recommend it.

I did some research on this versus the Digitech and most people said go with the Boss.

It's an amazing tool in any arsenal. I only do one man music projects so for me this is the perfect companion.

You can record 11 loops up to 16 minutes of audio. The sound quality is great.

It's so much fun to lay down some 12 bar blues rhythm and solo up and down the neck.

Get it!


Boss RC-20XL


--------------------
Guitars:
Gibson Les Paul 2008 Standard,
Fender 52 RI Telecaster,
Schecter Hellraiser C1 FR,
Fender CIJ Mustang,
Taylor 714CE

Amps:
Fender Deluxe Reverb (not vintage)
PodXT

Wishlist (next purchases):
Orange Tiny Terror
Rickenbacker 330 possibly 12 string version

I dig the jangle
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Dec 18 2008, 09:56 PM
Post #3


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Hmm I would also recommend Boss RC-20XL or smaller ones if money is problem....They all work great and high quality..You won't be disappointed....


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 18 2008, 11:29 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



My vote for Boss RC loopstation, wetter it's RC2, RC20 or RC20XL. I recommend RC20 (twinpedal) since it has two pedals and it is easier to use then RC2.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pedja Simovic
post Dec 18 2008, 11:36 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 8.109
Joined: 13-September 08
From: Nis, Serbia
Member No.: 5.892



I have been using Boss RC-20XL Loop Station from 2006 and its a great product.

You simply have to get it man wink.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PanicProne
post Dec 19 2008, 12:02 AM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 207
Joined: 30-January 08
Member No.: 4.060



I'm with Ivan and the rest of the lads on this. I owned a RC-2 a few months ago but ended up selling it. Great pedal and all but it's really to much tweaking and such so even though it's small I'd recommend the twinpedal.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
shammy
post Dec 31 2008, 12:48 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 115
Joined: 23-October 07
From: Ma
Member No.: 3.117



Can anyone with the Boss RC -20xl help me figure out how to set the tempo and time signature. I have read the manual 20 times,i'm not being lazy. I really understand the pedal well and all the knob combo's etcc... but for some reason my loops always sound bad, I am using the new quantize function where it fixes your loop and even with that I am not happy with my start and end points. It says to push tap tempo button to set tempo, when I push this it just gives me weird beats. I would appreciate it so much if someobody has time, I just recieved this for christmas from my wife and she thinks I hate it cause I'm swearing at it all the time. :-0

Thanks in advance if someone can help, I have rc -20xl double pedal one. Peace

-Tom

This post has been edited by shammy: Dec 31 2008, 12:50 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pedja Simovic
post Dec 31 2008, 10:45 AM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 8.109
Joined: 13-September 08
From: Nis, Serbia
Member No.: 5.892



QUOTE (shammy @ Dec 31 2008, 12:48 AM) *
Can anyone with the Boss RC -20xl help me figure out how to set the tempo and time signature. I have read the manual 20 times,i'm not being lazy. I really understand the pedal well and all the knob combo's etcc... but for some reason my loops always sound bad, I am using the new quantize function where it fixes your loop and even with that I am not happy with my start and end points. It says to push tap tempo button to set tempo, when I push this it just gives me weird beats. I would appreciate it so much if someobody has time, I just recieved this for christmas from my wife and she thinks I hate it cause I'm swearing at it all the time. :-0

Thanks in advance if someone can help, I have rc -20xl double pedal one. Peace

-Tom


Hi Tom,
I will try to help you with this one smile.gif

It seems you are having trouble getting exact timing when setting tempo ?

You know there is two ways you could set tempo on RC20xl ?
One way is you can tap the pedal TWO TIMES and machine will pick up the tempo immediately from that. Another one is you can tap the tempo using TAP TEMPO button and again TWO TIMES is enough to pick up.

Now when you want to record a loop , it always gives you 4 CLICKS IN before the recording actually starts.
The trick is when you have done recording your loop TAP YOUR FOOT EXACTLY ON BEAT ONE!!!
So you record 2 bars loop , one chord vamp whatever, and on the beat 1 of Bar 3 you have to step exactly on the button.
If you don't do it , your loop will be misplaced and out, if you do it it should be perfectly looped.

I remember my first experience with RC20xl. My friend and student had it and we were using it at his place for private lessons I was giving him. When I tried looping it myself I was just getting frustrated how difficult it seemed at time , so basically I was playing and he was pressing the button tongue.gif laugh.gif
Once I got the hang of it , which was probably after 20 attempts to record something, my body got coordinated with device and everything sounded perfect.

My only advice is to practice that tapping on Beat 1 when you finish and everything should fall into right place !

Hope that helps Tom smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
shammy
post Jan 1 2009, 01:52 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 115
Joined: 23-October 07
From: Ma
Member No.: 3.117



Hi Pedja,

Thank you so very much, that was a truly great explanation on that. I have practiced what you said and I am really getting it down. I feel as though working musicians like yourself should write the manuals not the engineers that make the equipment. I am loving this pedal now, I was ready to return it. Peace and Happy new year!!!

-Tom
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pedja Simovic
post Jan 4 2009, 03:20 PM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 8.109
Joined: 13-September 08
From: Nis, Serbia
Member No.: 5.892



QUOTE (shammy @ Jan 1 2009, 01:52 AM) *
Hi Pedja,

Thank you so very much, that was a truly great explanation on that. I have practiced what you said and I am really getting it down. I feel as though working musicians like yourself should write the manuals not the engineers that make the equipment. I am loving this pedal now, I was ready to return it. Peace and Happy new year!!!

-Tom



Hi Tom !
I am really glad my advice helped you. I tend to get lost with manuals as most of them are too technical and not directed towards what we all need which is great layout of everything really.

I wish you Happy New Year and all the best in this year for you and your family !

Pedja


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fkalich
post May 28 2009, 08:02 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.713
Joined: 12-February 07
From: People's Republic of Lawrence Kansas
Member No.: 1.189



Old thread, but as I purchased a RC-2, I thought I would express why I disagree with those who recommend the RC-20 over the RC-2.

I had used a DD-7 as a looper, and really it would have been fine for home use, had it longer times, and the ability to save things. But what it does have is stereo, and you can hook up an expression pedal. Neither the RC-2 nor the RC-20 have these very desirable features.

For the RC-20 to have any meaningful advantage, you really need to buy the external foot switch, and heck, you have spent about $300 at that point. I got my RC-2 for $150.

For home use, and if you are not rich, get the RC-2, forget the RC-20. It lacks a drum also, which is a nice feature, convenient for home use. If you need something better such as for stage, or if you have the money, get the RC-50. For so-so I will pay $150 rather than twice that for so-so+. If I were to spend more, I would just pony up what it costs for the RC-50 and have a real serious unit.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post May 29 2009, 10:19 AM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



I agree with Fkalich here, for some simple tasks RC-2 is really more than great
but for home use and jamming alone and I've found using DAW the most easiest.
RC-2 and those other pedal loopers are great for live stuff
when you need to put a sequence in loop along with real rhythm section,
in those situations tempo isn't always 100% straight (unless someone is using metronome).


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd January 2017 - 12:53 AM