2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Someone Please Help Me, I can't get my video off this DVD video camera
UncleSkillet
post Dec 23 2008, 03:59 AM
Post #1


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.525
Joined: 21-January 08
From: Cincinnati, Ohio
Member No.: 3.915



I borrowed my brothers Sony video camera (DCR-DVD105) and used it to make my video for the MTP Intermediate competition. After all this hard work now I can't import it correct because it is in .VOB format. I have Pinnacle 10.7 install which supports this format but when I import the file it only shows me the first take. None of the others. I need the fifth take, which is at the end.

When I put the DVD in the camera I can view it so I know it is there. How can I get my video?

The camera doesn't have standard connection like DV, firewire or USB. It comes with a special little cable that plugs into a capture card but I don't have one of those

There has to be a way off getting this off the mini DVD it is recorded on.

I googled it and tried 2 other pieces of software ( Womble DVD and DVD zip) and those did the same thing as Pinnacle. Shows me the first take and nothing after that.

Can someone please help me get my video?


--------------------
"Think of a guitar solo as a paragraph. You need a clear beginning, a middle, and an end. Look at musical phrases like sentences, and make sure you break them up using punctuation—or space. You pause naturally when conversing, right? If you don't, you'll bore the listener. The same thing will happen with your audience if your solo is one dimensional. You'll wear them out and lose their attention." —Tom Principato
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skennington
post Dec 23 2008, 04:30 AM
Post #2


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



Been a while since I used one of those but if I remember correctly, you have to finalize/initialize the DVD before you can transfer it. Hopefully someone will jump in that can help you man. Have you tried tutorials on youtube?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
UncleSkillet
post Dec 23 2008, 04:35 AM
Post #3


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.525
Joined: 21-January 08
From: Cincinnati, Ohio
Member No.: 3.915



Thanks bro. I did finalize it thinking that would help but it didn't.

I've been googling but all I can find is people that hate this camera. Now I no why.

Seems like the only way may be a capture card and I don't have any money left for that.


--------------------
"Think of a guitar solo as a paragraph. You need a clear beginning, a middle, and an end. Look at musical phrases like sentences, and make sure you break them up using punctuation—or space. You pause naturally when conversing, right? If you don't, you'll bore the listener. The same thing will happen with your audience if your solo is one dimensional. You'll wear them out and lose their attention." —Tom Principato
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lcsdds
post Dec 23 2008, 04:39 AM
Post #4


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.054
Joined: 2-September 08
Member No.: 5.825



QUOTE (UncleSkillet @ Dec 23 2008, 04:35 AM) *
Thanks bro. I did finalize it thinking that would help but it didn't.

I've been googling but all I can find is people that hate this camera. Now I no why.

Seems like the only way may be a capture card and I don't have any money left for that.



How much is a capture card Skillet? What would the capture card do?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
UncleSkillet
post Dec 23 2008, 04:48 AM
Post #5


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.525
Joined: 21-January 08
From: Cincinnati, Ohio
Member No.: 3.915



A capture card would allow me to play the video on the camera while capturing it thru the Pinnacle software to the PC.

A card is probably $50 - $100 and that is just a guess. Problem is also I have no money and the deadline for this is the 24th.

This post has been edited by UncleSkillet: Dec 23 2008, 04:52 AM


--------------------
"Think of a guitar solo as a paragraph. You need a clear beginning, a middle, and an end. Look at musical phrases like sentences, and make sure you break them up using punctuation—or space. You pause naturally when conversing, right? If you don't, you'll bore the listener. The same thing will happen with your audience if your solo is one dimensional. You'll wear them out and lose their attention." —Tom Principato
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ramiro Delforte
post Dec 23 2008, 04:54 AM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 2.279
Joined: 4-August 08
From: Argentina, Buenos Aires
Member No.: 5.625



Did you try with Nuendo or Adobe Premiere?


--------------------
Check out my Instructor Profile and Board

LIVE VIDEO CHATS EVERY MONDAY AROUND 22PM (GMC HOUR)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
UncleSkillet
post Dec 23 2008, 05:06 AM
Post #7


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.525
Joined: 21-January 08
From: Cincinnati, Ohio
Member No.: 3.915



QUOTE (Ramiro Delforte @ Dec 22 2008, 10:54 PM) *
Did you try with Nuendo or Adobe Premiere?


No I haven't. How would that help?

A google search shows Adobe Premiere doesn't support .vob files. What is Nuendo?


--------------------
"Think of a guitar solo as a paragraph. You need a clear beginning, a middle, and an end. Look at musical phrases like sentences, and make sure you break them up using punctuation—or space. You pause naturally when conversing, right? If you don't, you'll bore the listener. The same thing will happen with your audience if your solo is one dimensional. You'll wear them out and lose their attention." —Tom Principato
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kahall
post Dec 23 2008, 05:13 AM
Post #8


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 989
Joined: 21-March 07
From: Springfield Missouri USA
Member No.: 1.393



When you put the mini dvd in your drive are you able to browse any directories on it using explorer? I'm assuming you are on a windows pc.


--------------------
Had a guitar hanging, just about waist high, and we are going to play these things until the day we die.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lcsdds
post Dec 23 2008, 05:18 AM
Post #9


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.054
Joined: 2-September 08
Member No.: 5.825



Skillet did you try this?

http://www.yasasoft.com/magicdvdripper/md_download.htm


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
UncleSkillet
post Dec 23 2008, 05:21 AM
Post #10


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.525
Joined: 21-January 08
From: Cincinnati, Ohio
Member No.: 3.915



Yes. Windows XP Pro. Can see all the files. They just won't import right.

If I tell the DVD to play in a media player(Windows Media) or a dvd player (WinDVD) it only plays the first track of the .vob file. It also imports the same way thru video editing software.

The only way I can see all the track is if I watch it with the camcorder.


Thanks everyine for trying to help out smile.gif


--------------------
"Think of a guitar solo as a paragraph. You need a clear beginning, a middle, and an end. Look at musical phrases like sentences, and make sure you break them up using punctuation—or space. You pause naturally when conversing, right? If you don't, you'll bore the listener. The same thing will happen with your audience if your solo is one dimensional. You'll wear them out and lose their attention." —Tom Principato
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lcsdds
post Dec 23 2008, 05:27 AM
Post #11


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.054
Joined: 2-September 08
Member No.: 5.825



Did you try this?

Originally Posted by easyrotor
With Problem #2, I believe it impossible to use the JVC GR-HD1U and FireWire to pass on HD to iMovie. Need a HD convert and capture card, right?
No, you don't need a capture card. Here's what to do when capturing HDV from that camera into iMovie:

1. Open the flip-out LCD on your camera.
2. Look at the buttons and switches.
3. At the top left corner, there's a "PLAY MODE" switch between "Video" and "Memory." Make sure that's set to "Video."
4. At the bottom left corner, there's an "i.LINK OUT" switch between "DV" and "MPEG2." Make sure that's set to "MPEG2."
5. Connect all your wires appropriately. The camera should be plugged into wall power. Make sure the FireWire cable is connected between the camera and your Mac.
6. Turn the camera on.
7. Hit "Play" on the camera. Be certain that HDV material is playing.
8. At this point, start up iMovie. This is very important. Have HDV material playing before you start up iMovie.
9. Make a new project, set for 720p30 HDV.
10. Now you can stop the camera playing if it hasn't stopped itself, and at this point you should have deck control from iMovie so you can hit rewind there and start your capture.




Don't know if you are using a Mac but it might apply. I'm grasping at straws I know laugh.gif laugh.gif




Monte

This post has been edited by lcsdds: Dec 23 2008, 05:29 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
UncleSkillet
post Dec 23 2008, 05:32 AM
Post #12


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.525
Joined: 21-January 08
From: Cincinnati, Ohio
Member No.: 3.915



QUOTE (lcsdds @ Dec 22 2008, 11:18 PM) *



Thying now. Ineed to reboot. BRB smile.gif

Thanks mate but I don't have a capture card. I guess maybe thats the problem. I just can't believe there isn't any way to get the video right of the DVD.



QUOTE (lcsdds @ Dec 22 2008, 11:27 PM) *
Did you try this?

Originally Posted by easyrotor
With Problem #2, I believe it impossible to use the JVC GR-HD1U and FireWire to pass on HD to iMovie. Need a HD convert and capture card, right?
No, you don't need a capture card. Here's what to do when capturing HDV from that camera into iMovie:

1. Open the flip-out LCD on your camera.
2. Look at the buttons and switches.
3. At the top left corner, there's a "PLAY MODE" switch between "Video" and "Memory." Make sure that's set to "Video."
4. At the bottom left corner, there's an "i.LINK OUT" switch between "DV" and "MPEG2." Make sure that's set to "MPEG2."
5. Connect all your wires appropriately. The camera should be plugged into wall power. Make sure the FireWire cable is connected between the camera and your Mac.
6. Turn the camera on.
7. Hit "Play" on the camera. Be certain that HDV material is playing.
8. At this point, start up iMovie. This is very important. Have HDV material playing before you start up iMovie.
9. Make a new project, set for 720p30 HDV.
10. Now you can stop the camera playing if it hasn't stopped itself, and at this point you should have deck control from iMovie so you can hit rewind there and start your capture.




Don't know if you are using a Mac but it might apply. I'm grasping at straws I know laugh.gif laugh.gif




Monte





--------------------
"Think of a guitar solo as a paragraph. You need a clear beginning, a middle, and an end. Look at musical phrases like sentences, and make sure you break them up using punctuation—or space. You pause naturally when conversing, right? If you don't, you'll bore the listener. The same thing will happen with your audience if your solo is one dimensional. You'll wear them out and lose their attention." —Tom Principato
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lcsdds
post Dec 23 2008, 05:34 AM
Post #13


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.054
Joined: 2-September 08
Member No.: 5.825



QUOTE (UncleSkillet @ Dec 23 2008, 05:32 AM) *
Thying now. Ineed to reboot. BRB smile.gif

Thanks mate but I don't have a capture card. I guess maybe thats the problem. I just can't believe there isn't any way to get the video right of the DVD.


It's saying you don't need a capture card.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
UncleSkillet
post Dec 23 2008, 06:05 AM
Post #14


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.525
Joined: 21-January 08
From: Cincinnati, Ohio
Member No.: 3.915



This camera has no Firewire, USB or any other standard connections so this won't work but thanks smile.gif

QUOTE
5. Connect all your wires appropriately. The camera should be plugged into wall power. Make sure the FireWire cable is connected between the camera and your Mac.


I tried the software you mentioned and the trial version will only convert 1/3rd of the total file size from the beginning which means I can't get to the end of the disc and that is where my recording is. What a pain in the #$%$#

Help me Santa, I have been a good boy this year........ biggrin.gif


--------------------
"Think of a guitar solo as a paragraph. You need a clear beginning, a middle, and an end. Look at musical phrases like sentences, and make sure you break them up using punctuation—or space. You pause naturally when conversing, right? If you don't, you'll bore the listener. The same thing will happen with your audience if your solo is one dimensional. You'll wear them out and lose their attention." —Tom Principato
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kahall
post Dec 23 2008, 06:12 AM
Post #15


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 989
Joined: 21-March 07
From: Springfield Missouri USA
Member No.: 1.393



QUOTE (UncleSkillet @ Dec 22 2008, 10:21 PM) *
Yes. Windows XP Pro. Can see all the files. They just won't import right.

If I tell the DVD to play in a media player(Windows Media) or a dvd player (WinDVD) it only plays the first track of the .vob file. It also imports the same way thru video editing software.

The only way I can see all the track is if I watch it with the camcorder.


Thanks everyine for trying to help out smile.gif


Those VOB files are confusing. Is there more than one .VOB file on the dvd?


--------------------
Had a guitar hanging, just about waist high, and we are going to play these things until the day we die.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
UncleSkillet
post Dec 23 2008, 06:16 AM
Post #16


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.525
Joined: 21-January 08
From: Cincinnati, Ohio
Member No.: 3.915



QUOTE (kahall @ Dec 23 2008, 12:12 AM) *
Those VOB files are confusing. Is there more than one .VOB file on the dvd?


No. I think the .IFO files are the key.

Also I could view it with the software mentioned above (MagiceDVD). I just can't convert it because it is a trial and the small part it let me the audio was really bad.

I'm screwed I think sad.gif

This post has been edited by UncleSkillet: Dec 23 2008, 06:17 AM


--------------------
"Think of a guitar solo as a paragraph. You need a clear beginning, a middle, and an end. Look at musical phrases like sentences, and make sure you break them up using punctuation—or space. You pause naturally when conversing, right? If you don't, you'll bore the listener. The same thing will happen with your audience if your solo is one dimensional. You'll wear them out and lose their attention." —Tom Principato
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lcsdds
post Dec 23 2008, 06:23 AM
Post #17


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.054
Joined: 2-September 08
Member No.: 5.825



QUOTE (UncleSkillet @ Dec 23 2008, 06:16 AM) *
No. I think the .IFO files are the key.

Also I could view it with the software mentioned above (MagiceDVD). I just can't convert it because it is a trial and the small part it let me the audio was really bad.

I'm screwed I think sad.gif

Do you not have another camera to make a new video? Be a shame not to have you put in an entry sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kahall
post Dec 23 2008, 06:31 AM
Post #18


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 989
Joined: 21-March 07
From: Springfield Missouri USA
Member No.: 1.393



QUOTE (UncleSkillet @ Dec 22 2008, 11:16 PM) *
No. I think the .IFO files are the key.

Also I could view it with the software mentioned above (MagiceDVD). I just can't convert it because it is a trial and the small part it let me the audio was really bad.

I'm screwed I think sad.gif


My son had this happen with some home work movie thing he did for school once. (what a mess that was, camera broke) He took it somewhere locally and they converted it to .mpeg and put in on a new DVD and he was all set. It only cost him a few bucks if I remember right. Maybe somewhere like that near you.


--------------------
Had a guitar hanging, just about waist high, and we are going to play these things until the day we die.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
UncleSkillet
post Dec 23 2008, 06:32 AM
Post #19


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.525
Joined: 21-January 08
From: Cincinnati, Ohio
Member No.: 3.915



I got it guys!!!!!!!!!!! Wooo Hoooo smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

The audio isn't the best but it's me and you can tell I'm having fun jammimg.

Any types on how to convert it to another format with bettter audio?


--------------------
"Think of a guitar solo as a paragraph. You need a clear beginning, a middle, and an end. Look at musical phrases like sentences, and make sure you break them up using punctuation—or space. You pause naturally when conversing, right? If you don't, you'll bore the listener. The same thing will happen with your audience if your solo is one dimensional. You'll wear them out and lose their attention." —Tom Principato
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pedja Simovic
post Dec 23 2008, 06:40 AM
Post #20


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 8.109
Joined: 13-September 08
From: Nis, Serbia
Member No.: 5.892



QUOTE (UncleSkillet @ Dec 23 2008, 06:32 AM) *
I got it guys!!!!!!!!!!! Wooo Hoooo smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

The audio isn't the best but it's me and you can tell I'm having fun jammimg.

Any types on how to convert it to another format with bettter audio?



I just got your PM so glad you worked it out!

As far as audio editing goes, you could import your file into SOUND FORGE which is best in my opinion. If you have other music recording software like Nuendo, Cubase etc , that would also help!

Let me know if you got any questions man smile.gif

By the way , my dad was suggesting me to get with new computer Matrox capture cards that are used by TV stations world wide. After reading about your problem with Pineacle I am not even going to consider it now smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th January 2017 - 02:10 AM