2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording With Reaper & Pod Studio
Tolek
post Dec 24 2008, 10:15 PM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



Hey guys! smile.gif
I just got my lovely POD Studio and I am fascinated by the possibilities of it. I want to record myself now, so I downloaded reaper. I checked out some tutorials on GMC, but I´m to new to recording to understand something. ohmy.gif Can somebody explain me how to make it possible to record via my audio interface?

Another problem is: I don´t hear myself while playing through the speakers. I also have to wear headphones. How can I change that?

Thanks,
Tolek
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
opeth.db
post Dec 24 2008, 10:19 PM
Post #2


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.156
Joined: 11-September 08
From: Cleveland, Ohio
Member No.: 5.886



QUOTE (Tolek @ Dec 24 2008, 04:15 PM) *
Hey guys! smile.gif
I just got my lovely POD Studio and I am fascinated by the possibilities of it. I want to record myself now, so I downloaded reaper. I checked out some tutorials on GMC, but I´m to new to recording to understand something. ohmy.gif Can somebody explain me how to make it possible to record via my audio interface?

Another problem is: I don´t hear myself while playing through the speakers. I also have to wear headphones. How can I change that?

Thanks,
Tolek


Sounds like your inputs are routed weird. Sorry I dont have reaper or I can point you in the direction. With sonar I have to tell Sonar where my inputs are coming from.


--------------------
My Gear
Ibanez RG570 Silver
Jackson Ofset V Randy Rhodes Signature
Mitchell Acoustic
Custom Ibanez S series (Currently working on)
X2 XDS95 Digital Wireless system
Line 6 MKII
8 Channel USB Roland Mixer

My Site
www.shredwork.com

Learn how to count. It's what separates the hack and the pros IMHO. -LCSDDS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Dec 25 2008, 12:15 AM
Post #3


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



Ha, it works. biggrin.gif And it sounds awesome! laugh.gif Not my playing but the sound. wink.gif


The problem with the headphones is still there... ohmy.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
superize
post Dec 25 2008, 12:19 AM
Post #4


Ultimate Tone Guru
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 4.343
Joined: 26-July 07
From: Glommersträsk. Sweden
Member No.: 2.410



What i do with my Toneport to hear myself throught the speakers i simply connect the speakers in the headphone input...... I dont know any other options


--------------------
My Gear

Ibanez RG
Jackson js30 warrior
jackson rr24
Line 6 Spider III amp
Line 6 pod xt live
Washburn acoustic

Youtube Account
My bands Myspace


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Dec 25 2008, 12:31 AM
Post #5


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



Good idea, but my speakers have not such an cable ending/input or whatever. You know?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
superize
post Dec 25 2008, 01:06 AM
Post #6


Ultimate Tone Guru
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 4.343
Joined: 26-July 07
From: Glommersträsk. Sweden
Member No.: 2.410



QUOTE (Tolek @ Dec 25 2008, 12:31 AM) *
Good idea, but my speakers have not such an cable ending/input or whatever. You know?


Then i dont know.... my speakers have that kind of cable


--------------------
My Gear

Ibanez RG
Jackson js30 warrior
jackson rr24
Line 6 Spider III amp
Line 6 pod xt live
Washburn acoustic

Youtube Account
My bands Myspace


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skennington
post Dec 25 2008, 02:32 AM
Post #7


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



The Toneport has two analog outputs in the back. These are 1/4" TRS jacks. If your speaker cable is 1/4", then just plug in. If not, their probably 1/8" in which you will need an adapter. Either way will sound fine.

However, if you are trying to use computer speakers, the type that only have one connector, you will only get feed from one channel of the Toneport. In that case, plu them into the headphone jack like Superize mentioned.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Dec 25 2008, 10:53 AM
Post #8


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



QUOTE (skennington @ Dec 25 2008, 02:32 AM) *
The Toneport has two analog outputs in the back. These are 1/4" TRS jacks. If your speaker cable is 1/4", then just plug in. If not, their probably 1/8" in which you will need an adapter. Either way will sound fine.

However, if you are trying to use computer speakers, the type that only have one connector, you will only get feed from one channel of the Toneport. In that case, plu them into the headphone jack like Superize mentioned.


I´ll have to get an adapter. Thanks. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Dec 25 2008, 12:51 PM
Post #9


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



I just installed Ableton Live 7.0. When I try to open it, nothing happens. When opening the task manager, I see that there´s the Live process running...
What happens? Did anybody experience that, too??? huh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 25 2008, 07:12 PM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Try to reinstall the Abletone and see how it goes man. Also regarding sound, since POD Studio will be your sound card from now on, you can connect your PC speakers to it. Just get an adapter.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Dec 25 2008, 07:38 PM
Post #11


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



I reinstalled it already, but nothing but the same...

I´ll try to get an adapter. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 25 2008, 08:03 PM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I don't know what could be the problem with Abletone mate. But, you can use Reaper as it is rather cool software as well. There are some tutorials here on GMC as well. smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Dec 25 2008, 10:51 PM
Post #13


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Dec 25 2008, 08:03 PM) *
I don't know what could be the problem with Abletone mate. But, you can use Reaper as it is rather cool software as well. There are some tutorials here on GMC as well. smile.gif

I tried Reaper and I like it. It´s a pity that I got such a program with the POD Studio and I can´t use it! laugh.gif But Reaper does the job as well.
Thanks. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 26 2008, 12:25 PM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Yeah, it is a bit pity, but I don't thing Abletone Live is considered a great program for recording. It is rarely in use by professionals.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Dec 26 2008, 12:33 PM
Post #15


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Dec 26 2008, 12:25 PM) *
Yeah, it is a bit pity, but I don't thing Abletone Live is considered a great program for recording. It is rarely in use by professionals.

Good to know. smile.gif Reaper is really easy to use and I still don´t know much about it. laugh.gif Just wait a few weeks. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 28 2008, 05:13 PM
Post #16


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Have you checked out tutorials about Reaper here on GMC mate?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Dec 28 2008, 05:18 PM
Post #17


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



Not yet, Ivan. This evening I´m gonna check them out when all my gear is at its place in my room. (I´m at my father´s right now.) Why are you asking? biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pedja Simovic
post Dec 28 2008, 06:10 PM
Post #18


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 8.109
Joined: 13-September 08
From: Nis, Serbia
Member No.: 5.892



Tolek I want to hear that Pod Studio now man smile.gif
Did you fix your recording trouble?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
slak
post Dec 28 2008, 06:37 PM
Post #19


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 6-July 07
From: Oregon USA
Member No.: 2.253



Tolek, are you still trying to get sound out of your computer speakers? If so try setting Reaper up like this.

options>preferences>device>input device>UX1 output device>"your on-board soundcard"

That should enable you to hear your playback through your main speakers. You will still hear your guitar in your headphones when you record, but playback will be normal.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Dec 28 2008, 07:41 PM
Post #20


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



QUOTE (Pedja Simovic @ Dec 28 2008, 06:10 PM) *
Tolek I want to hear that Pod Studio now man smile.gif
Did you fix your recording trouble?

Yeah, it´s fixed. smile.gif I´ll post some samples soon.

QUOTE (slak @ Dec 28 2008, 06:37 PM) *
Tolek, are you still trying to get sound out of your computer speakers? If so try setting Reaper up like this.

options>preferences>device>input device>UX1 output device>"your on-board soundcard"

That should enable you to hear your playback through your main speakers. You will still hear your guitar in your headphones when you record, but playback will be normal.

Thanks mate, but I want the backing and my soloing through the speakers. =/ I´ll have to wait for the adapter...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th September 2017 - 03:45 PM