2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> I Have A Problem
chetta2323
post Dec 28 2008, 10:01 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 1-March 08
From: St.Petersburg, Florida
Member No.: 4.422



my floyd rose popped out of my guitar. what do i do???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Dec 28 2008, 10:02 PM
Post #2


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



I don´t understand very much. tongue.gif Could you explain a bit?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chetta2323
post Dec 28 2008, 10:07 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 1-March 08
From: St.Petersburg, Florida
Member No.: 4.422



i was changin strings and i was lifting the whammy bar to take the strings out and then 1 half started to come out then it just all came out
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZakkWylde
post Dec 28 2008, 10:11 PM
Post #4


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 3.185
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 2.164



Did you use a diffrent string gauge than before?


--------------------


Gear:
- Jackson USA Select KV2 King V with EMG 81/85
- Gibson Les Paul Custom Arctic White with EMG 81/85
- Ibanez Rg 8527 J Custom 7-String with DiMarzio Evolution and Air Norton

- Peavey 6505+ head with Marshall 1960AV 4x12 cab
- Peavey Vypyr 30 Practice Amp
- Dunlop Crybaby From Hell, Maxon OD808, Boss TU-2, MXR CarbonCopy, ISP Decimator, MXR Custom Audio Electronics Booster

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chetta2323
post Dec 28 2008, 10:13 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 1-March 08
From: St.Petersburg, Florida
Member No.: 4.422



QUOTE (ZakkWylde @ Dec 28 2008, 05:11 PM) *
Did you use a diffrent string gauge than before?

no i was takin strings off
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Dec 28 2008, 10:27 PM
Post #6


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



Ah, that´s normal. You have to put something under your bridge before changing strings, otherwise it falls off. Now you have to readjust the bridge. I give you a site which explains this very briefly: http://www.jemsite.com/tech-setup-a-questions.html
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lcsdds
post Dec 28 2008, 10:31 PM
Post #7


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.054
Joined: 2-September 08
Member No.: 5.825



QUOTE (chetta2323 @ Dec 28 2008, 10:07 PM) *
i was changin strings and i was lifting the whammy bar to take the strings out and then 1 half started to come out then it just all came out

Did you take all the strings off? On a floating trem the best way to change the strings is one at a time. Take off the high E, put a new one on, tune it up and repeat with the rest of the strings. This saves alot of headaches with a floating trem. String changes are one of the biggest reasons people don't like floating trems. Hope this helps and good luck biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Monte
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chetta2323
post Dec 28 2008, 10:38 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 1-March 08
From: St.Petersburg, Florida
Member No.: 4.422



thanks a lot i fixed it. i was so scared because that was a 700 dollar guitar and i thought it was done for. thanks a lot
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Dec 28 2008, 10:46 PM
Post #9


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



I´m glad your guitar is fixed. biggrin.gif I had the same problems at the beginning. smile.gif Now, everything is pretty normal. wink.gif

Cheers

This post has been edited by Tolek: Dec 28 2008, 10:46 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
berko
post Dec 28 2008, 10:48 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.771
Joined: 2-April 08
From: Budapest, Hungary
Member No.: 4.782



Yup, floyd rose is a different matter when changing strings but now you got used to it and have your primary experience about it so well done man smile.gif


--------------------
High speed, low drag


Check out my YouTube channel
HERE!


Here you can find my
MYSPACE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chetta2323
post Dec 28 2008, 11:46 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 1-March 08
From: St.Petersburg, Florida
Member No.: 4.422



now i got another problem. (sigh) i put the strings on and they all sound like muted out and they dont ring clearly. i put them on the right way? help
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Dec 28 2008, 11:51 PM
Post #12


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



I guess they are laying on the fretboard. You have to tune the strings correctly, so that the bridge raises. Or just raise the bridge height.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chetta2323
post Dec 28 2008, 11:58 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 1-March 08
From: St.Petersburg, Florida
Member No.: 4.422



how do i raise the bridge up??? thanks for the help
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Dec 28 2008, 11:59 PM
Post #14


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



I posted that link already, this time I chose the correct topic for you. laugh.gif http://www.jemsite.com/tech-setup-a-questi...dge-height.html
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chetta2323
post Dec 29 2008, 12:21 AM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 1-March 08
From: St.Petersburg, Florida
Member No.: 4.422



ok i know ihave to raise them but i got strings on now so will my strings break?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Dec 29 2008, 12:41 AM
Post #16


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



I think they´ll stay as they are. smile.gif Nonetheless, pay attention.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chetta2323
post Dec 29 2008, 12:53 AM
Post #17


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 1-March 08
From: St.Petersburg, Florida
Member No.: 4.422



im sorry im so ignorant. lol were are the bride studs in the guitar i have a jackson btw
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chetta2323
post Dec 29 2008, 05:45 AM
Post #18


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 1-March 08
From: St.Petersburg, Florida
Member No.: 4.422



IM FREAKING QUITTING GUITAR MY GUITAR SUX SO MACH I SWEAR IM ABOUT TO GO JIMI HENDRIX ON THIS PEICE OF CRAP
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lcsdds
post Dec 29 2008, 05:49 AM
Post #19


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.054
Joined: 2-September 08
Member No.: 5.825



QUOTE (chetta2323 @ Dec 29 2008, 05:45 AM) *
IM FREAKING QUITTING GUITAR MY GUITAR SUX SO MACH I SWEAR IM ABOUT TO GO JIMI HENDRIX ON THIS PEICE OF CRAP



Take it to a luthier and have them restring it and do a set up. Then, make sure you know what gauge strings you are using and next time change them ONE STRING AT AT TIME. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif If your guitar is that out of whack and you have never worked with a floating trem it can be a real nightmare mad.gif mad.gif Good luck!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
FrankW
post Dec 29 2008, 06:02 AM
Post #20


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 622
Joined: 29-April 08
From: Fort Mill, SC, USA, Pangea, Earth
Member No.: 5.004



Don't freak out, man. If your guitar was working properly before you changed strings, all you have to do is make sure you're all tuned up, and you'll have no more fret buzz. I have a Floyd in my Jackson.
Whenever you change out the strings, the bridge can come out. No big deal. Just put it back in. But, do not raise your bridge height if it was fine before you took off the old strings, unless you have put on a heavier gauge string set than what was on before. In that case, you will have to open up the back of the guitar, and tighten the spring tree a bit. This will increase spring tension to compensate for the heavier gauge set. Make sense?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th May 2017 - 12:51 PM