2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Red Ring Of Death On Xbox360
MickeM
post Jan 15 2009, 01:55 PM
Post #1


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



Red ring of death or whatever it's called. I had it before, more than a year ago, and yesterday I think out 2 yr old gave the box a hard push or something... at least his older brothers blame him.
Now there are three out or four blinking, but the unit works fine. Games play fine, it loads from the HD and everything seem to work. But still it's blinking.

I have a vague memory of that this blinking can be reset, that it's indicating something was wrong but isn't neccessarily anymore.

So, does anyone know if it can be reset?

I googled and found that unplugging everything and then starting up should be fine but not for my box it isn't. It's still blinking. And as far as I understand three blinking lights should also render the Xbox unplayable, which mine isn't.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
post Jan 15 2009, 02:02 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5.635
Joined: 29-November 07
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 3.401



That's why I bought a PS3. They designed it to work laugh.gif

But I hope you get it fixed. Unfortunately I know my friends in total have been through 25 XBox 360s (About 30 people) and my mates with PS3s still have their machines running strong smile.gif

It's because they use cheap parts but there should be a way to reset the blinking.


--------------------
Gear
Guitars:- Caparison Horus Snowcloud, Parker Nitefly M, Parker Nitefly SA, Gibson SG, Parker P10e, 40 Year Old Spanish Acoustic
Amps:- Framus Ruby Riot 2x12" stack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
post Jan 15 2009, 02:43 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5.635
Joined: 29-November 07
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 3.401



Did you turn the 360 off for an hour before putting back on as it may be an overheating issue?


--------------------
Gear
Guitars:- Caparison Horus Snowcloud, Parker Nitefly M, Parker Nitefly SA, Gibson SG, Parker P10e, 40 Year Old Spanish Acoustic
Amps:- Framus Ruby Riot 2x12" stack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jan 15 2009, 02:47 PM
Post #4


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (OrganisedConfusion @ Jan 15 2009, 02:43 PM) *
Did you turn the 360 off for an hour before putting back on as it may be an overheating issue?

Yeah it was off overnight.

If this (my second) Xbox crashes on me I'm buying a PS3 since MS warranty for red ring faults isn't valid anymore.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
post Jan 15 2009, 02:50 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5.635
Joined: 29-November 07
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 3.401



QUOTE (MickeM @ Jan 15 2009, 01:47 PM) *
Yeah it was off overnight.

If this (my second) Xbox crashes on me I'm buying a PS3 since MS warranty for red ring faults isn't valid anymore.

It's normally one of two things with the 360. The first is overheating because of cheap parts and the second is because of the cheap parts heating up they expand and can become dislodged partly so the internal components need fixing. But if it was knocked something inside could have become dislodged but they are really easy to break. It's all well and good them charging a lot less than PS3 but they have to use cheap components whereas Sony actually loses money on every PS3 they sell but the components are of high quality.

Don't buy a PS3 just yet though as they are about to drop the price to $200 supposedly or around about there. But seriously lots of my mates 360s have broke and they have swapped. It's a great console but badly put together.


--------------------
Gear
Guitars:- Caparison Horus Snowcloud, Parker Nitefly M, Parker Nitefly SA, Gibson SG, Parker P10e, 40 Year Old Spanish Acoustic
Amps:- Framus Ruby Riot 2x12" stack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
superize
post Jan 15 2009, 02:58 PM
Post #6


Ultimate Tone Guru
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 4.343
Joined: 26-July 07
From: Glommersträsk. Sweden
Member No.: 2.410



I also am having problems with my xbox.....

one day when i was playing the game freezed and i had to restart the xbox but it just keept doing it again and agin and agin.....

Yesterday whe i started it it never started and i got the red ring on my consule.......

Dont know either what is wrong


--------------------
My Gear

Ibanez RG
Jackson js30 warrior
jackson rr24
Line 6 Spider III amp
Line 6 pod xt live
Washburn acoustic

Youtube Account
My bands Myspace


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Enucleation
post Jan 15 2009, 03:23 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 564
Joined: 12-March 08
From: Alabama...:(
Member No.: 4.546



I had it recently. If it is 3 lights then you can send it off and they will fix it for free, any more or less than 3 and you have to pay unless you are still under warranty.

Check the xbox website, I guess.


--------------------
Gear
::Guitars::
ESP LTD AX-50 (Temporarily 'out of service')
ESP LTD KH-202
Jackson King V
Ibanez Xiphos (Main)
::Amp::
Line 6 Spider Valve
::Misc::
Pod Studio UX2/Pod Farm
Ibanez Weeping Demon Wah
Ernie Ball Strings (11-48 for Standard D) (9-42 for Standard)
Any pick that works for me
::Wanted::
B.C. Rich Stealth
Xiphos 7 String
Too much....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jan 15 2009, 03:45 PM
Post #8


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (superize @ Jan 15 2009, 02:58 PM) *
I also am having problems with my xbox.....

one day when i was playing the game freezed and i had to restart the xbox but it just keept doing it again and agin and agin.....

Yesterday whe i started it it never started and i got the red ring on my consule.......

Dont know either what is wrong

Exactly that happened the first time my broke. It froze a few times for a few days then the red ring. sad.gif

MS sent UPS to pick it up and sent it to germany for repair. Mine was beyond that appearantly since they sent me a new one.
Call MS to see if their warranty is still valid!! Now your 1 year warranty but they had one before so they repaired all broken 360's at no cost for the customer and no matter if you had warranty or not. I think they took that away though but it can't hurt to ask them.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
post Jan 15 2009, 03:50 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5.635
Joined: 29-November 07
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 3.401



They stopped it I think. That's why I stay away from them because they just break too easily. I hope you get it sorted anyway.


--------------------
Gear
Guitars:- Caparison Horus Snowcloud, Parker Nitefly M, Parker Nitefly SA, Gibson SG, Parker P10e, 40 Year Old Spanish Acoustic
Amps:- Framus Ruby Riot 2x12" stack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
The Uncreator
post Jan 15 2009, 04:05 PM
Post #10


Fire Up The Blades, Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 8.933
Joined: 6-March 07
From: St. Petersburg, Florida
Member No.: 1.304



The old ones break too easily, If you get one now you should be completely in the clear and Ok, Or if you repair it should never happen again. But the PS3 is abuilt like a german Panzer tank, thing is a beast, I love it smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Jan 15 2009, 05:28 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



i had an old 360, sent it in, they replaced with the new gen 360 parts so it doesnt have any problems...call microsoft and see if they will let you send it in again...

usually microsoft is good about these kind of things..


id never trade in my 360 for a ps3....just not worth it for me wink.gif



--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
helo92
post Feb 12 2009, 02:43 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 143
Joined: 26-August 08
From: Kappeln, Germany
Member No.: 5.777



some old ones have this problem

but if your box isn't older than 3 years replacing shouldn't be a problem

my brother had the ring 2 times but they fixed it within a week

QUOTE (Marc_Maiden @ Jan 15 2009, 05:28 PM) *
id never trade in my 360 for a ps3....just not worth it for me wink.gif



same for me smile.gif


--------------------
<a href="http://www.wacken.com/" target="_blank"><embed src="http://banner.wacken.com/banner/WOA_Banner2010_468x60_090904_cw.swf" quality="high" width="468" height="60"></embed></a>
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
post Feb 12 2009, 02:51 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5.635
Joined: 29-November 07
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 3.401



QUOTE (Marc_Maiden @ Jan 15 2009, 04:28 PM) *
id never trade in my 360 for a ps3....just not worth it for me wink.gif

That's why your missing out on the best console available. Not just for games but for Blu Ray films also. It is by far the best console for games just on PS3 and for it's technological brilliance. I wish people weren't so tight on things and not buy a PS3 because it costs a lot. It costs a lot because it contains a hell of a lot of technology that XBox 360 and Wii just can't compare with.

But I have my PS3 so I'm happy. I just think people are missing out on high quality entertainment with not having a PS3.


--------------------
Gear
Guitars:- Caparison Horus Snowcloud, Parker Nitefly M, Parker Nitefly SA, Gibson SG, Parker P10e, 40 Year Old Spanish Acoustic
Amps:- Framus Ruby Riot 2x12" stack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Feb 12 2009, 03:21 PM
Post #14


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (helo92 @ Feb 12 2009, 02:43 PM) *
some old ones have this problem

but if your box isn't older than 3 years replacing shouldn't be a problem

my brother had the ring 2 times but they fixed it within a week

I had the first batch of 360's that came to Sweden, that one had the red ring of death and died for real, the display froze. MS sent UPS to pick it up and it was sent for repair. But instead of fixing it they send me a new one as replacement. Made in 2007 I think it says in the back.
So it's a fairly new one, but the strange things is I can still play like normal while the three red lamps are flashing. I stopped caring.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
helo92
post Feb 12 2009, 03:40 PM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 143
Joined: 26-August 08
From: Kappeln, Germany
Member No.: 5.777



360 got better games and the games both consoles have are often weaker in graphics at the ps3


--------------------
<a href="http://www.wacken.com/" target="_blank"><embed src="http://banner.wacken.com/banner/WOA_Banner2010_468x60_090904_cw.swf" quality="high" width="468" height="60"></embed></a>
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
opeth.db
post Feb 12 2009, 03:55 PM
Post #16


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.156
Joined: 11-September 08
From: Cleveland, Ohio
Member No.: 5.886



I have had both systems and ended with with a PS3. IMO the best system out there.
Maybe its becaue I only paid $200 bucks for my 60gig PS3. smile.gif

Just my $.02.


--------------------
My Gear
Ibanez RG570 Silver
Jackson Ofset V Randy Rhodes Signature
Mitchell Acoustic
Custom Ibanez S series (Currently working on)
X2 XDS95 Digital Wireless system
Line 6 MKII
8 Channel USB Roland Mixer

My Site
www.shredwork.com

Learn how to count. It's what separates the hack and the pros IMHO. -LCSDDS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eat-Sleep-andJam
post Feb 12 2009, 03:59 PM
Post #17


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.412
Joined: 23-February 07
From: New york
Member No.: 1.243



Xbox360>PS3 anyday for me.



--------------------
Join Me On the Lyrics Board !


"Find something worth dying for...



...And live for it"
-The Uncreator
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
post Feb 12 2009, 04:01 PM
Post #18


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5.635
Joined: 29-November 07
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 3.401



QUOTE (helo92 @ Feb 12 2009, 02:40 PM) *
360 got better games and the games both consoles have are often weaker in graphics at the ps3

The graphics blow the XBox 360 out of the water. The best console game for graphics is Metal Gear Solid IV. I'm not a huge Metal Gear fan but that is the only game on a console that blows your mind graphics wise and comes close to Crysis with graphical supremacy. 360 doesn't have better games. What games does it have that are better than Killzone 2, Resistance 2, Metal Gear Solid IV, LittleBigPlanet. It can't compete hence why they have to make sure they charge nothing for the console.

The PS3 is a graphical beast. The X Box 360 isn't as powerful. I think I read somewhere that the PS3 hasn't been ran to even 60% of its graphical capability yet so expect some stunning games this year on the PS3 smile.gif Gran Turismo 5, God Of War new game, Uncharted 2 smile.gif I can't wait. What has XBox 360 got? Nothing biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by OrganisedConfusion: Feb 12 2009, 04:02 PM


--------------------
Gear
Guitars:- Caparison Horus Snowcloud, Parker Nitefly M, Parker Nitefly SA, Gibson SG, Parker P10e, 40 Year Old Spanish Acoustic
Amps:- Framus Ruby Riot 2x12" stack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Moon Boots
post Feb 12 2009, 04:01 PM
Post #19


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 209
Joined: 19-December 07
From: London
Member No.: 3.548



QUOTE (helo92 @ Feb 12 2009, 02:40 PM) *
360 got better games and the games both consoles have are often weaker in graphics at the ps3


This is true. As making games for the ps3 is very difficult a lot of companies design the games for the 360 and then port them over to the ps3 - this results in the ps3 having lower quality and often glitchy games.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
post Feb 12 2009, 04:03 PM
Post #20


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5.635
Joined: 29-November 07
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 3.401



QUOTE (Eat-Sleep-andJam @ Feb 12 2009, 02:59 PM) *
Xbox360>PS3 anyday for me.

For what reason do you believe that?

PS3 is better even if you just consider the fact it has a Blu Ray player which costs close to as much as a PS3 normally anyway.


--------------------
Gear
Guitars:- Caparison Horus Snowcloud, Parker Nitefly M, Parker Nitefly SA, Gibson SG, Parker P10e, 40 Year Old Spanish Acoustic
Amps:- Framus Ruby Riot 2x12" stack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2017 - 07:05 AM