Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Adapting A Floyd Rose On Ibanez Guitar
pierre
post Jan 17 2009, 10:07 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 17-January 09
Member No.: 6.612



Hi everyone,
I'm brand new on GMC and very excited about it!
I bought an Ibanez SA series while visiting the US in December I love it , I have regrets though, it's hard to use the Wha bar because the guitar won't stay in tune.
Is it possible to adapt a floyd rose to the model that didn't have one in the beginning? I was told that standard floyd rose wouldn't fit?
Thank you so much for the help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kaznie_NL
post Jan 17 2009, 10:45 AM
Post #2


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.809
Joined: 8-December 07
From: Hedel, Netherlands
Member No.: 3.471



Hey Pierre and welcome. I think when you buy an Ibanez SA (it's my main guitar as well xD the SA 08) you shouldn't make such big changes to the guitar, just because it might be just as expensive as the whole guitar xD You can search the wiki, I wrote quite a large article on Floyd Rose there! A Floyd Rose system is bigger then the SAT II you have now, so it might not fit. You'd also need to install top locks, locking the strings just beneath the nut. I wouldn't recommend doing it!


--------------------
My YouTube Channel Here

My Rec Takes Here


--- GEAR ---
Ibanez SA08LTD2 BAR
Vox AD50VT
Pod Farm
Line 6 Pod Studio GX
El Cheapo Strat
Dunlop Slide
Korg Toneworks AX5G
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rooks
post Jan 17 2009, 10:47 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 231
Joined: 26-June 08
From: Denmark, home of sad and cold climate
Member No.: 5.376



Hmm I'm no expert but since no one answered yet I'll answer my best smile.gif

I believe you would need to get the cavity routed to fit a FR, as well as some routing around the 1st fret to adapt the locking nut ...

edit: Looks like kaznie beat me to it ^^ , I would'nt recommend either.

I do have one advice tho.. Sometimes when guitars dont stay in tune it can be because the nut has too much friction, and the strings can move slightly after tuning. Maybe it can stay better in tune if you apply some graphite in the nut slots.

This post has been edited by Rooks: Jan 17 2009, 10:51 AM


--------------------

Gear: Guitar Cort EVL X4 , Squier Strat Amp Peavey Valveking 112 50w
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jan 17 2009, 10:58 AM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



If it has a regular tremolo, than you would have to do some body modifications in order to feet a FL tremolo in there, which has to be done from an experienced guitar tech guy or someone who already did this kind if mod. I'm not sure how good is to do this kind of mod mate, only if you have a hi end model of SA, there is justification.
Other solution is perhaps to install only to top lock nut in order to lock the strings and prevent them from detuning. You will also have to replace the old nut and buy a ne top lock one, but it is far easier job then making a bigger body cavity.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lcsdds
post Jan 17 2009, 11:45 AM
Post #5


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.054
Joined: 2-September 08
Member No.: 5.825



I believe the SA model is supposed to be lbanez's version of a strat. Non-locking tremolo etc. If you really want to get into some whammy bar abuse you need to a guitar equipped with a double locking tremolo. The Ibanez S series is the best on the market for this IMO. It has the ZR trem which uses ball bearings instead of knife edge fulcrum system. I agree with everyone else as well. If you really want a trem you would be better off selling the SA and getting a different guitar. Or keep the SA and still get a different guitar. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
post Jan 17 2009, 12:15 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Member No.: 3.387



I would just replace the tuning machines, and get some with locking smile.gif

something like this: http://elderly.com/accessories/items/PWAT-6R1.htm

This post has been edited by Dejan Farkas: Jan 17 2009, 12:19 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jan 17 2009, 12:29 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (Dejan Farkas @ Jan 17 2009, 12:15 PM) *
I would just replace the tuning machines, and get some with locking smile.gif

something like this: http://elderly.com/accessories/items/PWAT-6R1.htm


Agree with Dejan here, this is probably the easiest solution
to stop going out of tune without much drilling,
still the same bridge tho. smile.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
inertia
post Jan 17 2009, 02:51 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 313
Joined: 29-October 07
From: Niagara Falls, Canada
Member No.: 3.169



ditto on the locking tuners, they make a big difference regardless of the type of tremolo you have, I know for the cheaper PRS SE series lots of people use the grover mini-locking tuners with great success, not 100% sure if these will fit your ibanez, likely they would but check it out first.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Jan 17 2009, 03:15 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



that sat pro II is a fine trem, not the best, but with a proper set up, it will stay in tune...not as well as a floyd but still.


here are somethings you can do to make it stay in tune like a floyd:


change the nut of the guitar to something like graphite. the stock nut on most guitars is what usually causes these to go out of tune because they dont let the string move smoothly...so a roller nut or graphite nut would work fine.


you can also get a top lock system that works well and is easy to install, giving you a locking feature like a floyd



i wouldnt suggest locking tuners because they dont help as much as you think


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th July 2017 - 07:58 AM