Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Tuning Problem, Intonation
Nighthawk1
post Jan 18 2009, 04:40 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 641
Joined: 2-December 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 3.437



Hey there Ivan,
as you did a cool lesson about guitar tuning, I am asking you for a little help. I have a problem with the high E-String meaning when fretting 12th fret on this string the e is way too flat while the open e is ok...so as you said I got to loosen the screw a bit. Then I tune open E again and fret again on 12th fret and so on...
But somehow it doesn't work out and I don't get the tuner to show e on open e and high e. I even cant loosen the screw anymore...so what do I have to do?
It is strange I haven't had this problem before but somehow this fret become out of tune - the other strings are ok!
Can you help me?
Cheers

This post has been edited by Nighthawk1: Jan 19 2009, 10:17 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jan 18 2009, 08:52 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Hey mate,

What tuner and guitar do you use? Have you restring the guitar recently? Did you change the gauge/brand of the strings?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nighthawk1
post Jan 19 2009, 10:15 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 641
Joined: 2-December 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 3.437



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Jan 18 2009, 08:52 PM) *
Hey mate,

What tuner and guitar do you use? Have you restring the guitar recently? Did you change the gauge/brand of the strings?

Hey,
I use the tuner which is included in the gearbox software (guitar over toneport ux2). My guitar is a Fender Squier Strat and the strings aren't new neither the gauge. That's why I find it really strange. huh.gif
Maybe there is something wrong with the strings, should I put new on? Thanks Ivan

This post has been edited by Nighthawk1: Jan 19 2009, 04:25 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jan 19 2009, 03:52 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Definitely try to put new set of strings mate. I have 3 squier guitars (strat copies), and on all three I had intonation problems, cause guitars were not made very accurately. Most of the time the bridge saddle left no space for further adjustments. Also the problem could be with the old strings mate, they are detuning. Put a fresh set on, and tune on. Make sure the strings are correctly aligned on the bridge saddles, and that the space between them is equal. Then try with the gearbox tuner. In general, I would advise to get a bit better tuner, cause the gearbox tuner is not very precise one. You can do intonation setup with it, and see if it works, but I recommend getting a tuner (I have Korg TM40 it costs ~ 20$) Nevertheless, first get the strings, and see it the gearbox tuner is working for you. Try and tell me what happened mate.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nighthawk1
post Jan 19 2009, 04:25 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 641
Joined: 2-December 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 3.437



Thanks for ya helpful response man. I will try it out with a new set of strings. I even have a guitar Tuner KORG GA-30 but I have been using the gearbox tuner so far because it was pretty handy.
So thanks onesmore, I will give you a feedback if the new set was be the solution.
Cheers smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jan 19 2009, 09:35 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Ok mate, I'll wait your update! Be sure to try it out with the other tuner as well when you change the strings! Cheers! smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Nighthawk1
post Jan 20 2009, 10:06 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 641
Joined: 2-December 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 3.437



So, you were right, pal...it was obviously due to the strings. I checked it with Gearbox tuner and it is ok now even if the octave is still a little bit flat...so I checked it with the Korg tuner and it shows it perfectly... Apparently the gearbox tuner is a bit inaccurate indeed when it comes to octaves !
Thanks for your quick help, I really appreciate it ! Keep up the good work and c u around here at GMC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jan 20 2009, 10:35 AM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Cool mate! Glad you got the problem sorted out! Cheers! C ya around! smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th May 2017 - 12:33 AM