Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording With My Vox Ad50vtxl
Marc_Maiden
post Jan 21 2009, 02:06 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



hey guys, so my amp arrived first, and i want to record with it, it does have a line out for recording...


i connected it to my toneport, and when i record, i cant hear anything out of the amp, but after i finish recording, i press play and can hear what i recorded...any one know how i can hear my amp while i record? i do have speakers plugged into the tone port and i cant hear anything through them


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ramiro Delforte
post Jan 21 2009, 02:08 AM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 2.279
Joined: 4-August 08
From: Argentina, Buenos Aires
Member No.: 5.625



Do you have a headphone output in the amp?
That could be a solution...


--------------------
Check out my Instructor Profile and Board

LIVE VIDEO CHATS EVERY MONDAY AROUND 22PM (GMC HOUR)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Jan 21 2009, 02:26 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



thats what im using to go to the toneport ....it has a "headphone/line" input thing

it has a "speaker extension" input as well i dont know if that will help


and i really doubt the footswitch input will help either tongue.gif

it might be time i invest in a recording mic


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marshmall0wz
post Jan 21 2009, 03:25 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 448
Joined: 12-February 08
Member No.: 4.221



I've got an ad30vt and i use the line out. I just bought a few mics though so you could do that but it's NOT your problem. Ill tell you how i setup my tracks for really any decent software (reaper included)
1. Go to preferences and set up ASIO so that my interface has the input signal and my speakers the output signal
2. Put in a new track.
3. Arm it for recording.
4. Set the TRACKS input for my interface's channel i plugged the vox into.
5. play around to make sure i have the right tone
6. adjust the track volume
7. REcord

BTW: when you plug the line in, in your amp shuts off volume which is nice because you can crank the master wink.gif
pm me for more help if you need it. I had the exact same problem starting out. The vox isn't that great an amp (sounds GREAT for it's price range/ for basic home recording though) so there's not much point grabbing a SM57. I'd recommend this. THey sound AWESOME and you get a bunch
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Nady-SP-5-Micr...174-i1127200.gc
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Horizon-XLR--F...972-i1129198.gc


--------------------

Gibson SG-3 Faded
Epiphone Thunderbird
Ovation CC48
Vox AD30VT
Vintage U.S. Peavey Microbass
Orange Tiny Terror w/ 212 Cabinet
Creativity
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Jan 21 2009, 04:49 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



ill give that a try thanks


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jan 21 2009, 11:00 AM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



What do you mean you can't hear anything from the amp? When you plug in the cable to the Line Out of the amp, does the speakers mutes itself?
Also when you connect it to the Toneport, be sure to connect it to line 1 & line 2 inputs (instrument input will work fine as well if you don't have appropriate cable). THen open Gearbox and bypass all the settings. You should hear the signal through Gearbox.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jan 21 2009, 11:05 AM
Post #7


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Jan 21 2009, 11:00 AM) *
What do you mean you can't hear anything from the amp? When you plug in the cable to the Line Out of the amp, does the speakers mutes itself?

That's how I understood it too.


Marc-Maiden, the speakers will mute when plugging something into the headphones. You line it to the soundcard and that's where you should plug in your headphones to be able to hear the sound when you're recording. Surely your soundcard has a headphones out?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jer
post Jan 21 2009, 12:49 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.889
Joined: 3-September 08
From: Des Moines IA USA
Member No.: 5.836



My Vox did that too. PLugging anything in to the line/headphones out mutes the speakers.

So does running a cab off the EXT jack. It wont run the cab speakers and the built in speaker.



--------------------
My Gear

Jackson SL-1 USA Soloist
Jackson DK2M
ESP LTD MH-400
ESP LTD EC-1000
Ibanez Custom S-Series
Martin 001 Acoustic

Handmade Marshall JCM800 50watt head (with mods)
Carvin 50x2 Stereo Tube Amp
Boss GT-10 Preamp/Effects Processor
Digitech GSP-1101 Preamp/Effects Processor
Behringer FCB1010 Midi Controlled Floorboard
Behringer Dualfex EX2200
Behinger Stereo EQ
Line 6 POD with 2.3 upgrade
Line 6 Floor Board
Line 6 Spider III Practice Amp
Nady UHF Wireless


"Who will eat the decay, when the worms have lost their sight?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Jan 21 2009, 04:02 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



yeah, it mutes the internal speakers, but i have speakers connected to the toneport, and i cant hear anything through those...i ill try using gear box and bypassing everything...how would i do that though in gear box?


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Jan 22 2009, 02:10 AM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



i took marshes advice, and i can hear now through cubase, but there is latency so for now ill keep recording with tone port except for videos...my cam has a good mic on it...but then again for vid collabs, id have to record the audio separately....

hmmm this is the only flaw i found with this amp


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marshmall0wz
post Jan 22 2009, 03:49 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 448
Joined: 12-February 08
Member No.: 4.221



QUOTE (Marc_Maiden @ Jan 21 2009, 08:10 PM) *
i took marshes advice, and i can hear now through cubase, but there is latency so for now ill keep recording with tone port except for videos...my cam has a good mic on it...but then again for vid collabs, id have to record the audio separately....

hmmm this is the only flaw i found with this amp

Glad i could help. For latency i just shoved my buffer size WAY down. It still sounds good and there's only 5 MS of latency which is pretty much inaudible. I LOVE that the amps speaker shuts off dude. Cause there's a tube in the amp, it means you can get the tube and master volume cranked for good tone without killing your ears. For Vid collabs you would just record and videotape at the same time and then link the audio track and video track in windows movie maker. Ive found that most often, these kinds of problems have pretty simple answers that just need someone to explain. Go to your guitarstore where you got cubase and try to get some help smile.gif cheers


--------------------

Gibson SG-3 Faded
Epiphone Thunderbird
Ovation CC48
Vox AD30VT
Vintage U.S. Peavey Microbass
Orange Tiny Terror w/ 212 Cabinet
Creativity
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th January 2017 - 09:02 AM