Problems With Setting Up A Tempo...., or they didn't use any metronome??....
utak3r
Jan 27 2009, 11:32 PM
Post #1
Jan 27 2009, 11:32 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 553
Joined: 3-January 09
From: Szczecin, Poland
Help me guys.....

As some of you know, I'm working on the "Sear me" cover from My Dying Bride. I'm almost ready to record all the parts, so I started working on the drums and bass. To make my life easier I put the original track in the background. And... guess what? Either I'm so stupid or they recorded this song without any metronome at all! dry.gif I can't setup any useful tempo. I'm pretty sure it's a simple 4/4, but the tempo is around 66-69 - can't fit it! Am I so dumb or they really played it from the air?... rolleyes.gif

Please guys, help me... If I won't make it, I'll have to make my drums from memory....

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
sooner or later... you will meet the undertaker...
utak3r.pl
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Jan 27 2009, 11:50 PM
Post #2
Jan 27 2009, 11:50 PM
Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
YOu're probably right mate, they perhaps didn't use metronome at all. Lots of bands record that way, cause not all songs need to be at fixed tempo because of the dynamics. Try to feel to tempo, don't need to measure it. You can do it without the backing with only metronome, or just play without the click (only with the backing).

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ramiro Delforte
Jan 28 2009, 02:45 AM
Post #3
Jan 28 2009, 02:45 AM
Instructor
Posts: 2.279
Joined: 4-August 08
From: Argentina, Buenos Aires
They didn't use any metronome.
I've listened to this version https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdX0CaMyjEs...feature=related
The time is close to 60.25 but it has little variations. I think because it's a ballad they didn't use any metronome to create a more ad lib feel.
Also there is one tempo to the first part and then it get "steady" near the 60.25 again in the 3:20 min the "intro" comes again with that tempo that could be the "half".

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
Check out my Instructor Profile and Board

LIVE VIDEO CHATS EVERY MONDAY AROUND 22PM (GMC HOUR)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
utak3r
Jan 28 2009, 08:03 AM
Post #4
Jan 28 2009, 08:03 AM
GMC:er
Posts: 553
Joined: 3-January 09
From: Szczecin, Poland
So it's like they don't use it... oh well.
BTW Ramiro - it's not the same song wink.gif they have three songs with similar titles (on three various LPs):
1. Sear Me - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tx6JInk4z0s (that one I'm working on)
2. Sear Me III - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FroaJLHYSmI
3. Sear Me MCMXCIII (which you've linked wink.gif )

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


--------------------
sooner or later... you will meet the undertaker...
utak3r.pl
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Toni Suominen
Jan 29 2009, 10:40 PM
Post #5
Jan 29 2009, 10:40 PM
Instructor
Posts: 3.038
Joined: 2-December 07
From: Rauma, Finland
This may be off-topic, but some bands also use tempo-maps, which can be assigned to change the tempo of the metronome during the song.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


This post has been edited by Toni Suominen: Jan 29 2009, 10:40 PM


--------------------
Gear:
-PRS Custom 22
-Edwards Les Paul
-PodXT
-Ibanez Acoustic


Check out my lessons and my instructor profile!

My Youtube channel

My Last.FM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
utak3r
Jan 29 2009, 11:10 PM
Post #6
Jan 29 2009, 11:10 PM
GMC:er
Posts: 553
Joined: 3-January 09
From: Szczecin, Poland
Sure, and this one goes in the middle to something like 170 or so wink.gif and then back to the start point.
But it's like they're constantly somwhere around the temo wink.gif

Nevermind, I've almost completed the drums track from scratch...

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net


Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!


This post has been edited by utak3r: Jan 29 2009, 11:10 PM


--------------------
sooner or later... you will meet the undertaker...
utak3r.pl
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 




RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st March 2020 - 05:49 PM