Reply to this topicStart new topic
> I Got A Problem Here!
Marc_Maiden
post Jan 30 2009, 02:41 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



hey guys...

i got a problem with the roland gk-3 pick up....

i have an ibanez rg520qm which has pick up rings....these pick up rings leave no room for my to put the gk-3 pick up between the bridge pup and bridge...now i can easily cut off half the pick up ring...but my question is:



why can the gk-3 pick up be placed anywhere under the strings? they say it cant be more than 20mm aaway from the bridge, but thats right in the middle of the bridge pup...


any other suggestions besides cutting the pup ring in half?


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Outlaw2112
post Jan 30 2009, 02:56 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.881
Joined: 16-January 08
From: Washington DC
Member No.: 3.852



wish i could help you bro, i have no idea


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sircraigery
post Jan 30 2009, 04:08 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 673
Joined: 12-May 07
Member No.: 1.835



Does the pickup rings hold the other pickups in place (I don't have any).

This might be a bigger project that you'd set out to have. I wouldn't cut them (or maybe get some others first)

Or head to the store and see if you can buy the same supports as guitars with no rings, will probably involved drilling a small hole though.


Either while your there, best as the guitar tech (not the salesmen, they'll just try to sell you something else).


--------------------
Guitars:
Ibanez Prestige RG2610E [BKP Cold Sweat]
Ibanez Prestige RG2550E [Carbon Fiber Plastics]
Ibanez Roadstar II RS-135 [Stock]
Quest Acoustic [Stock]

Effects:
Electro-Harmonix Metal Muff
Ibanez Weeping Demon Wah
Boss DR-3 Dr. Rhythym

Amp:
Marshall JCM2000 DSL 401

'Only the dead have seen the end of the war.' - Plato
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Jan 30 2009, 06:51 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



im tellin ya...they dont make this pick up easy to install....so heres what i did:


cut the pick up ring in half..then attached the pick up where it needs to be...then i realized that the pick up needs to be 1mm under the string...for me it wasl ike 2-3 mm under so i had to fix that...now im about to plug it in


if it doesnt work right...im gonna be pisssssssssseddd


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th January 2017 - 06:14 PM