Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ezdrummer, Help
coloneldrew
post Feb 4 2009, 09:20 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Joined: 18-December 08
From: Toronto, Canada
Member No.: 6.411



I just got my EZ drummer today and I can't seem to get it to work. I've installed everything but how does it open? Do I have to use it as a plugin for say Fruity Loops? I really don't understand...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fatb0t
post Feb 4 2009, 09:22 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.202
Joined: 25-November 07
Member No.: 3.373



C:\Program Files\VSTs - Copy the ezdrummer.dll file into your DAWs plugin or FX folder - then use it has a plugin for your DAW.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emir Hot
post Feb 4 2009, 09:47 PM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 7.201
Joined: 14-July 08
From: London UK
Member No.: 5.490



It should automaticaly install its VTS drivers inside the VST folder. What program do you use for recording? You should be able to select it like any other VST instrument.


--------------------
Check out my <a href="https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Emir-Hot" target="_blank">Instructor profile</a>

www.emirhot.com
www.myspace.com/emirhotguitar
www.myspace.com/sevdahmetal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jer
post Feb 4 2009, 09:55 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.889
Joined: 3-September 08
From: Des Moines IA USA
Member No.: 5.836



its not a standalone program.

You have to use it inside another application that supports VST instruments.

Sonar
Cubase
Reaper

Etc...

I'm not familiar with fruity loops.


--------------------
My Gear

Jackson SL-1 USA Soloist
Jackson DK2M
ESP LTD MH-400
ESP LTD EC-1000
Ibanez Custom S-Series
Martin 001 Acoustic

Handmade Marshall JCM800 50watt head (with mods)
Carvin 50x2 Stereo Tube Amp
Boss GT-10 Preamp/Effects Processor
Digitech GSP-1101 Preamp/Effects Processor
Behringer FCB1010 Midi Controlled Floorboard
Behringer Dualfex EX2200
Behinger Stereo EQ
Line 6 POD with 2.3 upgrade
Line 6 Floor Board
Line 6 Spider III Practice Amp
Nady UHF Wireless


"Who will eat the decay, when the worms have lost their sight?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pedja Simovic
post Feb 5 2009, 03:09 AM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 8.109
Joined: 13-September 08
From: Nis, Serbia
Member No.: 5.892



Two things come to my mind...

1) You have to activate VST's in your DAW before you activate it in the IN and OUT assignment track
2) You have to enter serial number in program before using it smile.gif

I think it must be the first thing as I had similar problem like you with EZDrumms smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
coloneldrew
post Feb 5 2009, 10:41 AM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Joined: 18-December 08
From: Toronto, Canada
Member No.: 6.411



DAW = digital audio workstation?

I have Adobe Audition v.3... I hope that works.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Feb 5 2009, 11:09 AM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I suggest that you get a proper DAW like Reaper, Cubase, Sonar, Logic etc. Audition is, as somebody here recently mentioned, more of a mastering tool than a real DAW software.

You need a DAW, I suggest you check out Reaper - it's free. Open the DAW, open EZD in the project, make a MIDI track, assign the EZD to that MIDI track, and play the EZD.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Canis
post Feb 5 2009, 11:32 AM
Post #8


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 3.319
Joined: 22-October 07
From: Molde, Norway
Member No.: 3.108



After adding the .dll file in the Fruity Loops directory, go into the program and press the "Channels" tab, then "more" or something similar, and you should get a new window with the button "refresh" at the bottom. Do a fast scan, and ezdrummer should show up on the list in red text. Check the box, and go back to the "Channels" tab, where you'll find ezdrummer somewhere on the list wink.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
coloneldrew
post Feb 5 2009, 12:21 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Joined: 18-December 08
From: Toronto, Canada
Member No.: 6.411



Alright, haven't tried it with FL Studio yet, but I actually got it working rather nicely with Adobe Audition.

P.S Ivan, have you checked out the latest version of Audition? It's more than just a mastering tool my friend. They've implemented a lot of new features from the first two and with EZdrummer, its rather easy (lol) to use the samples. It even edits video now, which is awesome because I'm preparing my interview for Kris this week.

Thanks for all of your help guys!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Feb 5 2009, 08:27 PM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



QUOTE (coloneldrew @ Feb 5 2009, 12:21 PM) *
Alright, haven't tried it with FL Studio yet, but I actually got it working rather nicely with Adobe Audition.

P.S Ivan, have you checked out the latest version of Audition? It's more than just a mastering tool my friend. They've implemented a lot of new features from the first two and with EZdrummer, its rather easy (lol) to use the samples. It even edits video now, which is awesome because I'm preparing my interview for Kris this week.

Thanks for all of your help guys!


Hey, great you got it working man! smile.gif

No I haven't actually tried Audition at all! I read here on the forum recently (as I said in that last post) that it is more of a mastering software. Thanks for your recommendation, will try it to be certain next time around

All the best, cheers smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd January 2017 - 11:41 AM