Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Metronome Options
Ikaros
post Jan 8 2007, 07:19 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Maryland, USA
Member No.: 1.056



Can you suggest a good inexpensive metronome? Do all of them just have tic-toc sounds? I'd almost rather practice with a real sounding looping drum track or is that just as useful?

I've never used a metronome and I find it hard to tap my foot and play guitar at the same time! I know some kind of beat keeping device would help me once I get used to it though.


--------------------
Webpage:
- http://www.myspace.com/yngwie100
Equipment:
- Fender Standard Stratocaster
- Dunlop Tortex 1.14mm picks
- Roland Cube-20X modeling amp
- Boss FS-6 Dual Footswitch
- DOD YJM308 Overdrive (optional)
- Boss DS-1 Distortion (optional)
- Marshall MG15CD amp (spare)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BiGBeN
post Jan 9 2007, 02:30 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 3-January 07
From: Manchester
Member No.: 1.041



QUOTE (Ikaros @ Jan 8 2007, 06:19 PM) *
Can you suggest a good inexpensive metronome? Do all of them just have tic-toc sounds? I'd almost rather practice with a real sounding looping drum track or is that just as useful?

I've never used a metronome and I find it hard to tap my foot and play guitar at the same time! I know some kind of beat keeping device would help me once I get used to it though.


ok you want inexpensive , how about free ?

http://www.metronomeonline.com/


--------------------
IPB Image
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kristofer Dahl
post Jan 16 2007, 05:52 PM
Post #3


GMC Founder & Rocker
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.306
Joined: 15-August 05
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 2



QUOTE (BiGBeN @ Jan 9 2007, 04:30 AM) *
ok you want inexpensive , how about free ?

http://www.metronomeonline.com/


Yes - I would go for a free one if you want something unexpensive. If you want something good I recommend any cheap drum machine.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ikaros
post Jan 16 2007, 11:12 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Maryland, USA
Member No.: 1.056



I'll probably get a basic metronome like shown in your lesson video. Computer ones are nice but I can't always be in front of the PC when I practice. I have 2 daughters always doing schoolwork on it! Thanks for your suggestions.


--------------------
Webpage:
- http://www.myspace.com/yngwie100
Equipment:
- Fender Standard Stratocaster
- Dunlop Tortex 1.14mm picks
- Roland Cube-20X modeling amp
- Boss FS-6 Dual Footswitch
- DOD YJM308 Overdrive (optional)
- Boss DS-1 Distortion (optional)
- Marshall MG15CD amp (spare)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kristofer Dahl
post Jan 17 2007, 08:55 AM
Post #5


GMC Founder & Rocker
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.306
Joined: 15-August 05
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 2



QUOTE (Ikaros @ Jan 17 2007, 01:12 AM) *
I'll probably get a basic metronome like shown in your lesson video. Computer ones are nice but I can't always be in front of the PC when I practice. I have 2 daughters always doing schoolwork on it! Thanks for your suggestions.


Then buy a blue Korg metronome! smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Steelkonsum
post Jan 17 2007, 09:05 AM
Post #6


Member
*

Group: Members
Posts: 246
Joined: 11-January 07
From: Malmo, Sweden
Member No.: 1.066



QUOTE (Kristofer Dahl @ Jan 17 2007, 08:55 AM) *
Then buy a blue Korg metronome! smile.gif



Or a silver one as I did yesterday. Built in tuner as well. Handy.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jan 17 2007, 10:20 AM
Post #7


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Ikaros @ Jan 8 2007, 07:19 PM) *
Can you suggest a good inexpensive metronome? Do all of them just have tic-toc sounds? I'd almost rather practice with a real sounding looping drum track or is that just as useful?

I've never used a metronome and I find it hard to tap my foot and play guitar at the same time! I know some kind of beat keeping device would help me once I get used to it though.

Not a metronome but why don't you check out the Zoom G1? It only cost a few $ more than the Korg metronome and it contains amp modeling, effects and a drum machine. I never tried it out myself but I have an old Zoom 505II which was ok at that time (it's old now) and had a built in metronome + tuner. Perhaps the G1 has a built in metronome too?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ikaros
post Jan 18 2007, 09:46 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Maryland, USA
Member No.: 1.056



QUOTE (MickeM @ Jan 17 2007, 04:20 AM) *
Not a metronome but why don't you check out the Zoom G1? It only cost a few $ more than the Korg metronome and it contains amp modeling, effects and a drum machine. I never tried it out myself but I have an old Zoom 505II which was ok at that time (it's old now) and had a built in metronome + tuner.


Looks interesting. Something to consider after I read some reviews and such. Thanks.


--------------------
Webpage:
- http://www.myspace.com/yngwie100
Equipment:
- Fender Standard Stratocaster
- Dunlop Tortex 1.14mm picks
- Roland Cube-20X modeling amp
- Boss FS-6 Dual Footswitch
- DOD YJM308 Overdrive (optional)
- Boss DS-1 Distortion (optional)
- Marshall MG15CD amp (spare)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jan 18 2007, 03:16 PM
Post #9


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Ikaros @ Jan 18 2007, 09:46 AM) *
Looks interesting. Something to consider after I read some reviews and such. Thanks.

Cool! Be sure to check out if it has a metronome. I see I wrote in a way you could interpret it as the G1 does but I meant the 505II, I'm not sure about the G1.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sillyman
post Jul 13 2007, 09:42 AM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 100
Joined: 23-April 07
From: South Africa
Member No.: 1.661



Metronome or drum machine? wats every1s preference at gmc?


--------------------
Ibanez sa260 (hell ya)
Ibanez 10 watt amp (hell no)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Jul 13 2007, 01:10 PM
Post #11


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (sillyman @ Jul 13 2007, 04:42 AM) *
Metronome or drum machine? wats every1s preference at gmc?


Metronome!

With a metronome you can set different meters and pick subdivisions, that's harder with a drum machine. Also, drum machines can be distracting and make you want to Jam, Metronomes are pure smile.gif


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kyeric
post Jul 13 2007, 07:13 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 29-March 07
From: Burlington, KY, USA
Member No.: 1.440



QUOTE (Kristofer Dahl @ Jan 17 2007, 03:55 AM) *
Then buy a blue Korg metronome! smile.gif


Works for me! smile.gif

I bought mine at Guitar Center for $24.99! Works great.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
goat
post Jul 13 2007, 08:43 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 28-June 07
Member No.: 2.201



QUOTE (kyeric @ Jul 13 2007, 02:13 PM) *
Works for me! smile.gif

I bought mine at Guitar Center for $24.99! Works great.



I own this one too and recommend it. It's tiny and portable, runs forever on its batteries, and yes the built in tuner is VERY handy.

And the Zoom 505II has a built-in metronome and tuner? Man, I wish I hadn't lost the manual tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Igorrr
post Jul 13 2007, 09:12 PM
Post #14


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 7-April 07
From: Campinas / São Paulo - Brazil
Member No.: 1.501



My old mobile phone broke and when I saw that the Sony Ericsson w series all come with a metronome I bought one of those...

But actually you can find free java metronomes for any mobile phone (that supports Java applets)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
slak
post Jul 13 2007, 11:01 PM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 6-July 07
From: Oregon USA
Member No.: 2.253



I've got a little Boss TU-80 that I got from Guitar Center for about $10.00. It's got tuner and metronome. I really like it... and you might too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
erik
post Jul 15 2007, 10:03 PM
Post #16


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 391
Joined: 6-November 06
From: Norway
Member No.: 913



I've got a pretty expensive metronome, but it was worht it! I actually dont care much about the functions, I never use any rythms, just "tic tic tic tic tic tic". What I like about it, is that its easy to use and I can both tap the speed and set it with a wheel.

I recomend that you buy a metronome. Because if you have to start up your pc and go to a website everytime you want to use a metronome, basicly you almost never want to use it! Its not really something you feel that you need, so in order for you to use it often it has to be very available! After I bought a metronome i started using it MUCH more because it just sits there, and I dont have to think "I want to use a metronome today".. Instead I just use it randomly
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Asphyxia Feeling
post Jul 16 2007, 03:06 AM
Post #17


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 241
Joined: 19-April 07
From: Palm Springs, CA.
Member No.: 1.620



the Boss competion to the korg, called the Dr Rhythms or something like that, are also very handy.


--------------------
What did you learn tonight?
while shouting so loud, you barely joyous, broken thing.
You are a voice that never sings, is what i say.
You are freezing over hell
You are bringing on that end you do so well
and you can only blame yourself, is what is say.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ibanezkiller
post Jul 17 2007, 05:25 AM
Post #18


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 282
Joined: 7-July 07
Member No.: 2.262



QUOTE (MickeM @ Jan 17 2007, 05:20 AM) *
Not a metronome but why don't you check out the Zoom G1? It only cost a few $ more than the Korg metronome and it contains amp modeling, effects and a drum machine. I never tried it out myself but I have an old Zoom 505II which was ok at that time (it's old now) and had a built in metronome + tuner. Perhaps the G1 has a built in metronome too?


yeah the zooms are sweet my friend gave me his 4 years ago when i first started... it was good to me cool.gif

QUOTE (slak @ Jul 13 2007, 06:01 PM) *
I've got a little Boss TU-80 that I got from Guitar Center for about $10.00. It's got tuner and metronome. I really like it... and you might too.


thats what i use for a metronome now.. i also got mine for 10 ...what a steal


--------------------
METALLICA ROCKS!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th September 2017 - 07:47 AM