Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Lead Guitar?, Question about lead and some other stuff...
draftzero
post Feb 11 2009, 03:41 AM
Post #1

GMC:er

Group: Members
Member No.: 6.647

I recently joined my church's band and I have no experience in actually playing in a band. All the songs are really easy chords, the main singer usually plays rhythm and I think he is expecting for me to play along with him the same chords, which wouldn't make sense to me as from what i understand two rhythm guitars will pretty much sound the same right?

Is there a point to having 2 guitars playing rhythm or is it better to have one rhythm/one lead? I'm guessing playing lead would add another level to the music... unfortunately the only "lead" experience i have is just playing a few solos here and there (sweet child of mine, canon rock, etc). Most of the songs that they play do not have any tabs for lead, so i might actually have to make up my own riffs and melodies, i've done them for a few songs, but the melodies are very simple... was wondering if anyone had any suggestions... sometimes i just end up arpeggiating the chords, which sounds ok, but very bland.

FYI: i have a general understanding of music theory and know the pentatonic scales pretty well. Although I can't really move around the scales. For example when i'm improvising i still stay in the box.

THANKS!

Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Ramiro Delforte
post Feb 11 2009, 03:54 AM
Post #2

Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Member No.: 5.625

Well, you could use simple triads (but actually real three note chords, and by that I mean only play three strings) like the onces used in funk, many Red Hot Chilli Peppers use that concept.
Depending on the harmony also you could superimpose other chord in order to add tensions.
For example: Em7 over C = the Em7 adds the B and the D (the major 7th and the major 9th) to the C major chord.