Help me relax!, ..and another thing!
Steelkonsum
Jan 11 2007, 03:54 PM
Hi,

I'm, as mentioned in my introduction post, self-taught. This means I probably have a crapload of unwanted and extremly bad habbits. One of these involve me being very tense when I play.

I notice that if I just stop while Im playing I can sometimes feel how I'm..how to put it, not strained or cramped - it doesn't hurt or anything but I am just simply tense and it gets quite uncomfortable sometimes while atempting longer stuff. So I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions on how to better relax your arms and shoulders while playing?

And another thing, I seem to get very tired as Im playing very quickly and I suspect its connected to the whole being tense thingie. Or perhaps I just need to work up some guitar-muscles or whatever. So besides the tense thing, anything youc an think of to help me play longer?

Cheers!

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Pavel
Jan 11 2007, 04:09 PM
Instructor
The thing is actually very simple: people often think that they can play faster than they actually can and then try to do it by force. The first thing to do is to do a warmup - that means play some basic excercises for like half an hour at VERY LOW speeds. Let's say for example: take one of your favorite excercises and play it with Tempo of 100, after 5 minutes playing like that set tempo to 120, again play the lick for 5 minutes... go to another lick and get back to tempo of 100.