Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Brand New To Recording
Eat-Sleep-andJam
post Feb 12 2009, 11:14 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.412
Joined: 23-February 07
From: New york
Member No.: 1.243



Hi guys:) I just got a brand new laptop and I feel like I'm finally ready to record.

I got a HP Pavilion Entertainment Notebook PC.
http://www.shopping.hp.com/webapp/shopping...e=dv5tse_series

Im pretty sure thats the exact model.

I basically dont know where to start. The only way I know how to record now is by webcam, Im basically stuck.

Can someone help me out with recording ?


--------------------
Join Me On the Lyrics Board !


"Find something worth dying for...



...And live for it"
-The Uncreator
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
post Feb 12 2009, 11:23 PM
Post #2


Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.980
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 3.338



Well, you can record with the webcam, but the sound won't be very good.

What you can do is record the video with the webcam, and the sound using some interface (toneport/pod/pandora/multiFX etc.) through USB. To do so you will also need software such as Reaper.

Then you can put both video and sound files together using windows movie maker. At least that's what I do smile.gif


--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Ibanez RG2570MZ, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D

GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Share your playing and get Pro-advice from our Instructors: Join REC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Feb 12 2009, 11:26 PM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Do you have an interface to use with the laptop?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eat-Sleep-andJam
post Feb 12 2009, 11:31 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.412
Joined: 23-February 07
From: New york
Member No.: 1.243



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Feb 12 2009, 02:26 PM) *
Do you have an interface to use with the laptop?



You mean some sort of USB Device ?


--------------------
Join Me On the Lyrics Board !


"Find something worth dying for...



...And live for it"
-The Uncreator
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Feb 12 2009, 11:37 PM
Post #5


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



As Fran and Ivan say ES&J you need some way to get your guitar signal (assuming that it's the guitar you want to record) in to the laptop. Since the output from an electric guitar isn't usually compatible with the standard input on most pcs you may need an interface. As you have USB2 on that laptop then a USB audio interface is probably your best option - Fran's suggested several good possibilities.

Once you can input the signal you then need a software equivalent of a mixing desk/multitrack recorder (often called a sequencer). Reaper is a shareware sequencer and you can download it here. It will allow you to record, mix and process your recordings and save them as audio files. It can look pretty daunting so shout if you have any questions.


Cheers,
Tony


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Feb 12 2009, 11:45 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I agree with tony, best choice would be a USB interface. Check out this topic it may come in handy:
https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/guitar_fo...st&p=301294

You need 2 applications, one for video and one for audio. For audio Reaper is a wisest choice, and for video you can use Movie Maker, Virtual Dub, or Vegas Movie Studio (it's cheap and the best option of the bunch).


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eat-Sleep-andJam
post Feb 13 2009, 12:00 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.412
Joined: 23-February 07
From: New york
Member No.: 1.243



*Takes big breath*

Ok! I have a couple of questions.

Do you need to buy reaper after the trial is over or is it pretty much fully accessable regardless?

Are any of those video recording software free or do I have to pay for all of them ?

Thanks


--------------------
Join Me On the Lyrics Board !


"Find something worth dying for...



...And live for it"
-The Uncreator
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
post Feb 13 2009, 12:05 AM
Post #8


Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.980
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 3.338



Reaper will continue working, and movie maker is free (comes with windows!)


--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Ibanez RG2570MZ, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D

GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Share your playing and get Pro-advice from our Instructors: Join REC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eat-Sleep-andJam
post Feb 13 2009, 12:13 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.412
Joined: 23-February 07
From: New york
Member No.: 1.243



QUOTE (Fran @ Feb 12 2009, 03:05 PM) *
Reaper will continue working, and movie maker is free (comes with windows!)


Yes ! That made things alot easier.

So for Reaper, all you need is a USB connection and then you can record audio ?
Im having some problems with Reaper, Im such a noob to this laugh.gif

Edit: Im also having problems with finding/choosing an Audio Device for Reaper.

I have it hooked up through a Usb so I'm just not sure.

This post has been edited by Eat-Sleep-andJam: Feb 13 2009, 12:47 AM


--------------------
Join Me On the Lyrics Board !


"Find something worth dying for...



...And live for it"
-The Uncreator
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
post Feb 13 2009, 04:17 PM
Post #10


Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.980
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 3.338



You can actually use reaper through your sound card line in, but that usually gices lots of latency, and becomes unplayable.

The good thing of USB interfaces is that they use ASIO sound drivers, and that keeps the latency unnoticeable. If you just need to record guitar/bass the cheapest Toneport will do the trick nicely for 80$.



--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Ibanez RG2570MZ, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D

GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Share your playing and get Pro-advice from our Instructors: Join REC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Feb 13 2009, 07:00 PM
Post #11


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



QUOTE (Eat-Sleep-andJam @ Feb 13 2009, 12:13 AM) *
Yes ! That made things alot easier.

So for Reaper, all you need is a USB connection and then you can record audio ?
Im having some problems with Reaper, Im such a noob to this laugh.gif

Edit: Im also having problems with finding/choosing an Audio Device for Reaper.

I have it hooked up through a Usb so I'm just not sure.


No mate, you need an external audio interface that uses the USB as a connecting interface with your laptop. I suggest Toneport GX since it is cheap and will do the job nicely. It's basically an external sound card with software modeler (that comes free with it).


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eat-Sleep-andJam
post Feb 13 2009, 09:36 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.412
Joined: 23-February 07
From: New york
Member No.: 1.243



Ahh ok. I have some purchasing to do biggrin.gif
I will be back in a new topic when I get a Toneport.
Im just going to see if they have it at GuitarCenter.

Thanks alot for all of you help biggrin.gif


--------------------
Join Me On the Lyrics Board !


"Find something worth dying for...



...And live for it"
-The Uncreator
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jer
post Feb 13 2009, 10:03 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.889
Joined: 3-September 08
From: Des Moines IA USA
Member No.: 5.836



Before you buy a toneport.....

What are you using for an amp? (exact model)

Are you using anything else besides this amp and your guitar? (fx? modelers?)

Hey toneport users.

Do you have to use the modeling of the toneport?

Can that be bypassed altogether?

I havent used a toneport, will it send 2 separate signals to the PC at once? (each on their own channel?)



--------------------
My Gear

Jackson SL-1 USA Soloist
Jackson DK2M
ESP LTD MH-400
ESP LTD EC-1000
Ibanez Custom S-Series
Martin 001 Acoustic

Handmade Marshall JCM800 50watt head (with mods)
Carvin 50x2 Stereo Tube Amp
Boss GT-10 Preamp/Effects Processor
Digitech GSP-1101 Preamp/Effects Processor
Behringer FCB1010 Midi Controlled Floorboard
Behringer Dualfex EX2200
Behinger Stereo EQ
Line 6 POD with 2.3 upgrade
Line 6 Floor Board
Line 6 Spider III Practice Amp
Nady UHF Wireless


"Who will eat the decay, when the worms have lost their sight?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Feb 13 2009, 10:10 PM
Post #14


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



QUOTE (jer @ Feb 13 2009, 10:03 PM) *
Before you buy a toneport.....

What are you using for an amp? (exact model)

Are you using anything else besides this amp and your guitar? (fx? modelers?)

Hey toneport users.

Do you have to use the modeling of the toneport?

Can that be bypassed altogether?

I havent used a toneport, will it send 2 separate signals to the PC at once? (each on their own channel?)


You don't have to use modeling and you can bypass everything..That is how I record my bass sound , I go from my amps recording out to bypassed toneport and just use it for capturing..It works great.

Yes it will send 2 separate signals to PC (in their own separate channels)...Depending on toneport model different combinations are possible like Line 1 and Line 2 (inputs) , then Line 1 and Mic , Mic 1 Mic 2 , Instrument Mic...etc..


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jer
post Feb 13 2009, 10:42 PM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.889
Joined: 3-September 08
From: Des Moines IA USA
Member No.: 5.836



Very cool.

I have the Lexicon Alpha. Looks like the same thing.

Its $79 vs the Toneports $69 pricetag. The Alpha comes with Cubase LE. You cant get Cubase for $10 any other way I dont think.

The alpha doesnt have any modeling capability though. So if that would be used it may be the way to go.



--------------------
My Gear

Jackson SL-1 USA Soloist
Jackson DK2M
ESP LTD MH-400
ESP LTD EC-1000
Ibanez Custom S-Series
Martin 001 Acoustic

Handmade Marshall JCM800 50watt head (with mods)
Carvin 50x2 Stereo Tube Amp
Boss GT-10 Preamp/Effects Processor
Digitech GSP-1101 Preamp/Effects Processor
Behringer FCB1010 Midi Controlled Floorboard
Behringer Dualfex EX2200
Behinger Stereo EQ
Line 6 POD with 2.3 upgrade
Line 6 Floor Board
Line 6 Spider III Practice Amp
Nady UHF Wireless


"Who will eat the decay, when the worms have lost their sight?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Eat-Sleep-andJam
post Feb 13 2009, 11:09 PM
Post #16


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.412
Joined: 23-February 07
From: New york
Member No.: 1.243



@Jer, Link to my amp Here

The only other thing I could see that would help me record or at least I know has the ability to record ( I dont know how well.) is my Line 6 Pocket Pod.

Hope any of that helps.


--------------------
Join Me On the Lyrics Board !


"Find something worth dying for...



...And live for it"
-The Uncreator
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jer
post Feb 13 2009, 11:15 PM
Post #17


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.889
Joined: 3-September 08
From: Des Moines IA USA
Member No.: 5.836



the pocket pod wont record via usb so you still need an interface.

Personally, with all the sound options on that amp, AND the pocket pod, you should be set for tones.

Which in my opinion, renders the modeling ability of the toneport moot.

Its still a good device though, and $69 is pretty cheap.

If Reaper suits your needs (which it likely would) you wouldnt need any other DAW program.

The Lexicon Alpha at $79 would allow you to pick up Cubase LE and the Lexicon Pantheon reverb plugin real cheap though...

Really, I dont see how you can go wrong either way.

Get a toneport or a alpha. Plug either one into your laptop, install their drivers, tell Reaper or Cubase to use them for your audio interface and you should be off and running.



--------------------
My Gear

Jackson SL-1 USA Soloist
Jackson DK2M
ESP LTD MH-400
ESP LTD EC-1000
Ibanez Custom S-Series
Martin 001 Acoustic

Handmade Marshall JCM800 50watt head (with mods)
Carvin 50x2 Stereo Tube Amp
Boss GT-10 Preamp/Effects Processor
Digitech GSP-1101 Preamp/Effects Processor
Behringer FCB1010 Midi Controlled Floorboard
Behringer Dualfex EX2200
Behinger Stereo EQ
Line 6 POD with 2.3 upgrade
Line 6 Floor Board
Line 6 Spider III Practice Amp
Nady UHF Wireless


"Who will eat the decay, when the worms have lost their sight?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Feb 15 2009, 06:05 PM
Post #18


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



For a more simplified approach to recording I recommend Toneport since it has it's own modeler that is latency free and it's really plug&play. Regarding DAW, it is good to get Cubase LE, but Reaper will do the job just nicely for recording, and it is FREE, as opposed to the 10$ difference that you have to pay for the Cubase LE in the bundle. Also the POD Farm modeler that you get with Toneport is FREE as well.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
David Wallimann
post Feb 15 2009, 06:38 PM
Post #19


Instructor
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.565
Joined: 29-March 07
From: Fort Collins, CO
Member No.: 1.439



I would go USB as well.
What is you budget?


--------------------
www.youtube.com/Wallimann
www.davidwallimann.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th December 2017 - 07:26 AM