5 Pages V  « < 3 4 5  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Boogie Collaboration, results
Ajmurrell
post Mar 6 2009, 06:59 PM
Post #81


Learning Tone Master
*

Group: Members
Posts: 628
Joined: 15-August 08
From: London, UK
Member No.: 5.702



Maybe a memory issue? I don't know what it could be then... Emir will know, not only is he master of guitar, he is a master computing man too biggrin.gif
QUOTE (enforcer @ Mar 6 2009, 01:15 PM) *
I may say that is not a firefox issue, I got firefox and all the vids have sound... wink.gif



--------------------
GMC Travel Agent, at your service.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emir Hot
post Mar 7 2009, 07:29 AM
Post #82


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 7.201
Joined: 14-July 08
From: London UK
Member No.: 5.490



QUOTE (Paiva @ Mar 5 2009, 04:08 PM) *
Hey Emir thanks for the comments

This is not my style of playing or music so It was hard to me build something interesting but I'm looking forward to the next one smile.gif Learning a lot with these collabs biggrin.gif


Ok. It wasn't bad at all just some suggestions for improvement. The next one will be easier progression. Thanks for joining

QUOTE (Smells @ Mar 5 2009, 04:31 PM) *
hey Emir, thank you very much for your comments, the part you talked about made perfect sense, and your spot on, I shall certainly think a little more next time about continuing on with the major theme.
greatest thing about these comments is that things like this come up and I sat here and thought "omg! yea! I didnt think of that!" so its great biggrin.gif

Thanks very much for your time and efforts again, greatly appreciated, and look forward to your next one smile.gif

Edit: also only realised yesterday when rendering an mp3 that I didnt untick the "stereo" tab when I rendered those tracks, all recorded in mono, the failing was in the render, sorry about that, I will remember next time smile.gif


Thanks smile.gif Your take was really good. About the rendering, it happened to many others smile.gif Always check exported track. Import it again and see if it is mono. Thanks for joining this collab

QUOTE (ztevie @ Mar 5 2009, 04:35 PM) *
Thanks for the review Emir!
I was pretty happy with my take on this one, thought it was a decent one... I'm always too critical of my own playing, so I am rearly pleased with anything I do, but this was ok...
I didn't think of the notes at the arpeggio sounding wrong, but now when you mention it I'm aware of it. This is a well known issue that I have problems changing between scales in a solo. I usually kind of go with the flow and improvise some stuff within a given scale and take it from there, but I should be more careful and analyze the backing more and use some theory before improvising...
Thanks for your huge effort on this collaboration, well done!

Now I'm off to a recording studio to lay down an acoustic outro solo for a song me and a friend is recording. I recorded a few layers of guitars on 2 songs yesterday, and I have only this solo left, which I made this morning. On this one I actually use two different scales, haha! biggrin.gif
Was nervous as hell before we started last night, but with so much done in only a few hours yesterday, I feel confident this solo will be a piece of cake.
Tonight my singer friend will do his stuff, I feel for him, it's pretty tense sitting in a studio with a professional guy behind the controls, trying to get stuff right for hours in a stretch...

Thanks again!!


I liked your take. Some very cool lines in there. About the scales, the best rule is if you start with major scale then go for it until the end. All the chords are major chords so minor scales/arpeggios don't really fit there. Good luck on your recording smile.gif


QUOTE (Dexxter @ Mar 5 2009, 05:01 PM) *
Watched it again. I will look up my settings for the next time. And I wonder: Was my signal still too low, because I think I even normalised it myself. Also, where can I check the input signal? I have Cubase and Amplitube2 and my guitar goes through a soundboard into the soundcard. I can adjust the signal on the soundboard too, I put it so it doesn't go over 0 db when I make as much noise as possible. laugh.gif Maybe I should adjust it so it doesn't turn red when I play normally? tongue.gif
Watched Col Roberts video and MAN! That drill has to be annoying! laugh.gif
Thanks again for the comment smile.gif


The best thing to check that is if you import the exported track back into the project. There you will see whether the track is mono or stereo and how thick the graphical view is. There is a scale in db on every track. Make sure the signal is between -3 and -6 db. If your Amplitube 2 works in real time then you only see your clean (unprocessed) signal. When you export the track and import back into the project, there you will see the real signal (if the wave form picture is thick enough).

QUOTE (Rated Htr @ Mar 5 2009, 07:04 PM) *
Regarding my video response:
Yes, it was my fault about the two tracks, already said that laugh.gif
About my picking, actually, I used a really used pick cause I couldn't find my regular one, the point was to overused and I was afraid of missing the string if I actually hit with the agressive part, also the tone didn't contribute that much, but don't want this to serve as excuses laugh.gif

Thanks, Be back next month smile.gif


I felt sorry that I couldn't analyse more of your playing. I think you started good and I was expecting more of it in the 2nd part. About the picking, it really sounded like you picked 2 or 3 notes with only 10% of tension. You can sharpen your pick on the carpet smile.gif If you have never tried that you'll be surprised. Just swipe your pick hard a couple times on the carpet and it will be sharp like a knife smile.gif

QUOTE (strat @ Mar 5 2009, 07:26 PM) *
Hi Emir,

thanks for your comment! When I sent you my tracks I was absolutly sure that they were mono..now I 've found the option for mono tracks in Samplitude - huh.gif

The more I think about the collab and your comment the more I notice that I have not only technical lacks but also big ones in theorie and at the moment I don't really know where to start. For instance I am just reasonably familiar with some scales, but I never concentrated on modes before. But I'm also angry about the fact, that I have problems to play in a confident way just as the weak vibratos although I'm working on these lacks. When you do the reviews first it seems easy to fix the issues - until I try to realize your tips.
But I don't give up, we will see us in your next collab. smile.gif

cheers Strat


Good that you sorted mono/stereo thing. About the scales this would be a good start. A scale has 7 notes. Now take the chord, for example A7. A7 has 4 notes (1, 3, 5, b7 or A, C#, E, G). If you play only those 4 notes you're more than a half way there, only 3 notes missing smile.gif With those 4 notes you will never have a wrong note over A7 chord. Now if you add 2nd, 4th, and 6th you end up with a mixolydian scale which is the right scale over A7 chord. But with the chord notes only you will never be wrong. I hope that helps for a start.

QUOTE (Marc_Maiden @ Mar 6 2009, 01:00 AM) *
thanks for your comments emir!

sorry about the buzz! the place i had my amp made it buzz, and i couldnt get it to stop until i moved my amp back into my recording studio area

now i get no buzz!

and ill be sure to work on those legatos!


Good man, your take was very cool. And yes, at one point it sounded like you were almost losing your legato pattern smile.gif Strong pull offs and a good distortion will help you for that. Rely more on the pull offs then on the sound but both are important though. Thanks for joning.

QUOTE (Kristofer Dahl @ Mar 6 2009, 11:07 AM) *
Fantastic work Emir - it is very inspiring to watch your video comments. Well done everyobdy!


Thank you Kristofer smile.gif

QUOTE (enforcer @ Mar 6 2009, 11:45 AM) *
Yeah man, I heard that too! That noise is totally insupportable! I understand what you fell about that, because once they restored an old building next to my appartement, and I walked on a thin line between sanity and being a psyco serial killer after having waken up by drilling and metal slicing sounds! laugh.gif


It was really bad here. The guy was doing it non-stop for 3 days. I repeated 10 videos because of that. Half way through the recording he starts drilling and I go crazy smile.gif I left it on purpose on the Col Roberts video so you understand why I was late with the comments. Sorry about that

QUOTE (Col Roberts @ Mar 6 2009, 12:23 PM) *
Thanks for all your hard work on another great collab, Emir. I hope your next one is trouble-free! Thanks for your comments and advice ... I can't believe I played a minor third over a dominant 7 chord, which you warned us against in your intro video. Next time I will check all the notes in each lick against the chords ... yes, I will try a more professional approach. Well done to all the other participants.


Thanks Col smile.gif The minor 3rd thing happened to many others smile.gif Check the chord before you go for a scale and you'll be fine. Thanks for playing on the collab.

This post has been edited by Emir Hot: Mar 7 2009, 07:45 AM


--------------------
Check out my <a href="https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Emir-Hot" target="_blank">Instructor profile</a>

www.emirhot.com
www.myspace.com/emirhotguitar
www.myspace.com/sevdahmetal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Col Roberts
post Mar 7 2009, 10:36 AM
Post #83


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 287
Joined: 2-March 08
From: Australia
Member No.: 4.429



QUOTE (chast @ Mar 6 2009, 11:51 PM) *
Hey,

Somehow I don't have any sound if I try to watch the embeded videos here on the forum (only in this thread) huh.gif
Can you give me the link to the youtube account you uploaded the videos on ?

Thanks


Do you use Firefox as your browser? I had the same problem using Firefox ... I updated the Adobe Flash Player to the latest release and the problem is fixed. Also, version 3.0 of Firefox has a bug causing high cpu usage (which caused my PC to run VERY slowly) ... I have just updated to 3.1 beta which is supposed to fix that problem. Time will tell.

This post has been edited by Col Roberts: Mar 7 2009, 10:43 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
enforcer
post Mar 7 2009, 11:25 AM
Post #84


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 1.202
Joined: 23-September 08
From: Istanbul
Member No.: 5.945



QUOTE (Col Roberts @ Mar 7 2009, 11:36 AM) *
Do you use Firefox as your browser? I had the same problem using Firefox ... I updated the Adobe Flash Player to the latest release and the problem is fixed. Also, version 3.0 of Firefox has a bug causing high cpu usage (which caused my PC to run VERY slowly) ... I have just updated to 3.1 beta which is supposed to fix that problem. Time will tell.


Adam, you see, it WAS a firefox issue after all!!! laugh.gif
Man I cant believe how can I always manage to be WRONG about some issues that I am sure that I am correct biggrin.gif

Thanks Col wink.gif


--------------------


incoming spoiler read it at your own risk!


Spoiler:


Vigier G.V Wood HH
American Stratocaster Maple Standart with X2N bridge pickups
Samwick Artist custom modified Baswood Lespaul with S.Duncan JB and N56 pickups
Self made Fretless Strat type made of Rosewood/Maple with self wound Neck and Ibanez V8 Bridge Pickups
Floor Pod 2.0 Amp Simulation System
Pod Xt Pro Rack Amp Simulation System
Digitech TSR 12 Rack Effect and Studio Reverb
Behringer Composer Rack Compressor Expander
Morley Bad Horsie Wah Pedal
Behringer FB1010 Floor Board



it, surely, spoiled me!!!


and may the force be with you :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dexxter
post Mar 12 2009, 07:01 PM
Post #85


Learning Tone Guru
*

Group: Members
Posts: 645
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Sweden
Member No.: 2.196



QUOTE (Emir Hot @ Mar 7 2009, 07:29 AM) *
The best thing to check that is if you import the exported track back into the project. There you will see whether the track is mono or stereo and how thick the graphical view is. There is a scale in db on every track. Make sure the signal is between -3 and -6 db. If your Amplitube 2 works in real time then you only see your clean (unprocessed) signal. When you export the track and import back into the project, there you will see the real signal (if the wave form picture is thick enough).


Alright, thanks smile.gif Will do it like that before I upload my take
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

5 Pages V  « < 3 4 5
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th January 2017 - 10:57 PM