Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Shure Pg58
Marc_Maiden
post Mar 5 2009, 03:43 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



hey guys, i picked up one of these to record my guitar amp,

however i realized that this one is the vocal version....ok so i decided to try it anyways...

a i get very big hum when i record with it...what could this be from, it isnt my amp i know that much because even far away from my amp i get it


also, is there really a huge difference in the 57 and 58, or should i return the 58 and get the 57


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tjchep
post Mar 5 2009, 03:44 AM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.084
Joined: 16-October 07
From: United States, CT
Member No.: 3.062



QUOTE (Marc_Maiden @ Mar 5 2009, 03:43 AM) *
hey guys, i picked up one of these to record my guitar amp,

however i realized that this one is the vocal version....ok so i decided to try it anyways...

a i get very big hum when i record with it...what could this be from, it isnt my amp i know that much because even far away from my amp i get it


also, is there really a huge difference in the 57 and 58, or should i return the 58 and get the 57


If youre recording at a higherish volume.. defiantly go and swap to a 57, it wont crap out as much on you smile.gif


--------------------
Check out my playing here - https://www.youtube.com/user/tjchep
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Mar 5 2009, 03:47 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



im recording at low volumes...

its just that humming!!


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sircraigery
post Mar 5 2009, 03:50 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 673
Joined: 12-May 07
Member No.: 1.835



QUOTE (Marc_Maiden @ Mar 5 2009, 03:47 AM) *
im recording at low volumes...

its just that humming!!


I don't know too much about record, but does your program have a noise gate you can use. That won't help if you notice the hum while playing unfortunately.

This post has been edited by Sircraigery: Mar 5 2009, 03:52 AM


--------------------
Guitars:
Ibanez Prestige RG2610E [BKP Cold Sweat]
Ibanez Prestige RG2550E [Carbon Fiber Plastics]
Ibanez Roadstar II RS-135 [Stock]
Quest Acoustic [Stock]

Effects:
Electro-Harmonix Metal Muff
Ibanez Weeping Demon Wah
Boss DR-3 Dr. Rhythym

Amp:
Marshall JCM2000 DSL 401

'Only the dead have seen the end of the war.' - Plato
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tjchep
post Mar 5 2009, 03:52 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.084
Joined: 16-October 07
From: United States, CT
Member No.: 3.062



QUOTE (Marc_Maiden @ Mar 5 2009, 03:47 AM) *
im recording at low volumes...

its just that humming!!


You're using a Toneport correct?

Try turning down the input gain down until it goes away


--------------------
Check out my playing here - https://www.youtube.com/user/tjchep
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sircraigery
post Mar 5 2009, 03:56 AM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 673
Joined: 12-May 07
Member No.: 1.835



If just bedroom practice your recording, try a Blue Snowball. It's has a USB plug and sounds very good. Only I wish it had a biger attenuator, it's only -20 dB


--------------------
Guitars:
Ibanez Prestige RG2610E [BKP Cold Sweat]
Ibanez Prestige RG2550E [Carbon Fiber Plastics]
Ibanez Roadstar II RS-135 [Stock]
Quest Acoustic [Stock]

Effects:
Electro-Harmonix Metal Muff
Ibanez Weeping Demon Wah
Boss DR-3 Dr. Rhythym

Amp:
Marshall JCM2000 DSL 401

'Only the dead have seen the end of the war.' - Plato
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Mar 5 2009, 04:01 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



its all good guys, im actually going to go exchange it...


i know now what TJ meant when he said the mic will crap out on me..


it cant handle the amps frequencies i get a lot of "scratches" and other unwanted sounds from some of the frequencies being too high..(even if i move the mic around)

its all good ill just go exchange it, thank for your help guys!


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Mar 5 2009, 04:39 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



but if anyone has any insight as to how to maybe make it work well (like take out the hum) and make it sound good,


id appreciate it ...


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Mar 5 2009, 05:48 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



never mind guys! my problem magically stopped...weird


anyways it sounds good...the only problem is that even with a mic boost on, the capture volume isnt that loud..


i am using a toneport, but i am not using any toneport software IE gearbox because i do not want to color my sound


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Mar 5 2009, 07:27 PM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



There's a volume pot on the top of the Toneport, use that to trim the volume. In gearbox bypass all the settings, and use the volume pot to trim the volume that Toneport is feeding into DAW. Also, in DAW, trim the volume pot on the input channel strip, so you have optimal sound. In addition to that make a good sound on the amp, so you have some dynamics - as loud as possible smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
enforcer
post Mar 5 2009, 07:41 PM
Post #11


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 1.202
Joined: 23-September 08
From: Istanbul
Member No.: 5.945



Man, I am really sorry to inform you that Shure Pg series are really crappy, I had to use one for about 5 years and that was pure, genuine torture. I suggest you to change it. Really anything will do biggrin.gif

In a few months you'll start to notice some distortion on your records due to peaks, and when you lower just a little your volume or get the mic one inch farther, you'll see that you loose all the mids and warmth. And I was really sick of those bass frequency feedbacks.

Hope this helps biggrin.gif


--------------------


incoming spoiler read it at your own risk!


Spoiler:


Vigier G.V Wood HH
American Stratocaster Maple Standart with X2N bridge pickups
Samwick Artist custom modified Baswood Lespaul with S.Duncan JB and N56 pickups
Self made Fretless Strat type made of Rosewood/Maple with self wound Neck and Ibanez V8 Bridge Pickups
Floor Pod 2.0 Amp Simulation System
Pod Xt Pro Rack Amp Simulation System
Digitech TSR 12 Rack Effect and Studio Reverb
Behringer Composer Rack Compressor Expander
Morley Bad Horsie Wah Pedal
Behringer FB1010 Floor Board



it, surely, spoiled me!!!


and may the force be with you :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Mar 5 2009, 11:29 PM
Post #12


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



I would suggest getting it exchanged for SM57...57 is the proper mic for recording guitars and will much better do the job...


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Mar 6 2009, 12:34 AM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



QUOTE (Bogdan Radovic @ Mar 5 2009, 02:29 PM) *
I would suggest getting it exchanged for SM57...57 is the proper mic for recording guitars and will much better do the job...


i was told that the SM57 is better for recording live preformances,

I will for sure invest in an SM57 in the future, but for now, my pocket book limits me to this one,


and i found the right spot for my amp, so i get a decent sound...for now smile.gif

i understand its a "cheapy" mic, but a mic is better than no mic for now!


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th May 2017 - 03:37 AM