Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Is It Possible To Put This Fixed Bridge In An Ibanez With A Edge Trem?
Praetorian
post Mar 17 2009, 02:57 PM
Post #1


Learning Apprentice Player & Challenge Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.994
Joined: 10-March 08
From: Albany NY USA
Member No.: 4.521



I never use my trem, and it is a huge pain in the butt for me. Would this replacement work? Or is the body too different to accomodate the Edge trem? I guess I could always do the wooden block thing...but this seems like a better option.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...3DLVI%26ps%3D54

This post has been edited by Praetorian: Mar 17 2009, 03:01 PM


--------------------
Ben
___________________________________________
"PLAY YOUR DAMN GUITAR!!"
- Kirk Hammett

Fender American Standard Stratocaster
Ibanez RG4EXQM1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Mar 17 2009, 03:00 PM
Post #2


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



I must be missing something, there's no link or anything?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Praetorian
post Mar 17 2009, 03:01 PM
Post #3


Learning Apprentice Player & Challenge Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.994
Joined: 10-March 08
From: Albany NY USA
Member No.: 4.521



Oops! Fixed it!!


--------------------
Ben
___________________________________________
"PLAY YOUR DAMN GUITAR!!"
- Kirk Hammett

Fender American Standard Stratocaster
Ibanez RG4EXQM1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Mar 17 2009, 03:19 PM
Post #4


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



Thanks!

My quick unqualified reply is No. I didn't check my own Ibanez but if I remember well the Edge would leave a cavity the fixed tremolo would then sit in.

But it would be possible to fill the cavity. When I once routed in one of my guitars I overdid it and took out ablut 2mm too much in the corner where a humbucker should sit. So there was nowhere to fit the screw for the pu ring.
I added padding, "Plastic padding", which is harder than wood. And I was able to fit the screw into that.

Like this (two component)


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
post Mar 17 2009, 03:32 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Member No.: 3.387



I would go for a wooden block under the edge rather smile.gif

If you want to change from edge to bridge it will require a lot of work, and money..

I would do it in three steps:
1. The cavity for edge has to be filled with a wooden block and glued with titebond glue, hopefuly the same kind of wood as the body was made. It has to be very firm connection since there is a lot of tension in that part of the body.
2. To install the bridge taking care on the height of the bridge since it is not adjustable one.
3. Since the newly inserted and glued wooden part in cavity will be wider than the new bridge the guitar, guitar would have to be sanded and finished again (this can be skipped if you don't mind how it looks)



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Mar 17 2009, 03:37 PM
Post #6


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



Btw there's a tremol-no that first the Edge if I don't remember wrong.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Mar 17 2009, 03:56 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



no it wont


there are a million and one ways to block your trem so that it becomes a fixed bridge...this works better than a fixed system itself because its double locking still


for the last tem i blocked, i didnt have the time or the resources to do a professional job, so i just used legos to block the trem


using 2x4's for the more open side of the route, and 1x2's for the shorter side smile.gif


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Praetorian
post Mar 17 2009, 04:07 PM
Post #8


Learning Apprentice Player & Challenge Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.994
Joined: 10-March 08
From: Albany NY USA
Member No.: 4.521



Thanks guys!


--------------------
Ben
___________________________________________
"PLAY YOUR DAMN GUITAR!!"
- Kirk Hammett

Fender American Standard Stratocaster
Ibanez RG4EXQM1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 06:31 AM