Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pre Amp
mba64
post Mar 19 2009, 02:06 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 176
Joined: 6-November 08
From: Sweden
Member No.: 6.199



Hi I was thinking of using a footpedal as a preamp to my soundcard a marshall Guv`nor stomp and use it to get a HiZ input to mysoundcard 2496 that dont have a Hiz input for guitar can you do that.


--------------------
LTD WA-600 (EMG JH)
Cort Bass
M-Audio AV40
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Mar 19 2009, 02:17 PM
Post #2


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



It would depend on the output impedance of the pedal - if it can get the guitar signal to the appropriate level then I don't see why not. Check the specs for the pedal to be sure. One thing though is that the guitar signal would not be a dry one in to the soundcard but guitar plus any colouration from the pedal.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Mar 20 2009, 12:51 AM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



On Marshall site it says that output impendance is <1kOhms, which is pretty high and needs HI-Z input on the card as well.
Best and cheapest way to overcome this problem is to get a good&cheap DBox unit or mic preamp unit with instrument line in.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mba64
post Mar 20 2009, 01:26 AM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 176
Joined: 6-November 08
From: Sweden
Member No.: 6.199



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Mar 20 2009, 12:51 AM) *
On Marshall site it says that output impendance is <1kOhms, which is pretty high and needs HI-Z input on the card as well.
Best and cheapest way to overcome this problem is to get a good&cheap DBox unit or mic preamp unit with instrument line in.

Thanks guys I think I will get a Preamp or a dibox,it is the best way.


--------------------
LTD WA-600 (EMG JH)
Cort Bass
M-Audio AV40
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th July 2017 - 09:40 PM