2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording My Marshall Jvm, Need some advice
Roadside
post Mar 26 2009, 04:43 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 412
Joined: 10-August 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 5.682



Hey,

I´m pretty sure there was a thread about recording a head with a cab, but I just couldn´t manage to find one. Imho the search function in forums is just bad. But back to the topic.

I need some kind of a mic to record my amp without cranking the 280 W too much. And it would be nice to be able to record vocals with the same equipment. Would be nice, if someone could tell me a bit about everything I need to know when it comes to recording such a big amp. The budget is pretty much open, because it will be payed by the band, but it shouldn´t be more than 300 bugs. Some suggestions? smile.gif

Thanks in advance
cheers cool.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Mar 26 2009, 05:15 PM
Post #2


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



A Shure SM57 is great for recording amps. It's "directed" straight forward and doesn't pick up sounds from the side.
You also need a small mike stand.

The mike should be close or up against the cloth. "Room" (reverb) can be added afterwards.

Quite a bit of volume or the signal will be way too weak. A guestimation here... like 2-3 watts is enough for recording.

Bring in a good portion of the signal into the recording equipmement. You can always lower it some dB afterwards but raising a weak signal won't be that good.

You can record vocals with a SM57 and you can record your amp with an SM58, but the SM58 is really better for vocals and vice verca.

There IS a teriffic video on the subjects posted somewhere here. Someone might remember where.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Roadside
post Mar 26 2009, 05:33 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 412
Joined: 10-August 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 5.682



And what about the software if I may ask ? smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matt23
post Mar 26 2009, 05:33 PM
Post #4


Accomplished Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.745
Joined: 17-January 08
From: Scotland
Member No.: 3.866



QUOTE (Roadside @ Mar 26 2009, 04:33 PM) *
And what about the software if I may ask ? smile.gif


You should be able to use a program like Reaper, Cubase etc.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Mar 26 2009, 06:11 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



If you want to record the sound of your amp you will need:

1. Microphone (SM57 is industry standard, and it can be used for vocals as well)
2. Audio Interface with mic preamp (any will do, what you pay is what you get)
3. Acoustic treatment around the amp (if your room has some flutter echo/reverberations, try dampening them with some blankets on the walls, or over the amp, so you get as dry signal as possible)
4. (optionally) Amp Attenuator (so you can lower down the volume of your speaker but crank the amp for the best sound)


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Roadside
post Mar 28 2009, 01:13 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 412
Joined: 10-August 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 5.682



Thanks a lot Ivan! Couldn´t response, because my computer just didnt boot for two days sad.gif two long days without gmc, grr tongue.gif

I will look for these things and read myself a bit more into the topic.

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Mar 28 2009, 09:41 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



No prob mate, we are here to help if you have any more questions about this topic.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Mar 29 2009, 01:18 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



yep....ivan said it all....i went for shures cheapest mic (the PG series) and those do quite nicely....they are less than half the price of the sm57s but like ivan said, what you pay is what you get....

and an fyi,

all shure products come with a manual to show you the best ways to mic up your amp to get different sounds smile.gif




and btw i just wrote this message in the shower....i love these new netbooks hahah


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Mar 29 2009, 01:29 AM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



QUOTE (Marc_Maiden @ Mar 29 2009, 01:18 AM) *
yep....ivan said it all....i went for shures cheapest mic (the PG series) and those do quite nicely....they are less than half the price of the sm57s but like ivan said, what you pay is what you get....

and an fyi,

all shure products come with a manual to show you the best ways to mic up your amp to get different sounds smile.gif




and btw i just wrote this message in the shower....i love these new netbooks hahah


laugh.gif



PS I agree with Marc, PG series is a very good solution as well - it does the job nicely.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Roadside
post Mar 29 2009, 05:10 AM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 412
Joined: 10-August 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 5.682



I fear more about the other equip I need, the mic isnt the problem. I just dont know how to install als this stuff, if I would buy it sad.gif

Currently listening to Kris´ Rammstein song, just wanted to tell you that it is so much fun to watch biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Mar 29 2009, 12:28 PM
Post #11


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



What exactly do you use currently from gear?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Axamentia666
post Mar 29 2009, 12:59 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Manchester, England
Member No.: 6.974



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Mar 29 2009, 11:28 AM) *
What exactly do you use currently from gear?


PG's do a pretty steady job, for the dynamics, a good condenser will sound so fuller (your talking £100+ for one), but if budget is a problem a good technique to get a full sound with eithier the PG or SM's is to get a vocal & instrument mic and open the head of the vocal, and close mic both to a DAW double track!! mind you to use any mic you really need a preamp with +48v/phantom power!!


--------------------
I spoke therefore i twang..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Roadside
post Mar 29 2009, 02:48 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 412
Joined: 10-August 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 5.682



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Mar 29 2009, 12:28 PM) *
What exactly do you use currently from gear?


You mean for recording? I got nothing to record. Just using my amp, my les paul and a wah smile.gif . And I´ve got a pretty decent computer.

So I´d probably need all the equip you mentioned. mad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Axamentia666
post Mar 29 2009, 02:56 PM
Post #14


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Manchester, England
Member No.: 6.974



QUOTE (Roadside @ Mar 29 2009, 01:48 PM) *
You mean for recording? I got nothing to record. Just using my amp, my les paul and a wah smile.gif . And I´ve got a pretty decent computer.

So I´d probably need all the equip you mentioned. mad.gif


For getting sound into pc youll need a decent soundcard, avoid using on board audio cos they sound rubbish and are not designed for Hi-z instruments!!

If your just wanting to record a guitar and vox line 6 toneports are worth a look, thier about £50-£100 and are designed for the purpose you can even DI into them.

Otherwise look at m-audio gear as thats pretty much round the same price range, though youll probably need a preamp for the mics.

all run on usb, try and get a USB 2.0 device at least, or if your really splashing out get a firewire device!!


--------------------
I spoke therefore i twang..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Roadside
post Mar 29 2009, 03:36 PM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 412
Joined: 10-August 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 5.682



Aren´t toneports, exactly as a POD XT, used to record directly through your computer? I want to record my amp after all!

Edit: Did you mean to use a Shure 57 and the toneport? Like pluggin´ the mic into the toneport and then record the amp!?

This post has been edited by Roadside: Mar 29 2009, 03:37 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Axamentia666
post Mar 29 2009, 04:17 PM
Post #16


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Manchester, England
Member No.: 6.974



QUOTE (Roadside @ Mar 29 2009, 03:36 PM) *
Aren´t toneports, exactly as a POD XT, used to record directly through your computer? I want to record my amp after all!

Edit: Did you mean to use a Shure 57 and the toneport? Like pluggin´ the mic into the toneport and then record the amp!?


yeah mate, there are mic preamps on the UX2 i think, that would be a cheap way of miccing an amp and get a decent clean signal level



--------------------
I spoke therefore i twang..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JVM
post Mar 29 2009, 04:20 PM
Post #17


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.878
Joined: 2-June 07
From: Raleigh-Durham, NC
Member No.: 1.984



You could do that, but you'd have to make sure the interface (toneport) has a mic input. Another option is to get a mic and a field recorder, which is what I'm doing. A field recorder is basically a handheld device which has built-in mics to capture high quality audio in a mobile fashion. Many of them now include a microphone input so you could put in a good mic like an Sm57 and record with that for super high quality. Most are USB and hook up to the computer. There's all kinds out there, check out Tascam and Zoom for some really nice ones.


--------------------
Gear: Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, Mesa Boogie F-30 112 combo, crazy pedals.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Roadside
post Mar 29 2009, 05:25 PM
Post #18


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 412
Joined: 10-August 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 5.682



IS a decent soundcard needed, if I go the toneport or the field recorder way?

And would the toneport come with a decent software to record?

This post has been edited by Roadside: Mar 29 2009, 05:26 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Axamentia666
post Mar 29 2009, 05:39 PM
Post #19


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 26-March 09
From: Manchester, England
Member No.: 6.974



QUOTE (Roadside @ Mar 29 2009, 05:25 PM) *
IS a decent soundcard needed, if I go the toneport or the field recorder way?

And would the toneport come with a decent software to record?


I would reccomend a decent soundcard, the onboard mic input on pc's is absoutely rubbish for recording, it will come out distorted and garbled!!

Plus for mics you need phantom power, toneport is the easiest way to do it or podstudio is the newer version

toneport would be a reasonable priced option:-
http://line6.com/podstudioux1/index.html

it comes with line 6's recording software, plus you get modellers for those di momments

Otherwise you could get something like an m-audio card that ususally comes with recording software, but youd need something with a mic preamp again!


--------------------
I spoke therefore i twang..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sircraigery
post Mar 29 2009, 05:51 PM
Post #20


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 673
Joined: 12-May 07
Member No.: 1.835



QUOTE (Marc_Maiden @ Mar 29 2009, 01:18 AM) *
and btw i just wrote this message in the shower....i love these new netbooks hahah


Shouldn't you be looking porn to crank one off, instead of GMC? ...I would be. biggrin.gif


--------------------
Guitars:
Ibanez Prestige RG2610E [BKP Cold Sweat]
Ibanez Prestige RG2550E [Carbon Fiber Plastics]
Ibanez Roadstar II RS-135 [Stock]
Quest Acoustic [Stock]

Effects:
Electro-Harmonix Metal Muff
Ibanez Weeping Demon Wah
Boss DR-3 Dr. Rhythym

Amp:
Marshall JCM2000 DSL 401

'Only the dead have seen the end of the war.' - Plato
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th May 2017 - 01:30 PM