Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording Sound With My Web Cam
vampire18
post Mar 30 2009, 07:06 PM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 502
Joined: 6-February 09
From: israel
Member No.: 6.741



im trying to record a lesson with my web cam and its one of lians lessons so its very heavy and low with lots of distortion. when i play it through my amp it sounds great but when i listen to the recording it sounds like very bad. i dont know exactly how describe it but undefined and very boomy.

any idea why and what can i do?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Frederik
post Mar 30 2009, 07:07 PM
Post #2


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 616
Joined: 30-January 09
From: Aalborg, Denmark
Member No.: 6.696



im interested in the replies sinc eim gonna record with webcam too. what cam are u using?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vampire18
post Mar 30 2009, 07:09 PM
Post #3


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 502
Joined: 6-February 09
From: israel
Member No.: 6.741



a very lousy one. i dont even know what brand.
could be because of that i dont know but i was wondering if anyone else has this thing going on

This post has been edited by vampire18: Mar 30 2009, 07:09 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Mar 30 2009, 07:36 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Are you recording the sound from the webcam's microphone? If so, the sound will definitely be very bad in quality. Do you have any recording interface, other microphones etc?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vampire18
post Mar 30 2009, 08:47 PM
Post #5


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 502
Joined: 6-February 09
From: israel
Member No.: 6.741



nope. god i wish i had a pod.
if i buy a more expensive cam would it be able to pick up the heavier sounds?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
29a
post Mar 30 2009, 09:54 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 356
Joined: 28-December 08
Member No.: 6.464



QUOTE (vampire18 @ Mar 30 2009, 09:47 PM) *
nope. god i wish i had a pod.
if i buy a more expensive cam would it be able to pick up the heavier sounds?
Probably. But it's not the way to go. An expensive cam is going to cost you more than a pod and a mic setup together! And it will not sound better than the mic. Unless you've got a good amp it won't sound better than a pod either!

Buying a line6 toneport is probably the cheapest way to make decent recordings!

Jonas


--------------------
My Website | My Gear | Elixir Nanoweb Strings Review | Installing Schaller Security Locks
"If privacy is outlawed, only outlaws will have privacy." - Phil Zimmermann
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Mar 30 2009, 10:00 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



QUOTE (vampire18 @ Mar 30 2009, 08:47 PM) *
nope. god i wish i had a pod.
if i buy a more expensive cam would it be able to pick up the heavier sounds?


I agree with 29a, buying expensive cam is not a good option for increasing sound quality. If you are satisfied with your video quality for now, it is better to invest in some audio gear. I think getting a Line 6 Toneport GX/POD Studio GX would solve most (if not all) your issues.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Farmer Joe
post Mar 31 2009, 02:16 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 243
Joined: 24-February 09
From: New York, USA
Member No.: 6.835



If you don't have the funds to go buy a recording interface right now, but have an amp, you can try buying a 1/4" to 1/8" adapter for the cable that goes out from your amp so that you can plug it into your stock computer soundcard. Then you can set your audio input to be from your soundcard and not from your webcam mic. I haven't tried this myself, so I can't comment on the sound quality, but it should work in theory, I guess. Then you can upgrade to a recording interface when you can. An adapter like that should only cost a few bucks, so it may be worth a try, just to see if the sound quality will help you get by for now.

This post has been edited by Farmer Joe: Mar 31 2009, 02:17 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vampire18
post Mar 31 2009, 05:17 AM
Post #9


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 502
Joined: 6-February 09
From: israel
Member No.: 6.741



can i record with a pod xt?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
29a
post Mar 31 2009, 09:02 AM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 356
Joined: 28-December 08
Member No.: 6.464



QUOTE (vampire18 @ Mar 31 2009, 06:17 AM) *
can i record with a pod xt?
Yes, as far is I know this is what Lian does.
can i record with a pod xt?

Farmer Joe, if you use the speaker output of the amp you'll probably damage your amp or your soundcard/computer.


--------------------
My Website | My Gear | Elixir Nanoweb Strings Review | Installing Schaller Security Locks
"If privacy is outlawed, only outlaws will have privacy." - Phil Zimmermann
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Mar 31 2009, 01:19 PM
Post #11


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.611
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



QUOTE (vampire18 @ Mar 31 2009, 05:17 AM) *
can i record with a pod xt?


Pod xt is a sound interface! Connect it via USB and you will be able to record directly with good sound quality! I would suggest connecting POD this way and setting your recording software to use POD as its recording device and recording something...You need to learn how to record well the audio portion.After you do that its easy to incorporate video too.


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
post Mar 31 2009, 01:48 PM
Post #12


Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.809
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 3.338



Using the pod you can record video with the webcam & audio at the same time using reaper, then you can mix it all using windows movie maker.


--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Ibanez RG2570MZ, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D

GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Share your playing and get Pro-advice from our Instructors: Join REC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
shrednbuttah
post Apr 6 2009, 11:24 PM
Post #13


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 25-February 09
From: Estero, Florida
Member No.: 6.838



I just got a Pod studio gx, and a logitec quickcam 9000.. is using a mixer like reaper the only way I can record audio and video at the same time? don't really want to pay for it if i dont have to


--------------------
"The object of my work is to raise it above my standard"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Apr 6 2009, 11:33 PM
Post #14


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.240
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



QUOTE (shrednbuttah @ Apr 7 2009, 12:24 AM) *
I just got a Pod studio gx, and a logitec quickcam 9000.. is using a mixer like reaper the only way I can record audio and video at the same time? don't really want to pay for it if i dont have to


There's a program called Quick Cam with Logitech. You should have it on a CD along with your webcam. If you install that you can change your audio input in that from Logitech Mic to your soundcard, I believe. Then when you press record video it records from your soundcard/Pod as well

This post has been edited by Caelumamittendum: Apr 6 2009, 11:33 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
shrednbuttah
post Apr 6 2009, 11:48 PM
Post #15


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 25-February 09
From: Estero, Florida
Member No.: 6.838



QUOTE (Caelumamittendum @ Apr 6 2009, 06:33 PM) *
There's a program called Quick Cam with Logitech. You should have it on a CD along with your webcam. If you install that you can change your audio input in that from Logitech Mic to your soundcard, I believe. Then when you press record video it records from your soundcard/Pod as well


Under audio settings I have the ability to change my microphone from the logitec mic to my soundcard or to Line 6 Gx. Only the webcam mic has been able to record audio.


--------------------
"The object of my work is to raise it above my standard"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Apr 6 2009, 11:56 PM
Post #16


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.240
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



QUOTE (shrednbuttah @ Apr 7 2009, 12:48 AM) *
Under audio settings I have the ability to change my microphone from the logitec mic to my soundcard or to Line 6 Gx. Only the webcam mic has been able to record audio.


When you say "Only the webcam mic has been able to record audio", do you then mean that nothing else picks up your guitar sound or do you mean all audio (guitar lead + backing track/whatever?)


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Apr 7 2009, 12:02 AM
Post #17


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



QUOTE (shrednbuttah @ Apr 7 2009, 12:24 AM) *
I just got a Pod studio gx, and a logitec quickcam 9000.. is using a mixer like reaper the only way I can record audio and video at the same time? don't really want to pay for it if i dont have to


Reaper is free software for producing audio. I think you will achieve the best results if you do these 2 things at the same time

1. record video from webcam (using webcam app or other video capturing software)
2. record audio from GX (using reaper)

Then you can use some software like movie maker or virtual dub (if you have 50$ I recommend that you get Sony Vegas Movie Studio it is far better option), to sync the good audio from reaper with the video from webcam.


Let me know if you have more questions.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
shrednbuttah
post Apr 7 2009, 12:05 AM
Post #18


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 25-February 09
From: Estero, Florida
Member No.: 6.838



QUOTE (Caelumamittendum @ Apr 6 2009, 06:56 PM) *
When you say "Only the webcam mic has been able to record audio", do you then mean that nothing else picks up your guitar sound or do you mean all audio (guitar lead + backing track/whatever?)


just the cam mic has been able to pick up my unamplified guitar sound. i have the pod working through my headphones and am still figuring it out slowly... but when i go to record a video on quickcam with the audio selected as line 6 or my soundcard.. its just a silent film


--------------------
"The object of my work is to raise it above my standard"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Caelumamittendum
post Apr 7 2009, 12:07 AM
Post #19


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.240
Joined: 14-June 08
From: Copenhagen, Denmark
Member No.: 5.298



QUOTE (shrednbuttah @ Apr 7 2009, 01:05 AM) *
just the cam mic has been able to pick up my unamplified guitar sound. i have the pod working through my headphones and am still figuring it out slowly... but when i go to record a video on quickcam with the audio selected as line 6 or my soundcard.. its just a silent film


That's weird. I'm not really familiar with the POD, so I don't know how it works. Can you record in other programs? As Ivan said though, best result is recording seperately (I don't do this, by the way laugh.gif )


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
shrednbuttah
post Apr 7 2009, 12:47 AM
Post #20


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 25-February 09
From: Estero, Florida
Member No.: 6.838



Hmm well I got reaper and have been trying to figure it out... when recording in reaper my mic masks out the extremely faint guitar noise. Is there a way to crank it up and cancel out my mic so reaper is only recording my guitar? I have my pod turned to max volume, and the pod software volume knob in the top right turned to max.


--------------------
"The object of my work is to raise it above my standard"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 4th December 2016 - 01:14 PM