Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Effects Loop Woes
Marc_Maiden
post Apr 2 2009, 04:40 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



hey guys, so i started to add to my pedal board! (yay) not much, but i bought myself a boss rev/delay pedal and a chorus (pretty much the only effects i ever use!

(btw im running a mesa mark I)
now here are some things im running into:

-i have to turn the output level of the effects loop down almost to 0 to not get any weird interference

-i cant figure out which is send and which is return (i know it sounds retarded) but there is an "in and out" and im not sure which is which....i tried one combo, and i got a really yucky hum, then i tried the other way which seems to work....

-because i turned the output of my effects loop down (i used to have 1 cable running into the effects loop and output all the way up to inscrease the gain but now that i dont do that, i get significantly lower output volume where i can turn the amp to 2/10 for a normal volume (before i had to keep it at 1)


so are all these things part of the effects loop life? or because im using a vintage amp mine is a little whack?


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Apr 2 2009, 06:20 PM
Post #2


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



Send, sends the signal OUT from the preamp
Return, returns the signal IN to the poweramp

Level, sets the signal level, i.e the volume of the effects or how much of the signal that should be in the loop-path.

If your pedal board runs on the wall socket, which I assume you do, maybe it blends in disturbance from there. Pedalboard or not, connecting to a wall socket can always interfear with the sound. Try switching to another socket.
I experienced less disturbance myself when I plug my effects (whenever I don't use batteries, which by far is the best) to another wall socked than my amps sits on.
Using the same makes a terrible noise.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kjutte
post Apr 2 2009, 06:45 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 1.710
Joined: 17-July 07
From: Norway
Member No.: 2.337



Serial loop?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Apr 2 2009, 08:12 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



QUOTE (MickeM @ Apr 2 2009, 10:20 AM) *
Send, sends the signal OUT from the preamp
Return, returns the signal IN to the poweramp

Level, sets the signal level, i.e the volume of the effects or how much of the signal that should be in the loop-path.

If your pedal board runs on the wall socket, which I assume you do, maybe it blends in disturbance from there. Pedalboard or not, connecting to a wall socket can always interfear with the sound. Try switching to another socket.
I experienced less disturbance myself when I plug my effects (whenever I don't use batteries, which by far is the best) to another wall socked than my amps sits on.
Using the same makes a terrible noise.

im actually using all batteries haha

i think ive got the sound where i want it...with these mesa amps, you can do so much to change the sound i dont even know what normal is supposed to sound like anymore!


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
29a
post Apr 2 2009, 09:10 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 356
Joined: 28-December 08
Member No.: 6.464



Do you also get this strange noise when you set the mix to 100% / parallel mode? Maybe it's because of interference/the signal from the loop canceling out the one from the amp because of phase shifts.


--------------------
My Website | My Gear | Elixir Nanoweb Strings Review | Installing Schaller Security Locks
"If privacy is outlawed, only outlaws will have privacy." - Phil Zimmermann
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th January 2017 - 08:14 PM