Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problem With My Soundcard, Sound Always Distorded
Keilnoth
post Apr 10 2009, 06:55 PM
Post #1


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 686
Joined: 10-April 09
From: Switzerland
Member No.: 7.035



Hello guys,

I am following guitar lessons on GMC for a few days now and I found some links to Guitar Rig 3 which seems to be a nice piece of software for recording. I downloaded the trial and plugged my old Creatives Audigy Platinium eX soundcard.

That soundcard come with an external box where I can directly plug my guitar. It working nicely except for one thing. I cannot get a clean sound out of that. I tried a lot of tricks, reinstalling drivers, desactivating the effect in the soundcard configuration, etc... but cannot get that clean sound I would like.

The sound seems to be always distorded with some compressor, rotary and even a flanger. So on Guitar Rig, whatever amp and cab I choose, I have that distortion.

I dunno where to look to get rid of that. Perhaps you have an hint ?

Thanks for your help ! smile.gif
Eric


--------------------

My Guitars: Fender Stratocaster Billy Corgan Signature, Ibanez RG270
My Amp: Peavey Bandit 112
My Pedals: Blackstar HT-Dual, Boss DD-7, Boss CS-3, Boss RC-20
My Wishlist: New bridge + Pickups for my Ibanez, EHX POG2, EHX Cathedral / Holy Grail
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
29a
post Apr 10 2009, 07:43 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 356
Joined: 28-December 08
Member No.: 6.464



Are you sure that this jack is a high impedance input and not a line level one?

Jonas


--------------------
My Website | My Gear | Elixir Nanoweb Strings Review | Installing Schaller Security Locks
"If privacy is outlawed, only outlaws will have privacy." - Phil Zimmermann
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Keilnoth
post Apr 10 2009, 10:50 PM
Post #3


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 686
Joined: 10-April 09
From: Switzerland
Member No.: 7.035



I absolutely don't know. How can I check that ?
It is specified in the manual that I can plug a guitar or a "high-quality dynamic" microphone.

I will try to find the technical specifications but as it is a pretty old soundcard I am not sure I will be successful in that quest. smile.gif


--------------------

My Guitars: Fender Stratocaster Billy Corgan Signature, Ibanez RG270
My Amp: Peavey Bandit 112
My Pedals: Blackstar HT-Dual, Boss DD-7, Boss CS-3, Boss RC-20
My Wishlist: New bridge + Pickups for my Ibanez, EHX POG2, EHX Cathedral / Holy Grail
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Apr 11 2009, 09:49 AM
Post #4


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



If it says it can take a guitar input then it is capable of taking a high impedance signal Keilnoth.

Perhaps the issue is that the signal is clipping - that there is too much gain - and so the input needs to be turned down? There may be a small rotary knob near the jack input that will allow you to adjust the gain and there may also be some signal leds. If there are you need to adjust the gain so that the signal doesn't go in to the red. Usually that means turn the gain up to where it just clips/goes red and then back it off about 1/8th of a turn.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Keilnoth
post Apr 11 2009, 06:00 PM
Post #5


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 686
Joined: 10-April 09
From: Switzerland
Member No.: 7.035



Ah well, I think this solved the problem. smile.gif

As you said, tonymiro, I turned the volume down on my external sound box and up in the software and it is going much better. I had to turn it down to about 25% before the sound get cleaner.

It doesn't look very logical for me but at least I learned something. tongue.gif

Thanks for you help !


--------------------

My Guitars: Fender Stratocaster Billy Corgan Signature, Ibanez RG270
My Amp: Peavey Bandit 112
My Pedals: Blackstar HT-Dual, Boss DD-7, Boss CS-3, Boss RC-20
My Wishlist: New bridge + Pickups for my Ibanez, EHX POG2, EHX Cathedral / Holy Grail
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Apr 11 2009, 10:11 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



If the input on the external box is not a high impedance one, then you should get a DIbox. I suggest checking the manual. In the end they always put these specs. If it says line-level, then plugging in an instrument without DIbox is not a good idea for recording.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Azzaboi
post Apr 11 2009, 11:25 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.485
Joined: 23-March 09
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 6.965



Try moving the guitar away from the screen, subwoofer, wireless devices, etc and from each other.


--------------------


Play Games Arcade
Take a break, Play Games! Play the best free online flash games at Aaron's Game Zone like Bloons Tower Defense 4!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2017 - 01:37 PM