Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Amp Simulators?
GuitarMonkey
post Apr 11 2009, 01:35 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 26-February 09
From: Fremont, OH USA
Member No.: 6.847



I have a really dumb question. I have a Digitech RP50, and a Zoom G2. I also have a small practice amp. I really like the sound of the Digitech and the Zoom,(when I play through my headphones) but don't care for the sound when played into my amp. Since both of these units are amp simulators, what can I run one of them in to to get a decent sound out of them. I'm meaning like a monitor, or what? I do not want to run it through my computer, or another amp. Does this make any sense?


--------------------
[font="Tahoma"][/font][size="4"][/size][color="#008000"][/color]GuitarMonkey
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Artemus
post Apr 11 2009, 02:09 AM
Post #2


Learning Tone Seeker - CHALLENGE STAR!
*

Group: Members
Posts: 866
Joined: 6-February 09
From: Manchester, UK
Member No.: 6.743



It kinda makes sense but I'm not sure what you're after. Are you wanting to use the multi-processor to record on your pc, or to use live?
I have a GT8 - it goes straight to my soundcard so I can play and record with full duplex. Or live (since I'm without an amp at the moment) I go straight into the PA. Not ideal but it does work.


--------------------
My Myspace site here
My YouTube channel here
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GuitarMonkey
post Apr 11 2009, 02:10 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 26-February 09
From: Fremont, OH USA
Member No.: 6.847



QUOTE (Artemus @ Apr 10 2009, 07:09 PM) *
It kinda makes sense but I'm not sure what you're after. Are you wanting to use the multi-processor to record on your pc, or to use live?
I have a GT8 - it goes straight to my soundcard so I can play and record with full duplex. Or live (since I'm without an amp at the moment) I go straight into the PA. Not ideal but it does work.

Sorry, I should have been more clear. Yes, I want to be able to use it live.


--------------------
[font="Tahoma"][/font][size="4"][/size][color="#008000"][/color]GuitarMonkey
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Apr 11 2009, 11:11 AM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (GuitarMonkey @ Apr 11 2009, 02:35 AM) *
I have a really dumb question. I have a Digitech RP50, and a Zoom G2. I also have a small practice amp. I really like the sound of the Digitech and the Zoom,(when I play through my headphones) but don't care for the sound when played into my amp. Since both of these units are amp simulators, what can I run one of them in to to get a decent sound out of them. I'm meaning like a monitor, or what? I do not want to run it through my computer, or another amp. Does this make any sense?


Digitech RP50 and ZoomG2,
you can plug them straight into PA system,mixer and than speakers,
many guys do that for live performance.
Of course you'll get much more sound if you
sneak them through an amp, tube amp if possible.
And you can plug them into your PC as well,
you would need descent audio card and monitors.


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
GuitarMonkey
post Apr 11 2009, 09:45 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 26-February 09
From: Fremont, OH USA
Member No.: 6.847



QUOTE (Muris Varajic @ Apr 11 2009, 04:11 AM) *
Digitech RP50 and ZoomG2,
you can plug them straight into PA system,mixer and than speakers,
many guys do that for live performance.
Of course you'll get much more sound if you
sneak them through an amp, tube amp if possible.
And you can plug them into your PC as well,
you would need descent audio card and monitors.

Thanks for the help. I'll start looking into this further.


--------------------
[font="Tahoma"][/font][size="4"][/size][color="#008000"][/color]GuitarMonkey
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Apr 11 2009, 10:14 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



If you wanna use them live, as Muris said, going directly to mixer would be a good idea to try. If you have a good tube amp on the spot, it may be good idea to run them through that as well and see what works the best.

Ideal thing would be if you would have tube amp on the spot, and not plug processors at all in it.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Apr 12 2009, 03:54 PM
Post #7


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



For live use you can do what Muris suggested! Multieffects units can be used very well in small clubs etc, where you plug your guitar into processor unit and than go from it to mixer and PA system in the club.But you will also need to find a way to "monitor" your playing , either from headphones or through amp or monitor speakers in the club if they have 'em.But for live use , the best way is to skip multieffects units and go straight to a good amp (possibly tube one) and then micing that amp..You can't beat that sound.

This post has been edited by Bogdan Radovic: Apr 12 2009, 03:55 PM


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th July 2017 - 03:32 AM