Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording Frustration
NoSkill
post Apr 23 2009, 03:41 AM
Post #1


Experienced Tone Seeker
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.039
Joined: 30-January 07
From: Canada
Member No.: 1.135



Can someone give me some insight into why this happens?

Whenever I go to record a take, I screw up a different part of the piece with each successive take. I mean, I practice it slow, then at speed, then I get a good feel for it. I hit record and I lose my mind. I screw up basic transitions and even forget parts of the piece. I just want to pull all the strings out of the guitar and jump out of the window! I guess I come by my nickname honestly!

I'm obviously SADHD! Studio Attention Defecit Hyperactive Disorder

Cheers!

Tom in Canada


--------------------


Still looking for my soul mate, guitar.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Crazy_Diamond
post Apr 23 2009, 03:54 AM
Post #2


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 897
Joined: 28-November 06
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 956



I have the same problem ... it is a consequences of stress. If you can put a loop in your recording software and record it a few time I am sure its is going to help you calm down.

Cheers!

Simon in Montréal tongue.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skennington
post Apr 23 2009, 04:23 AM
Post #3


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



It's the button man, why couldn't they have made it black.. laugh.gif No, really, it's just going to take time. You are focusing more on the recording than your playing.

When trying to record, I set my capture device whether it be video, audio, or video and audio to the maximum length. Then, as I screw up, I start over again. After I have a take I'm satisfied with, I just edit out the bad take's.

I have done that start stop thing many times and it is very frustrating. When you are relaxed and not thinking about it, you will lay down a recording you are happy with. smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lcsdds
post Apr 23 2009, 05:02 AM
Post #4


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.054
Joined: 2-September 08
Member No.: 5.825



QUOTE (skennington @ Apr 23 2009, 04:23 AM) *
It's the button man, why couldn't they have made it black.. laugh.gif No, really, it's just going to take time. You are focusing more on the recording than your playing.

When trying to record, I set my capture device whether it be video, audio, or video and audio to the maximum length. Then, as I screw up, I start over again. After I have a take I'm satisfied with, I just edit out the bad take's.

I have done that start stop thing many times and it is very frustrating. When you are relaxed and not thinking about it, you will lay down a recording you are happy with. smile.gif

I think most people have this problem. I find that the best solution for me is to record it in a loop.....after a few times through you will forget that you are recording and just relax. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gary
post Apr 23 2009, 06:22 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 363
Joined: 3-March 08
From: La La Land, California
Member No.: 4.438



I think this is a common problem.. I do it too. Thank God for multiple gigabyte memory cards.
Unfortunately I also suffer from MADHD... Metronome Attention Defecit Hyperactive Disorder laugh.gif
Gary in Cali
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Apr 23 2009, 07:27 AM
Post #6


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



This is pretty common when starting out recordig (and it lasts a while too tongue.gif)..
I used to go mad when recording, because no matter how well I knew the songs I couldn't follow the metronome if my life depended on it biggrin.gif
But now (note: I've recorded a lot and played a lot after metronome) I have almost no problem recording after a metronome anymore, so practice practice practice smile.gif
It's the only thing that helps really smile.gif

But even now I screw up sometimes, just not so much as before smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NoSkill
post Apr 23 2009, 01:13 PM
Post #7


Experienced Tone Seeker
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.039
Joined: 30-January 07
From: Canada
Member No.: 1.135



Looping it is! Thanks guys. It's just frustrating as all get-out sometimes. cool.gif


--------------------


Still looking for my soul mate, guitar.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pedja Simovic
post Apr 23 2009, 01:26 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 8.109
Joined: 13-September 08
From: Nis, Serbia
Member No.: 5.892



Loop function is very useful in those situations. Also it helps if you create atmosphere in your mind like you are not being recorded but approach it like you are still in your practice session where you are focused all the way.
Hope that helps Tom !


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Skalde
post Apr 23 2009, 01:30 PM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 784
Joined: 13-January 08
From: Germany, North
Member No.: 3.817



Someone know how to make a loop in reaper? Helpfile says "{" and "}" but doesn't work for me.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Apr 23 2009, 01:49 PM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (Skalde @ Apr 23 2009, 02:30 PM) *
Someone know how to make a loop in reaper? Helpfile says "{" and "}" but doesn't work for me.


Hold left mouse click to assign the region,
after that click on the button right next to the recording button,
it's like twisted arrows and it represents loop function. smile.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
purple hayes
post Apr 23 2009, 02:29 PM
Post #11


Ultimate Guitar Hero
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.085
Joined: 6-September 07
From: USA
Member No.: 2.712



Does Reaper save every take in the loop or does it just keep the last one?



--------------------
My guitar bits on YouTube: <a href="https://www.youtube.com/duathlon70" target="_blank">https://www.youtube.com/duathlon70</a>
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Skalde
post Apr 23 2009, 04:42 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 784
Joined: 13-January 08
From: Germany, North
Member No.: 3.817



thanks muris, but one more question. How to make a real loop like :|| and ||: so that I can tell reaper to play a sample for x times?

This post has been edited by Skalde: Apr 23 2009, 04:42 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
-Zion-
post Apr 27 2009, 10:41 AM
Post #13


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 713
Joined: 20-May 08
From: copenhagen
Member No.: 5.141



QUOTE (purple hayes @ Apr 23 2009, 03:29 PM) *
Does Reaper save every take in the loop or does it just keep the last one?


edit: oh.. didn't know there was a special loop function in reaper.. but here is what i do (without the special loop function in reaper)


what you do is copy paste the backing for x number of times (i usually have 5 in a row, but you can do more)..
Then you just begin recording your guitar in reaper.. after all backings you have 1 long guitar and x number of backings..

you can now slice your long guitar recording into smaller chunks so they fit the backings.. thats how i do it anyways..

and i actually grab the best recording and copy it and a backing over in a new reaper project where i mix it properly and then create the final mp3 out of it.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by -Zion-: Apr 27 2009, 10:43 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th March 2017 - 08:08 PM