Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Moving Hard-drives, Increase Performance?
JVM
post Apr 27 2009, 09:30 PM
Post #1


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.878
Joined: 2-June 07
From: Raleigh-Durham, NC
Member No.: 1.984



I have heard here and there that moving my music related programs and such to a seperate hard drive from the one running your OS can benefit you. Is this true? I have a secondary D drive built into my laptop with 80 gigs.


--------------------
Gear: Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, Mesa Boogie F-30 112 combo, crazy pedals.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
David Wallimann
post Apr 27 2009, 11:10 PM
Post #2


Instructor
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.565
Joined: 29-March 07
From: Fort Collins, CO
Member No.: 1.439



I don't know about music programs, but I would keep all the samples on a different hard drive.
The way I am setup:
One drive for OS+programs
One drive for Audio Data (All the recordings)
One drive for samples (soundfounts, giga, etc.)


--------------------
www.youtube.com/Wallimann
www.davidwallimann.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Apr 28 2009, 12:00 AM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



It will definitely be good to separate applications that you use often to other drives, regardless what kind of application you use. If you have a bulky modern game for example, by putting it on secondary drive, OS will have more headroom. Same goes for audio software. DAW usually writes and reads a lot from the disc, so keeping the DAW isolated and defragmenting all HDs after every recording session (or once a week) will keep the computer at decent performance level.

My config:

1. HD1 (OS & small programs)
2. HD2 (DAW Projects )
3. HD3 (Video Projects, VST instruments, various other things)

This post has been edited by Ivan Milenkovic: Apr 28 2009, 12:01 AM


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
post Apr 29 2009, 08:13 AM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Member No.: 3.387



It will benefit for sure to have separate hard disk drives, and to keep OS and programs on one drive and data on another since if you have all of them on one and when you render audio or video files a hard disk drive's head have to constantly jump from a part where DAW is installed to the part the file is being rendered and it slows down the performance. smile.gif

And just to mention, separating one HDD to more logical drives won't help in this case so you really need physical drives, and make sure you are using 80 pin IDE cables smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JVM
post Apr 29 2009, 05:17 PM
Post #5


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.878
Joined: 2-June 07
From: Raleigh-Durham, NC
Member No.: 1.984



QUOTE (Dejan Farkas @ Apr 29 2009, 03:13 AM) *
It will benefit for sure to have separate hard disk drives, and to keep OS and programs on one drive and data on another since if you have all of them on one and when you render audio or video files a hard disk drive's head have to constantly jump from a part where DAW is installed to the part the file is being rendered and it slows down the performance. smile.gif

And just to mention, separating one HDD to more logical drives won't help in this case so you really need physical drives, and make sure you are using 80 pin IDE cables smile.gif


I believe I have two physically seperate drives in the laptop. Here's how I have it set up at the moment: C for the OS and most of my other programs, and D:/program files now contains my Line 6 files, Reaper, ToonTrack (ez drummer) folder and a .dll for an addictive drums demo. However, when I bring up ez drummer in Reaper, it says it can't locate the sound files, and to move them back to where they were previously (in the C drive). Is there a way around this, or do the sound files not need to be on this hard drive, or what?



--------------------
Gear: Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, Mesa Boogie F-30 112 combo, crazy pedals.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Apr 30 2009, 12:57 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Did you move the files manually after the installation of EZD?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
JVM
post Apr 30 2009, 12:57 PM
Post #7


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.878
Joined: 2-June 07
From: Raleigh-Durham, NC
Member No.: 1.984



Yeah, I did.


--------------------
Gear: Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Gibson '67 RI Flying V, Mesa Boogie F-30 112 combo, crazy pedals.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
post May 7 2009, 09:18 AM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Member No.: 3.387



QUOTE (JVM @ Apr 29 2009, 06:17 PM) *
I believe I have two physically seperate drives in the laptop.


Sorry for the late answer smile.gif

Are you sure that you have two Hard Disk Drives in the laptop? Due to the limited space in laptops they come with one disk, and making two or more partitions (logical drives) will not increase the performance like having two separate disks


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gilmore
post May 7 2009, 10:09 AM
Post #9


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 2-October 07
From: Reykjavik, Iceland
Member No.: 2.932



It´s not recomended to move any vst.dll manually after install, that can cause problems, both running the programs and update.

Also if you have a seaperate disk for samples and things like that, then it´s better to have it installed inside the computer with sATA connection rather than external drive with USB connection, sATA runs at 3.0mb/s but USB 400 kb/s. But there are also external drives with eSATA connections, so you can plug your external drive straight into your motherboard. If you have a laptop you can get firewire casing for your harddrive, but they can be expensive.



--------------------
Electric Guitars: Gibson SG 61´ Reissue, Gibson Les Paul Classic, Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2008 OW RW) , Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2003 2TSB MPL), Ibanez Prestige RG2570E, Warmoth Telecaster (BlueBurst), Warmoth Custom (CherryBurst).
Accoustic Guitars: Ovation Custom Legend, Ovation Legend (12 string), Martin 000-15M.
Classical Guitars: Jose Ramirez 125 Ano (Cedar), Manuel Rodriguez Model D (Spruce).
Bass: Ibanez SRX500.
Keyboard: M-Audio Keystation 88es.
Recording interface: Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DPS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
enforcer
post May 7 2009, 12:33 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 1.202
Joined: 23-September 08
From: Istanbul
Member No.: 5.945



You could 2 very fast sata drives identical one to other, you may RAID 0 Stripe them, then prepare 3 partitions, one for SYSTEM and PROGRAM FILES(windows) the second for STORAGE and the last one for SWAP file and TEMP only. If you are intrested I may help you how to do so. Just pm me. I am very satisfied with the results.


--------------------


incoming spoiler read it at your own risk!


Spoiler:


Vigier G.V Wood HH
American Stratocaster Maple Standart with X2N bridge pickups
Samwick Artist custom modified Baswood Lespaul with S.Duncan JB and N56 pickups
Self made Fretless Strat type made of Rosewood/Maple with self wound Neck and Ibanez V8 Bridge Pickups
Floor Pod 2.0 Amp Simulation System
Pod Xt Pro Rack Amp Simulation System
Digitech TSR 12 Rack Effect and Studio Reverb
Behringer Composer Rack Compressor Expander
Morley Bad Horsie Wah Pedal
Behringer FB1010 Floor Board



it, surely, spoiled me!!!


and may the force be with you :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pedja Simovic
post May 7 2009, 01:26 PM
Post #11


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 8.109
Joined: 13-September 08
From: Nis, Serbia
Member No.: 5.892



I was actually wondering about the same thing !

I have over 500 gbs of hard drive space but its all on one partition. Any advice what I need to do to split it ? I know this can be done when formatting computer and installing new operating system, but is it too late to do it now when all the programs are already installed ?

Thanks


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
opeth.db
post May 7 2009, 01:33 PM
Post #12


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.156
Joined: 11-September 08
From: Cleveland, Ohio
Member No.: 5.886



QUOTE (Pedja Simovic @ May 7 2009, 08:26 AM) *
I was actually wondering about the same thing !

I have over 500 gbs of hard drive space but its all on one partition. Any advice what I need to do to split it ? I know this can be done when formatting computer and installing new operating system, but is it too late to do it now when all the programs are already installed ?

Thanks


Is it one physical hard drive? Separating the HD into partitions is a good idea but does not save from HD failure.

I recomend just installing another HD, they are super cheap these days.


--------------------
My Gear
Ibanez RG570 Silver
Jackson Ofset V Randy Rhodes Signature
Mitchell Acoustic
Custom Ibanez S series (Currently working on)
X2 XDS95 Digital Wireless system
Line 6 MKII
8 Channel USB Roland Mixer

My Site
www.shredwork.com

Learn how to count. It's what separates the hack and the pros IMHO. -LCSDDS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
post May 7 2009, 03:26 PM
Post #13


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Member No.: 3.387



QUOTE (Pedja Simovic @ May 7 2009, 02:26 PM) *
I was actually wondering about the same thing !

I have over 500 gbs of hard drive space but its all on one partition. Any advice what I need to do to split it ? I know this can be done when formatting computer and installing new operating system, but is it too late to do it now when all the programs are already installed ?

Thanks


I also recommend additional HDD instead of partitioning smile.gif

When partitioned it looks like you have more drives but instead you just limit each 'logical drive' to certain space on physical drive'. So if you have two partitioned drives, and on one you have system and programs, and on another you have data (videos and music) there is only one physical HDD head that read data, and have to jump all the time between those partitions and it slows down the performance. If you have two physical HDDs than you have two heads and it goes much faster smile.gif

edit: There are some software for partitioning like Partition Magic that can work without reinstalling windows, but advice you to make backup of important files before it smile.gif

This post has been edited by Dejan Farkas: May 7 2009, 03:28 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
post May 7 2009, 03:39 PM
Post #14


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5.635
Joined: 29-November 07
From: Nottingham, UK
Member No.: 3.401



QUOTE (David Wallimann @ Apr 27 2009, 11:10 PM) *
I don't know about music programs, but I would keep all the samples on a different hard drive.
The way I am setup:
One drive for OS+programs
One drive for Audio Data (All the recordings)
One drive for samples (soundfounts, giga, etc.)

I agree with this. I have all my Videos and Music on one hard drive that I ripped from my CD collection (before anyone says anything tongue.gif) as well as recordings from Sonar. I have one other hard drive for samples and VSTs etc and one hard drive for OS and programs. It runs very smoothly. The main thing you don't want is to have your music or video collection on the same drive as your OS and programs as it'll soon run very slowly.


--------------------
Gear
Guitars:- Caparison Horus Snowcloud, Parker Nitefly M, Parker Nitefly SA, Gibson SG, Parker P10e, 40 Year Old Spanish Acoustic
Amps:- Framus Ruby Riot 2x12" stack
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pedja Simovic
post May 7 2009, 03:56 PM
Post #15


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 8.109
Joined: 13-September 08
From: Nis, Serbia
Member No.: 5.892



I have one hard drive in actual computer and another one outside of it as external. One is 500gb inside and 300gb outside one.
The problem is I have everything everywhere. For my work I use everything with the one thats in my computer. For Music I use the one outside. Any suggestions what I should do ?
Its 4gb ram dual core working great but I believe it can fly faster smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Gilmore
post May 8 2009, 01:25 PM
Post #16


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 342
Joined: 2-October 07
From: Reykjavik, Iceland
Member No.: 2.932



I recomend to all of you with 64 byte processor to go to Microsoft website and download final beta release of Windows 7 RC x64 version. That will make your computers superfast, you can use 4 - 128 GB of RAM instead of just 3.5 GB in 32 byte systems. Everything opperates at least twice as fast than in Vista. This release expires June 2010, but by then the final version will be out. smile.gif



--------------------
Electric Guitars: Gibson SG 61´ Reissue, Gibson Les Paul Classic, Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2008 OW RW) , Fender Standard American Stratocaster (2003 2TSB MPL), Ibanez Prestige RG2570E, Warmoth Telecaster (BlueBurst), Warmoth Custom (CherryBurst).
Accoustic Guitars: Ovation Custom Legend, Ovation Legend (12 string), Martin 000-15M.
Classical Guitars: Jose Ramirez 125 Ano (Cedar), Manuel Rodriguez Model D (Spruce).
Bass: Ibanez SRX500.
Keyboard: M-Audio Keystation 88es.
Recording interface: Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DPS.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marcus Siepen
post May 29 2009, 12:25 PM
Post #17


Instructor (Blind Guardian)
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.433
Joined: 5-March 08
From: Germany
Member No.: 4.464



I also use several hard drives, one for my OS, one for my software, in this case Pro Tools, and another one for the audio files. To be honest, I don't know how much better this system is compared to using only one drive since I always used several drives, but since all the manufacturers tell you to do so there must be some kind of benefit. (Unless the manufactureres also sell hard drives of course wink.gif )


--------------------
Guitars: various Gibson Les Pauls / Gibson J 45
Amps: Mesa Boogie Tripple Rectifier / Triaxis / 2:90 Poweramp / Rectocabs
Effects: Rocktron Intellifex / Rocktron Xpression
Homepage: www.marcussiepen.com www.blind-guardian.com
Check out my video lessons!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th December 2017 - 12:22 PM