Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Graph Tech Nut
kaznie_NL
post May 2 2009, 09:29 PM
Post #1


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.809
Joined: 8-December 07
From: Hedel, Netherlands
Member No.: 3.471



Hey guys,

I'd like to have some info on graph tech nuts. I have a Ibanez SA 08 LTD2, (Ibanez SA style), and I wondered wether this: http://accessories.musiciansfriend.com/pro...p;CJPID=2221397 would do it?

Also, how to replace the nut? ATM I think it has a plastic nut, and I found that it doesn't detune when not played, it only detunes when using whammy and wide bends, the nut should make this better. What's your opinion? Is it a nice upgrade?? Is it hard? I have a second, cheap, guitar to try it on first. (Strat model)



--------------------
My YouTube Channel Here

My Rec Takes Here


--- GEAR ---
Ibanez SA08LTD2 BAR
Vox AD50VT
Pod Farm
Line 6 Pod Studio GX
El Cheapo Strat
Dunlop Slide
Korg Toneworks AX5G
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sensible Jones
post May 2 2009, 09:45 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.233
Joined: 2-January 09
From: London-ish. UK.
Member No.: 6.517



A graphite nut wont stop it detuning as such. It just lets the string slide through the slots easier when using the Tremolo. It will help, but you need to find the cause of your tuning problem first!
Replacing a Nut isn't too difficult, but you do need to spend time making sure that the new one is filed down to the correct dimensions!
smile.gif


--------------------
I'd rather have a full Bottle in front of me than a full Frontal Lobotomy!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kaznie_NL
post May 4 2009, 04:24 PM
Post #3


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.809
Joined: 8-December 07
From: Hedel, Netherlands
Member No.: 3.471



so.. I found this might be a bad plan tongue.gif I realy don't want to break my guitar biggrin.gif


--------------------
My YouTube Channel Here

My Rec Takes Here


--- GEAR ---
Ibanez SA08LTD2 BAR
Vox AD50VT
Pod Farm
Line 6 Pod Studio GX
El Cheapo Strat
Dunlop Slide
Korg Toneworks AX5G
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post May 4 2009, 04:47 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



QUOTE (Sensible Jones @ May 2 2009, 01:45 PM) *
A graphite nut wont stop it detuning as such. It just lets the string slide through the slots easier when using the Tremolo. It will help, but you need to find the cause of your tuning problem first!
Replacing a Nut isn't too difficult, but you do need to spend time making sure that the new one is filed down to the correct dimensions!
smile.gif




i will have to disagree with you here


replacing the nut helps more for tuning than getting locking tuners or anything

as long as his trem is level, his intonation set, and his strings in good condition, all he would need to do is replace the nut, you are in business


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post May 5 2009, 12:14 AM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



If you haven't done it before, I recommend that you take it to a guitar tech, it's a bit tricky job, and could require some special tools and experience.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post May 5 2009, 01:39 AM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ May 4 2009, 04:14 PM) *
If you haven't done it before, I recommend that you take it to a guitar tech, it's a bit tricky job, and could require some special tools and experience.



ivan is right here,


do the upgrade (its a cheap one why not)

but take it to someone to do it, and since your there,

treat your guitar to new strings, and a set up, she needs one!


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sensible Jones
post May 5 2009, 11:35 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.233
Joined: 2-January 09
From: London-ish. UK.
Member No.: 6.517



QUOTE (Marc_Maiden @ May 4 2009, 04:47 PM) *
i will have to disagree with you here


replacing the nut helps more for tuning than getting locking tuners or anything

as long as his trem is level, his intonation set, and his strings in good condition, all he would need to do is replace the nut, you are in business

I don't think we're actually disagreeing here Marc!!!
I said "It will help, but you need to find the cause of your tuning problem first!" which is exactly what you've said above! wink.gif

The point I was originally making was that by just replacing the Nut and doing nothing else it wouldn't necessarily cure any tuning problems!
smile.gif


--------------------
I'd rather have a full Bottle in front of me than a full Frontal Lobotomy!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post May 5 2009, 03:30 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



i think i need glasses!


then yes, jones is right!


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kaznie_NL
post May 5 2009, 03:56 PM
Post #9


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.809
Joined: 8-December 07
From: Hedel, Netherlands
Member No.: 3.471



How can I check whether it's level?


--------------------
My YouTube Channel Here

My Rec Takes Here


--- GEAR ---
Ibanez SA08LTD2 BAR
Vox AD50VT
Pod Farm
Line 6 Pod Studio GX
El Cheapo Strat
Dunlop Slide
Korg Toneworks AX5G
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th March 2017 - 06:48 AM