Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Reaper + Gtr Solo?
mhskeide
post May 21 2009, 08:31 PM
Post #1


Experienced Tone Guru
*

Group: Members
Posts: 812
Joined: 13-July 08
From: Trondheim, NO
Member No.: 5.482



Hi guys

My current studio software is Sequel, but for some stupid reason, Sequel doesn`t have the option to open any mp3 file, which makes it very hard to use when participating in a collab.

I thought that GTR solo and Reaper should be an okay backup, but how do I connect them together tongue.gif ?

My goal is:

Load the collab backingtrack into reaper

Add GTR solo as plugin / amplifier

Record over that song

Extract as mp3.

Can anyone please help a desperate studio noobie wacko.gif


--------------------
"Some epic qoute" - Epic dude
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DeepRoots
post May 21 2009, 09:30 PM
Post #2


Get to da Chopper!
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 2.700
Joined: 18-March 07
From: South Wales, UK
Member No.: 1.374



QUOTE (mhskeide @ May 21 2009, 08:31 PM) *
Load the collab backingtrack into reaper

Drag and drop the mp3 file from wherever it is saved (desktop or wherever) into the timeline (big empty part of the Reaper with vertical lines) it'll create a new track automatically

QUOTE (mhskeide @ May 21 2009, 08:31 PM) *
Add GTR solo as plugin / amplifier
Can anyone please help a desperate studio noobie wacko.gif

First make sure you have told reaper where you keep the GTR solo vst plugin ( a .dll file that should come with installation of GTR solo) to do that go, options > preferences > Vst, and set the destination folder

Then go, Track -> Insert new track

On the new track that appears on the left, hit the "fx" button and GTR solo should appear under the list of VSTs- selecting it should open it as a little window.

QUOTE (mhskeide @ May 21 2009, 08:31 PM) *
Record over that song

When you dragged the backing track in to reaper it should have made a new track automatically, adding that new track and adding the VST (as well as arming the track for recording and setting up your sound device correctly) and you will have both the tracks you need to record.

QUOTE (mhskeide @ May 21 2009, 08:31 PM) *
Extract as mp3.

You will need a "lame" encoder (google "lame.enc"), putting this in the appropriate folder (not sure where that is, i haven't managed to get that sorted yet) will allow you to select .mp3 as your render setting (file > render). or google for CDex which i use to convert wav to mp3 (this is a stand-alone program)

Hope that helped
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kaznie_NL
post May 22 2009, 01:34 PM
Post #3


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.809
Joined: 8-December 07
From: Hedel, Netherlands
Member No.: 3.471



I'll check for the Lame Enc. I managed to do that, but not sure how tongue.gif


--------------------
My YouTube Channel Here

My Rec Takes Here


--- GEAR ---
Ibanez SA08LTD2 BAR
Vox AD50VT
Pod Farm
Line 6 Pod Studio GX
El Cheapo Strat
Dunlop Slide
Korg Toneworks AX5G
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post May 22 2009, 05:04 PM
Post #4


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



The LAME dll is the 'lame-enc.dll' (assuming windows) and you can get it here. Normally you'd put the LAME encoder in c:\program files\reaper.

I say normally as I actually have mine elsewhere and associate it as I don't want the same dll spread out over lots of different progs.


I spent a day working with someone from Audacity's development team working through encoders and LAME as we had a need to use a linux Debian distro and were having problems compiling the LAME. We did a lot of repeat testing on LAME, toolame and other encoders plus compiling Audacity ground up for ASIO 2.

Some of what we found confirms known info and data on encoders and from it, if hard drive space permits and your hardware, including mp3 player, can do so use flacc.

More on flacc here.



--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post May 23 2009, 03:31 AM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



Crap, I have nothing to add. laugh.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post May 23 2009, 08:23 PM
Post #6


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Well I'll add something else then tongue.gif laugh.gif wink.gif


If you render to mp3 using LAME or a similar mp3 encoder they tend to render at a bit depth of 16 - you can adjust the bit rate but not bit depth for rendering. (It's a bit more complicated then this as mp3 stores sound as amplitude over frequency and so the bit depth arguably floats. What actually results is not a fixed bit depth but a range limitation 24 bit has a larger range than 16, and so on.)

There is a consequence of this wrt to recording at a bit depth higher than the mp3 encoder - it will decide how to dither your recording down to 16 bit ie whether to remove high frequency or low level noise. This may not give you the best result since sometimes self-dithering doesn't occur as instead you get a signal with a noise floor below 16 bit and so you truncate the higher bit depth signal. If dithering does occur though then you an increase the noise floor and the amplitude and so get clipping. Think I mentioned above that LAME and the other mp3 encs all induced gain and increased clipping.

So at times you may be better actually dropping the bit depth yourself to 16 bit at the recording stage before rendering to mp3 to avoid the additional dithering. Whether you get a good result really depends on your set up though and requires testing and experiemntation.

If you want to avoid this then you need to avoid rendering out to mp3 or indeed any 'lossy format'.

smile.gif


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th March 2017 - 10:19 AM