2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording Backing Tracks For Rec, Sound is breaking up
Muris Varajic
post Jun 2 2009, 10:57 AM
Post #21


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (Matt23 @ Jun 2 2009, 11:54 AM) *
Ok, I've recorded me playing over Muris' backing. I did notice when i recorded it that the backing broke up a bit.

When I played it back I noticed little pauses at 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 42, and 47. I'd be interested to know if that's when everyone else hears them, so I know if it's a recording or a playback issue. Or both.


No drops this time imo, all cool.
Well, there were few drops but that was you. biggrin.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matt23
post Jun 2 2009, 11:06 AM
Post #22


Accomplished Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.745
Joined: 17-January 08
From: Scotland
Member No.: 3.866



Something I didn't mention, probably doesn't mean anything but I might as well say it. If I open up reaper while any other program is open, it says "There was an error while opening your audio hardware, error initializing buffers, would you like to view your audio device configuration". When this happens you can't record or play anything. If you open up reaper with nothing else open though this doesn't happen, and you can open up oher programs after reaper is open.

QUOTE (Muris Varajic @ Jun 2 2009, 10:57 AM) *
No drops this time imo, all cool.
Well, there were few drops but that was you. biggrin.gif


So i suppose that means the problem is playback on my computer.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jun 2 2009, 11:13 AM
Post #23


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (Matt23 @ Jun 2 2009, 12:06 PM) *
Something I didn't mention, probably doesn't mean anything but I might as well say it. If I open up reaper while any other program is open, it says "There was an error while opening your audio hardware, error initializing buffers, would you like to view your audio device configuration". When this happens you can't record or play anything. If you open up reaper with nothing else open though this doesn't happen, and you can open up oher programs after reaper is open.


That happened to me just yesterday,
dunno why but asio drivers were not signed properly.
All I did was to go to options/preferences and set proper asio drivers,
everything worked just fine after that.


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pedja Simovic
post Jun 2 2009, 11:32 AM
Post #24


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 8.109
Joined: 13-September 08
From: Nis, Serbia
Member No.: 5.892



Matt this is what I was talking about !

Now your recording is perfect. Backing track is not breaking up nor providing any latency. Now you can really sit down and practice and record this way.

Perfect !

P.S. No need for new sound card smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matt23
post Jun 2 2009, 11:44 AM
Post #25


Accomplished Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.745
Joined: 17-January 08
From: Scotland
Member No.: 3.866



QUOTE (Pedja Simovic @ Jun 2 2009, 11:32 AM) *
Matt this is what I was talking about !

Now your recording is perfect. Backing track is not breaking up nor providing any latency. Now you can really sit down and practice and record this way.

Perfect !

P.S. No need for new sound card smile.gif


The thing is is that it isn't breaking up for you, but when I recorded it it and played it back it broke up a lot, and threw me off time a bit.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jun 2 2009, 11:48 AM
Post #26


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (Matt23 @ Jun 2 2009, 12:44 PM) *
The thing is is that it isn't breaking up for you, but when I recorded it it and played it back it broke up a lot, and threw me off time a bit.


Than it is your playback, dunno what causes the problem,
we tried almost everything...


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pedja Simovic
post Jun 2 2009, 12:35 PM
Post #27


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 8.109
Joined: 13-September 08
From: Nis, Serbia
Member No.: 5.892



I can think of two things in that case.

- Switch of monitoring when you are recording (monitoring while recording takes a lot of RAM space !)

- Perhaps you need to to install ASIO4All drivers and get rid of latency while recording.


Could you make a screen shoot of how your recording process looks like in Matt?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2017 - 09:48 AM