Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Fender Amplitube, any good?
sted
post Jun 3 2009, 01:29 PM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.758
Joined: 13-April 08
From: Merseyside, UK
Member No.: 4.882



just wondering if this is worth investing in? any thoughts?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Jun 3 2009, 02:22 PM
Post #2


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



I think it's very good actually smile.gif

I could post a few samples for you tomorrow if you want?
I got it, and some of the presets(!) are very good!

And if you tweak.. *mmmm* biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 3 2009, 02:24 PM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



It definitely is. I started using it as soon as it was out, and it definitely models the best cleans and crunch sounds out there. It doesn't have any distortion pedals, only fuzz, but there are other third party VST plugs that I've found useful as distortion, like Tubescreamer's Secret, which is awesome replica of TS808 tone.
Very much worth the buy if you ask me, way better than GR3 as far as Fender clean and crunch goes.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Jun 3 2009, 02:46 PM
Post #4


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



Yeah, it got the best cleans for a VST Plug-In, no doubt smile.gif
Although the best crunch sounds comes from the Vintage Amp Room in my opinion smile.gif
But the Fender Amplitube comes very close!

Have you tried it Ivan? It's awesome smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 3 2009, 04:09 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I've tested it, but I'm not sure if it is better than AF. There is nothing in it that cannot be achieved with AF as well. It's got a nice crunch but very little features, cannot be compared to full sized software like AF IMO.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Jun 3 2009, 04:19 PM
Post #6


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Jun 3 2009, 05:09 PM) *
I've tested it, but I'm not sure if it is better than AF. There is nothing in it that cannot be achieved with AF as well. It's got a nice crunch but very little features, cannot be compared to full sized software like AF IMO.


All the microphone placements cannot be achieved by AF, but it's a much simpler design.
It's designed to be like a miced up amp, with a few specific amps and does that REALLY well in my opinion smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sted
post Jun 3 2009, 07:22 PM
Post #7


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.758
Joined: 13-April 08
From: Merseyside, UK
Member No.: 4.882



QUOTE (audiopaal @ Jun 3 2009, 02:22 PM) *
I think it's very good actually smile.gif

I could post a few samples for you tomorrow if you want?
I got it, and some of the presets(!) are very good!

And if you tweak.. *mmmm* biggrin.gif


That would be great mate if you could, the You Tube demo's arent that great, is it available as a download?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 3 2009, 10:31 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



QUOTE (audiopaal @ Jun 3 2009, 05:19 PM) *
All the microphone placements cannot be achieved by AF, but it's a much simpler design.
It's designed to be like a miced up amp, with a few specific amps and does that REALLY well in my opinion smile.gif


Mic placement is more flexible in VAR, but AF has 12 different cabinets and 9 microphones to choose from. Add the Off/On axis, and Far/Near option, very good air control, and other features like dual stomps/amp/cab/racks mode for stereo output, and other stuff, I think it's reasonable enough to say that it is a better choice. The price of VAR is 300$ and AF 200$, and I don't feel that VAR is worth it to be honest. It is a good plug no mistakes there, but just not good enough for the money if you ask me.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Jun 3 2009, 10:46 PM
Post #9


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Jun 3 2009, 11:31 PM) *
Mic placement is more flexible in VAR, but AF has 12 different cabinets and 9 microphones to choose from. Add the Off/On axis, and Far/Near option, very good air control, and other features like dual stomps/amp/cab/racks mode for stereo output, and other stuff, I think it's reasonable enough to say that it is a better choice. The price of VAR is 300$ and AF 200$, and I don't feel that VAR is worth it to be honest. It is a good plug no mistakes there, but just not good enough for the money if you ask me.


I obviously disagree with you, hehe..
I got them both for a reason, they can both do things the other can't.
VAR does some things better than AF and vice versa, so I believe it's worth the money smile.gif

I couldn't do without it to be honest, some of the crunch sounds are the best out there (plug-ins) imo..

But of course, AF is much more versatile overall, and you can more sounds out of it plus some greater cleans and more control smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ItsMe
post Jun 3 2009, 10:55 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 822
Joined: 11-March 08
From: Boston, MA
Member No.: 4.541



I think you should check Revalver MKIII. Better clean and cruch sound imo than both competitors. Needs allot more tweaking though. Sounds awefull right out off the box. But then smile.gif

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cu2xW-CXz04...player_embedded

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljzYURqev2s

This post has been edited by ItsMe: Jun 3 2009, 11:02 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 3 2009, 11:27 PM
Post #11


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



QUOTE (audiopaal @ Jun 3 2009, 11:46 PM) *
I obviously disagree with you, hehe..
I got them both for a reason, they can both do things the other can't.
VAR does some things better than AF and vice versa, so I believe it's worth the money smile.gif

I couldn't do without it to be honest, some of the crunch sounds are the best out there (plug-ins) imo..

But of course, AF is much more versatile overall, and you can more sounds out of it plus some greater cleans and more control smile.gif


Do you actually need VAR just for crunch? If you use them both why not transferring to AF completely, I'm sure you can make AF sound better than VAR regarding any kind of sound that it has to offer, you just need to tweak it around a bit.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Jun 3 2009, 11:31 PM
Post #12


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Jun 4 2009, 12:27 AM) *
Do you actually need VAR just for crunch? If you use them both why not transferring to AF completely, I'm sure you can make AF sound better than VAR regarding any kind of sound that it has to offer, you just need to tweak it around a bit.


Well, I use them both when I'm double tracking, sounds great smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sted
post Jun 4 2009, 09:57 AM
Post #13


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.758
Joined: 13-April 08
From: Merseyside, UK
Member No.: 4.882



I dowloaded the demo pack last night for AF, had a few problems with it. Really bad latency was first thing I noticed, dont know if this just needs a tweak on the settings. The background noise from the amp models was the worst thing though, I know its meant to be authentic valve tone but this was horrendous, again could be settings but not had this problem with other modelling software.
The amp range looks great, bit disappointed with the lack of stomps but you did point that out. anyway i'll play with it for the next 10 days and see how it pans out.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 4 2009, 10:09 AM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



You need a good audio interface and a solid computer to run AF, what do you use?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sted
post Jun 4 2009, 10:16 AM
Post #15


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.758
Joined: 13-April 08
From: Merseyside, UK
Member No.: 4.882



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Jun 4 2009, 10:09 AM) *
You need a good audio interface and a solid computer to run AF, what do you use?


All through my Toneport UX2, then into my new fostex powered monitors. PC has a 3800+ amd processor and 2GB corsair RAM.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 6 2009, 11:27 PM
Post #16


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Try to lower down the resolution in preferences (down left corner of AF)


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th March 2017 - 10:17 AM