Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Slowing Down Tempo!
Paiva
post Jun 17 2009, 01:30 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 3-November 08
From: Lisbon, Portugal
Member No.: 6.182



So I got EZdrummer and I'm using it with Reaper.

The grooves are great but I would like to slow down tempo to match my songs. Can I do this on ezdrummer? Or if not on reaper?

Please tell me how

Thanks in advance


--------------------
GEAR:


Guitars:
PRS SE Custom
Epiphone SG Special
Antonio Pinto de Carvalho Classical Guitar
Fender 12 strings
[/color]

Amp:
Epiphone Studio 10s combo
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe!!!!!!!!!!


Pedals:
Kork AX5G
Boss RC-2



2nd song :) Please go check it and post something ;) (again link below)


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jun 17 2009, 02:27 PM
Post #2


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



you set the beat in Reaper, I think the default is 120 bpm. Just key in what you desire or drag the handle. The drums you paste on the MIDI track will adjust to tempo.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Jun 17 2009, 02:34 PM
Post #3


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



As Micke says.

You can also build a tempo map in Reaper via Shift/Alt/C as you highlight a region and from there it will tell you the tempo and allow you to write in changes, transitions, etc.


If you find Shift/Alt/C too tricky a key combination, or if you do this a lot, you can always set up a one key macro in Reaper as well.

TBH I tend to use Live! for this rather than Reaper.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jun 17 2009, 03:25 PM
Post #4


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (tonymiro @ Jun 17 2009, 03:34 PM) *
As Micke says.

You can also build a tempo map in Reaper via Shift/Alt/C as you highlight a region and from there it will tell you the tempo and allow you to write in changes, transitions, etc.


If you find Shift/Alt/C too tricky a key combination, or if you do this a lot, you can always set up a one key macro in Reaper as well.

TBH I tend to use Live! for this rather than Reaper.

Ableton Live? What caught your attention there? I tried it for the trial period, 10 days or so, only because of the approach with grids to move around as you please would work very fine with my way of working. However I thought in reality it was complicated, different from DAW's like Reper and Acid Pro which has the linear approach and what I'm used to.
My own Rifftracker software had the recording in grids, but I didn't find that Rifftracker in a whole suited me so I was happy to discover Ableton... 5 or whatever it was back then. Could get along with it though.
Did you find it different at first? I experience a threshold I had to get over and the the demo period was over before I got to it... I like programs that are selfexplanatory and intuitive, so I didnt spend all 10 days struggeling but gave up rather quick wink.gif

I have no intention to hijack your thread Paiva smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Paiva
post Jun 17 2009, 05:43 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 3-November 08
From: Lisbon, Portugal
Member No.: 6.182



QUOTE (MickeM @ Jun 17 2009, 03:25 PM) *
Ableton Live? What caught your attention there? I tried it for the trial period, 10 days or so, only because of the approach with grids to move around as you please would work very fine with my way of working. However I thought in reality it was complicated, different from DAW's like Reper and Acid Pro which has the linear approach and what I'm used to.
My own Rifftracker software had the recording in grids, but I didn't find that Rifftracker in a whole suited me so I was happy to discover Ableton... 5 or whatever it was back then. Could get along with it though.
Did you find it different at first? I experience a threshold I had to get over and the the demo period was over before I got to it... I like programs that are selfexplanatory and intuitive, so I didnt spend all 10 days struggeling but gave up rather quick wink.gif

I have no intention to hijack your thread Paiva smile.gif



No Problem Micke you have already answered my question so thanks!


--------------------
GEAR:


Guitars:
PRS SE Custom
Epiphone SG Special
Antonio Pinto de Carvalho Classical Guitar
Fender 12 strings
[/color]

Amp:
Epiphone Studio 10s combo
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe!!!!!!!!!!


Pedals:
Kork AX5G
Boss RC-2



2nd song :) Please go check it and post something ;) (again link below)


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Jun 17 2009, 10:25 PM
Post #6


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (MickeM @ Jun 17 2009, 02:25 PM) *
Ableton Live? What caught your attention there? I tried it for the trial period, 10 days or so, only because of the approach with grids to move around as you please would work very fine with my way of working. However I thought in reality it was complicated, different from DAW's like Reper and Acid Pro which has the linear approach and what I'm used to.
My own Rifftracker software had the recording in grids, but I didn't find that Rifftracker in a whole suited me so I was happy to discover Ableton... 5 or whatever it was back then. Could get along with it though.
Did you find it different at first? I experience a threshold I had to get over and the the demo period was over before I got to it... I like programs that are selfexplanatory and intuitive, so I didnt spend all 10 days struggeling but gave up rather quick wink.gif

I have no intention to hijack your thread Paiva smile.gif


Sorry Paivia - again don't wnt to go OT but just to answer Micke's question...

Live! is different and maybe does require a different approach and that does take time to get used to it. But imho it works particularly well when your doing beat matching, a lot of work with loops and tempo changes and also editing. I just find the workflow for that sort of thing far more easy than in Reaper - as much as i like reaper I do find the tempo maps etc a bit clunky. I'm lucky as i have both and so can rewire/slave one to the other and use them to fit.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Paiva
post Jun 17 2009, 10:33 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 3-November 08
From: Lisbon, Portugal
Member No.: 6.182



Guys don't worry biggrin.gif my question is already answered you can talk about everything you want on this thread now wink.gif


--------------------
GEAR:


Guitars:
PRS SE Custom
Epiphone SG Special
Antonio Pinto de Carvalho Classical Guitar
Fender 12 strings
[/color]

Amp:
Epiphone Studio 10s combo
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe!!!!!!!!!!


Pedals:
Kork AX5G
Boss RC-2



2nd song :) Please go check it and post something ;) (again link below)


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jun 17 2009, 11:14 PM
Post #8


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (tonymiro @ Jun 17 2009, 11:25 PM) *
Sorry Paivia - again don't wnt to go OT but just to answer Micke's question...

Live! is different and maybe does require a different approach and that does take time to get used to it. But imho it works particularly well when your doing beat matching, a lot of work with loops and tempo changes and also editing. I just find the workflow for that sort of thing far more easy than in Reaper - as much as i like reaper I do find the tempo maps etc a bit clunky. I'm lucky as i have both and so can rewire/slave one to the other and use them to fit.

Thanks Paiva smile.gif

Tony, which version do you think would be useful for a homestudio. I suspect the LE version could be a tad too light while the Pro version is too much. Aiming for the middle version then maybe.
I'm trinking of downloading the demo and give it a try once more since I have a feeling Live after all is a tool that would suit my way of working.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Jun 18 2009, 12:03 AM
Post #9


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (MickeM @ Jun 17 2009, 10:14 PM) *
Thanks Paiva smile.gif

Tony, which version do you think would be useful for a homestudio. I suspect the LE version could be a tad too light while the Pro version is too much. Aiming for the middle version then maybe.
I'm trinking of downloading the demo and give it a try once more since I have a feeling Live after all is a tool that would suit my way of working.


Pro version the same as Live! Suite Micke? AFAIK the Suite has all the extra sound clips/files and instruments Micke - whether or not they are worth the extra 2-300 odd Euros (and X gigabites HD space) - well, some of them are good , some very good etc but I'm short of cash so would much rather use free vsts and make up my own midi sequences, clips and stuff cool.gif. So I stay on the standard, not LE, version of Live!

If you need to know what the differences between Live! and LE are it's here.

The standard Live! is the full program 350 Euros download (450 box) but with out the extra instruments and the Suite is about 550 Euros download (700 box).

I'm still on Live! v6 (full version but without the Suite add ons) and find it ok for me. If you look around you may be able to get a really good deal on an unregistered copy of v7 which may let you upgrade to v8 for free.

Also I think you can upgrade from a full licensed version of v5 for about 200 Euros, or about 400 if you want all the extra vsts.

If you want to investigate and don't need all the extra clips or the dvds and a box download on a good fast connection from Ableton direct here cool.gif or check out the demos.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2017 - 01:51 PM