Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Backing Tracks?, Where do I start?!?.....
sted
post Jun 21 2009, 06:23 PM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.758
Joined: 13-April 08
From: Merseyside, UK
Member No.: 4.882



Ive read Marcs post on backing tracks and want to put a backing together.

Ok so I need drums, do I need a drum specific programme like EZ drummer for it to sound any good? I know GP5 has drums in it but it seems extremely complicated to write a drum track in that, I am assuming that once I have a drum track I can export it as a midi file into reaper, yes? Am I better off just looking for a drum loop rather than shellin out 119 eu on EZ? Am I better off with something like band stand (Whatever that is!)

So i need a bass line then, the new RSE basses in GP sound ok, would it be better to "write" a bass line in GP and then export it to reaper as a midi, does it carry the sound over from GP though or do I need to use a plug in on the actual track once imported into reaper?

Sorry for the noob questions but I really dont know this stuff!

Confused...... huh.gif

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Skalde
post Jun 21 2009, 10:35 PM
Post #2


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 784
Joined: 13-January 08
From: Germany, North
Member No.: 3.817



Freeware Drum Plugin
Freeware Bass Plugin

Write the bass line in GP and import midi in Reaper. It does not copy the sound of GP's RSE. Midi is not an audio format it just contains note informations. So you need to use the Bass Plugin I mentioned above
Write Drums with Reapers's midisequenzer
Ask if you need help.

This post has been edited by Skalde: Jun 21 2009, 10:38 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Jun 22 2009, 12:15 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



hows that bass plugin sound? forgive me for being lazy, i just got bandstand, the keys, strings and other orchestra instruments sound great, but its the bass and drums that do not.

nvm i realized its the same one i used before, its alright sounding, better than the bandstands one, ill stick to that one thanks


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sted
post Jun 22 2009, 08:59 AM
Post #4


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.758
Joined: 13-April 08
From: Merseyside, UK
Member No.: 4.882



QUOTE (Skalde @ Jun 21 2009, 10:35 PM) *
Freeware Drum Plugin
Freeware Bass Plugin

Write the bass line in GP and import midi in Reaper. It does not copy the sound of GP's RSE. Midi is not an audio format it just contains note informations. So you need to use the Bass Plugin I mentioned above
Write Drums with Reapers's midisequenzer
Ask if you need help.


thanks mate, Ill have a look at it tonight, talk about flying blind..........
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Skalde
post Jun 24 2009, 10:55 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 784
Joined: 13-January 08
From: Germany, North
Member No.: 3.817



Feel free to ask me wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sted
post Jun 24 2009, 01:06 PM
Post #6


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.758
Joined: 13-April 08
From: Merseyside, UK
Member No.: 4.882



QUOTE (Skalde @ Jun 24 2009, 10:55 AM) *
Feel free to ask me wink.gif


thanks skalde, really appreciate your help on these topics! I think I've got the basics going now and could probably pull a decent track together, although the sounds of the bass vst's are not very inspiring to say the least! I'm toying with the idea of getting a cheap bass and putting the runs down myself for the backings rather than relying on VST's, unless there are some good ones you can recommend???
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Skalde
post Jun 24 2009, 08:13 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 784
Joined: 13-January 08
From: Germany, North
Member No.: 3.817



It's hard to find free bass vsts. 4front bassmodule isn't this bad it just needs some tweaking with eq and maybe basschorus. As I used it it was always in the wrong octave so I had to shift the midi notes manually.
If you want to spend money on a bass vst check out triology it's the best, but expensive.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kaznie_NL
post Jul 10 2009, 12:09 PM
Post #8


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.809
Joined: 8-December 07
From: Hedel, Netherlands
Member No.: 3.471



OR.... buy EZdrummer or AD, or download AD Demo and see if they have some samples. I just make my drumtrack by copying the samples behind eachother!


--------------------
My YouTube Channel Here

My Rec Takes Here


--- GEAR ---
Ibanez SA08LTD2 BAR
Vox AD50VT
Pod Farm
Line 6 Pod Studio GX
El Cheapo Strat
Dunlop Slide
Korg Toneworks AX5G
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st July 2017 - 07:55 AM