Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How To Assign A Keyboard To Reaper?
Tolek
post Jun 27 2009, 04:43 PM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



Hey guys,
I tried to play with my keyboard in REAPER, but it doesn´t work. Does anyone know how to assign an audio interface to the program?

Cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skennington
post Jun 27 2009, 05:26 PM
Post #2


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



Are you trying to assign it as a controller or just wanting to record it's output? If your just wanting to record, the easiest way is to connect to your Toneport just like you would your guitar. Find the line out on the back of the board and plug directly into the Toneport. Open Pod Farm or Gearbox and find a clean pre-set, I use the studio vocals patch. Arm a track and hit record! smile.gif

If your trying to use it as a controller, then that's another ball game. You will have to set up the transport between Reaper and the keyboard to communicate with one another.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Skalde
post Jun 28 2009, 10:42 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 784
Joined: 13-January 08
From: Germany, North
Member No.: 3.817



Is it a real keyboard or a midi controller?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Jun 28 2009, 10:54 AM
Post #4


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



QUOTE (skennington @ Jun 27 2009, 06:26 PM) *
Are you trying to assign it as a controller or just wanting to record it's output? If your just wanting to record, the easiest way is to connect to your Toneport just like you would your guitar. Find the line out on the back of the board and plug directly into the Toneport. Open Pod Farm or Gearbox and find a clean pre-set, I use the studio vocals patch. Arm a track and hit record! smile.gif

If your trying to use it as a controller, then that's another ball game. You will have to set up the transport between Reaper and the keyboard to communicate with one another.

I actually want to use it as a keyboard that I can record and play with in the program. I link my Yamaha KX-25 via USB to my computer, so I can´t switch it to the UX1...

QUOTE (Skalde @ Jun 28 2009, 11:42 AM) *
Is it a real keyboard or a midi controller?

It´s this one: Yamaha KX-25. It can be a MIDI controller, but I have no MIDI cables and inputs. Instead, I connect it via USB.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wrk
post Jun 28 2009, 11:58 AM
Post #5


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.027
Joined: 19-June 06
From: Paris/France (..used to be german)
Member No.: 723



QUOTE (Tolek @ Jun 28 2009, 11:54 AM) *
I actually want to use it as a keyboard that I can record and play with in the program. I link my Yamaha KX-25 via USB to my computer, so I can´t switch it to the UX1...

It´s this one: Yamaha KX-25. It can be a MIDI controller, but I have no MIDI cables and inputs. Instead, I connect it via USB.

I think if you connect your keyboard via USB, you can use it as a midi control. It's not necessary to have it connected via midi in/outs.
The question is, do you want to record the sounds from your Yamaha keyboard or VST sounds and trigger these sounds with the keyboard?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Jun 28 2009, 12:45 PM
Post #6


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



QUOTE (wrk @ Jun 28 2009, 12:58 PM) *
I think if you connect your keyboard via USB, you can use it as a midi control. It's not necessary to have it connected via midi in/outs.
The question is, do you want to record the sounds from your Yamaha keyboard or VST sounds and trigger these sounds with the keyboard?

Ok, thanks.
Actually, the keyboard doesn´t have any own sounds. I have Bandstand and some other VSTs which I want to play with that keyboard.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wrk
post Jun 28 2009, 01:32 PM
Post #7


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.027
Joined: 19-June 06
From: Paris/France (..used to be german)
Member No.: 723



QUOTE (Tolek @ Jun 28 2009, 01:45 PM) *
Ok, thanks.
Actually, the keyboard doesn´t have any own sounds. I have Bandstand and some other VSTs which I want to play with that keyboard.

Ah, ok .. smile.gif
Others can help you more with Reaper or how to setup your specific keyboard KX25. I suppose you got a manual with your package ... normally there is a setup description for at least one other DAW. Try as well to search the Reaper forum for how to setup a USB keyboard. Both information will maybe help you to bring this to work ... good luck smile.gif




--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 28 2009, 10:09 PM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



have you installed MIDI>USB drivers Tolek?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jun 28 2009, 10:12 PM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Jun 28 2009, 11:09 PM) *
have you installed MIDI>USB drivers Tolek?


Yeah, I guess you need to install those
since your OS has to recognize your keyboard,
after that Reaper will be able to communicate with it.


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Jun 28 2009, 10:22 PM
Post #10


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



I installed everything since the keyboard is working in Cubase. However, I prefer recording in REAPER at the moment. biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jun 29 2009, 12:49 PM
Post #11


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (Tolek @ Jun 28 2009, 11:22 PM) *
I installed everything since the keyboard is working in Cubase. However, I prefer recording in REAPER at the moment. biggrin.gif


Well, I don't know, Cubase is better than Reaper in all fields
and if your keyboard works fine with Cubase then... smile.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 30 2009, 10:57 AM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I agree with Muris, Cubase is a lot better to work with Tolek. I suggest you try using it in couple of projects you will get used to it very quickly and never look back.

If you need any advices about Cubase, let us know, I will be glad to help.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Jun 30 2009, 08:33 PM
Post #13


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



I know than Cubase is better, but I didn´t have the oppportunity. I´ll try to switch in the holidays. biggrin.gif Good idea. laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jun 30 2009, 08:40 PM
Post #14


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



QUOTE (Tolek @ Jun 30 2009, 09:33 PM) *
I know than Cubase is better, but I didn´t have the oppportunity. I´ll try to switch in the holidays. biggrin.gif Good idea. laugh.gif


Go for it and let us know if you need any help with it. wink.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Jun 30 2009, 08:48 PM
Post #15


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



Thanks for the support. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jun 30 2009, 10:14 PM
Post #16


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Anytime man smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2017 - 10:01 PM