Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording
Becks
post Jul 1 2009, 04:28 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 11-February 09
Member No.: 6.769



When you guys make video lessons what program do you use for the backtrack?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kahall
post Jul 1 2009, 05:51 AM
Post #2


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 989
Joined: 21-March 07
From: Springfield Missouri USA
Member No.: 1.393



Most that are just starting out use Reaper, a free download. Then import the requested backing track into the program and record.


--------------------
Had a guitar hanging, just about waist high, and we are going to play these things until the day we die.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jul 1 2009, 09:40 AM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



I use Cubase most of the time
but you can use many others as well, Logic, ProTool, Sonar etc.
Reaper and Audicity as well.


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Dejan Farkas
post Jul 1 2009, 12:31 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.035
Joined: 27-November 07
From: Sarajevo, Bosnia
Member No.: 3.387



Cubase as well, tried ProTools but Cubase works better with MIDI


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emir Hot
post Jul 1 2009, 12:53 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 7.201
Joined: 14-July 08
From: London UK
Member No.: 5.490



I use Sonar but in general they all work the same


--------------------
Check out my <a href="https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Emir-Hot" target="_blank">Instructor profile</a>

www.emirhot.com
www.myspace.com/emirhotguitar
www.myspace.com/sevdahmetal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pedja Simovic
post Jul 1 2009, 01:03 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 8.109
Joined: 13-September 08
From: Nis, Serbia
Member No.: 5.892



I use Nuendo and Reason but type everything into Guitar Pro before smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Zecic
post Jul 1 2009, 02:46 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 224
Joined: 13-June 09
From: Zagreb, Croatia
Member No.: 7.269



I use only Nuendo.


--------------------
Check out my lessons!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Becks
post Jul 1 2009, 03:58 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 11-February 09
Member No.: 6.769



On Cubase (thats what i have) how do you record the drums? I have always just recorded them while i play. But is there some sort of drum machine i could use?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Jul 1 2009, 05:55 PM
Post #9


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



QUOTE (Becks @ Jul 1 2009, 04:58 PM) *
On Cubase (thats what i have) how do you record the drums? I have always just recorded them while i play. But is there some sort of drum machine i could use?


Yes there is are virtual drums called VSTs , these two are best and most popular:

Ez Drummer : http://www.toontrack.com/ezdrummer.asp
Addictive Drums: http://www.xlnaudio.com/

Hope this helps! smile.gif


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Jul 1 2009, 06:10 PM
Post #10


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Also don't forget that Cubase normally has a drum vst included. For Cubase 5 its Groove Agent - prior to SX4 it tended to be more elementary, but usable, vsti plug ins like LM1/LM7 etc.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Jul 1 2009, 07:48 PM
Post #11


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



QUOTE (tonymiro @ Jul 1 2009, 07:10 PM) *
Also don't forget that Cubase normally has a drum vst included. For Cubase 5 its Groove Agent - prior to SX4 it tended to be more elementary, but usable, vsti plug ins like LM1/LM7 etc.


They included groove agent in Cubase 5? that is a great value VST indeed compared to previous stock LM.

tony is right here, with Cubase/Nuendo you get stock plugins that can work very good for starters. After a while you can get better software if you need one.

BTW, good way to obtain free Cubase is to get some hardware like EMU products that bundle Cubase 4 LE with the products (you get some other cool software as well). For 90-100$ you can get entry level EMU PCI card that is great for audio production and get a very useful software along the way including Cubase 4 LE, T-Rex EQ, Amplitube LE etc.. everything you need to get you started with home audio production.

This post has been edited by Ivan Milenkovic: Jul 1 2009, 07:49 PM


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Becks
post Jul 2 2009, 06:39 AM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 33
Joined: 11-February 09
Member No.: 6.769



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Jul 1 2009, 10:48 AM) *
They included groove agent in Cubase 5? that is a great value VST indeed compared to previous stock LM.

tony is right here, with Cubase/Nuendo you get stock plugins that can work very good for starters. After a while you can get better software if you need one.

BTW, good way to obtain free Cubase is to get some hardware like EMU products that bundle Cubase 4 LE with the products (you get some other cool software as well). For 90-100$ you can get entry level EMU PCI card that is great for audio production and get a very useful software along the way including Cubase 4 LE, T-Rex EQ, Amplitube LE etc.. everything you need to get you started with home audio production.



Yes i got Cubase 4 LE and amplitube 3. I am new to Cubase (have always used garageband) so i am just trying to figure all this stuff out....So confusing sometimes. But thanks for the help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th March 2017 - 02:18 PM