Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recording Audio for Videos
Andrew Cockburn
post Feb 17 2007, 09:38 PM
Post #1


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



I just got a new DV video camera, and I am trying to figure the best way of recording the audio - how do you guys do it? I have a mixer that my guitar, microphone, PC etc feeds into, I want to get that audio onto the video.

As far as I can see, there are 4 options, but they all have flaws:

1. Use the built in mic - quality sucks
2. Connect a line to the mic-in socket from the mixer - doesn't work too well, because I am going from a line-level to a mic-level with DC offset problems causing weird pops an such
3. Find a piece of software that will capture the video from the camera, and the audio from the sound card - I have played with Adobe Premiere elements but can't get this to work - any other software that will do this?
4. Capture audio and video separately, then try to line them up - I tried this and ran into sync problems - I used Premiere for video and cubase for audio.

Can anyone make any other suggestions? Or tell me how you do it?

Thanks!


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pavel
post Feb 17 2007, 10:38 PM
Post #2


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 3.764
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 1.055



Sony Vegas (6 or 7) will work good for that!
I use built-in mic for recording but i've seen Sony Vegas doing it by recording separate audio source and separate video source so i believe it combines it itself.


--------------------
"It isn't how many years you have been playing, it's how many hours." -- Prashant Aswani

"PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" -- Michael Angelo Batio

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Feb 18 2007, 12:34 AM
Post #3


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Pavel @ Feb 17 2007, 04:38 PM) *
Sony Vegas (6 or 7) will work good for that!
I use built-in mic for recording but i've seen Sony Vegas doing it by recording separate audio source and separate video source so i believe it combines it itself.


Thanks Pavel, I'll check it out!


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pavel
post Feb 18 2007, 01:43 AM
Post #4


Instructor
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 3.764
Joined: 8-January 07
From: Rijeka, Croatia
Member No.: 1.055



I have a Sony camera and it has it's own VideoCapture software which comes with CD, and i can say it captures video and audio better than any other programs. I use that program to capture video and audio with built-in camera mic so i never had a problem - later i simply edit the video/audio in Sony Vegas. Well there is a bit of noise but you can never avoid with this type of recording.

This post has been edited by Pavel: Feb 18 2007, 01:44 AM


--------------------
"It isn't how many years you have been playing, it's how many hours." -- Prashant Aswani

"PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!" -- Michael Angelo Batio

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kristofer Dahl
post Feb 19 2007, 03:42 PM
Post #5


GMC Founder & Rocker
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.342
Joined: 15-August 05
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 2



QUOTE
1. Use the built in mic - quality sucks


This can sound good if you have a stereo microphone on the camera and if you isolate your room with lots of cuchons, blankets /etc.).

4. This is absolutely best for qaulity


Lining in directly to the camera with a pod is also a good option.

Kris smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Feb 19 2007, 04:13 PM
Post #6


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Kristofer Dahl @ Feb 19 2007, 09:42 AM) *
This can sound good if you have a stereo microphone on the camera and if you isolate your room with lots of cuchons, blankets /etc.).

4. This is absolutely best for qaulity
Lining in directly to the camera with a pod is also a good option.

Kris smile.gif


I guess that means you managed to get 4 to work sometime? Admittedly, I tried it with a webcam the first time, now I have a DV camera so maybe that will work better.

Also using your pod (I have an XTL), which output do you use, and are you going into a Mic-in on your camera?

Thanks!


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Kristofer Dahl
post Feb 19 2007, 04:19 PM
Post #7


GMC Founder & Rocker
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.342
Joined: 15-August 05
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 2



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Feb 19 2007, 04:13 PM) *
I guess that means you managed to get 4 to work sometime? Admittedly, I tried it with a webcam the first time, now I have a DV camera so maybe that will work better.
Thanks!


The best is if you have prerecorded audio, and play "playback"/fake to that - then you can add the audio when editing.


QUOTE
Also using your pod (I have an XTL), which output do you use, and are you going into a Mic-in on your camera?


analog output and mic-in on camera


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Feb 19 2007, 04:21 PM
Post #8


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Kristofer Dahl @ Feb 19 2007, 10:19 AM) *
The best is if you have prerecorded audio, and play "playback"/fake to that - then you can add the audio when editing.
analog output and mic-in on camera


Thanks - I'll do some more experimenting!


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rockwouldbe
post Feb 20 2007, 07:38 PM
Post #9


Rock Instructor
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 219
Joined: 1-February 07
From: Israel
Member No.: 1.145



i have the same equipment you have

and i plug the line 6 from the phones slot to the mic input on the dv camera works good for me


--------------------
My gear:
Ibanez Rg2570, Pod XTL, peavey classic 30w
Guitar it is a passion

a link to the Aspiring instructor
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Feb 21 2007, 04:27 AM
Post #10


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Rockwouldbe @ Feb 20 2007, 01:38 PM) *
i have the same equipment you have

and i plug the line 6 from the phones slot to the mic input on the dv camera works good for me


Thanks - yes, the audio on your lessons is pretty good quality, I'll try that as well wink.gif


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Mar 3 2007, 05:07 PM
Post #11


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Feb 20 2007, 10:27 PM) *
Thanks - yes, the audio on your lessons is pretty good quality, I'll try that as well wink.gif


I finally got the cables and went from my headphone out to the mic in of my camera - bingo!

Thanks for all the suggestions guys!


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PickNGrin
post Mar 6 2007, 02:10 AM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 195
Joined: 10-October 06
Member No.: 873



I know a guy that did a dynamite one by matching up his video with his audio track. I have not had good luck with this myself, its essentially "lip syncing " to your self. blink.gif I have a sony handicam that burns direct to DVD.
What works great for me, sound wise, is the cheapo webcam, with the sound direct from my board going into line in on my souncard -but that yeilds weak video quality huh.gif
My camcorder has a built in surround sound mic, still sucks, there is no auxillary mic input unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th October 2017 - 10:20 AM