Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Floyd Rose Setup
AdamB
post Jul 7 2009, 09:56 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 425
Joined: 2-July 07
Member No.: 2.224



Yo,

Been playing with my new RG1570 a fair ammount. It seems that it doesn't like to stay in tune, not sure if it's the way I've set it up? I've never used a locking bridge/nut before, so I'm not sure if I've done something wrong. I locked the bridge locks, tuned to pitch, locked the nut and then used the fine tuners. But, as soon as I tune one string, all others go out of tune. This is normal on my other guitars, but after going through the strings a few times it's fine, however on this it seems it will just never be in tune. It gets to a point where the fine tuners are as far as they'll go and I have to undo the locking nut and move the fine tuners to the middle position and return and lock down again and so on, I just cannot get it to tune up correctly.

Is this a common problem? Is there something I need to do to make it tune reliably?

EDIT: Thought I should add that at first it seemed fine, so perhaps it is something I've done?

This post has been edited by AdamB: Jul 7 2009, 10:03 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Staffy
post Jul 7 2009, 10:07 AM
Post #2


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 2.294
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Genarp, Sweden
Member No.: 7.291



One thing You can do if you haven't already done it, is to stretch every string A LOT, while keeping the guitar "unlocked", eg. stretch the string - retune .. several times on every string. Also make sure that the Floyd has a straight position to the body and is "clicked in" in position before You lock the strings. Normally the Floyd keeps the tuning very good in according to my experience, so there should not be a problem...
Good luck !

//Staffay


QUOTE (AdamB @ Jul 7 2009, 10:56 AM) *
Yo,

Been playing with my new RG1570 a fair ammount. It seems that it doesn't like to stay in tune, not sure if it's the way I've set it up? I've never used a locking bridge/nut before, so I'm not sure if I've done something wrong. I locked the bridge locks, tuned to pitch, locked the nut and then used the fine tuners. But, as soon as I tune one string, all others go out of tune. This is normal on my other guitars, but after going through the strings a few times it's fine, however on this it seems it will just never be in tune. It gets to a point where the fine tuners are as far as they'll go and I have to undo the locking nut and move the fine tuners to the middle position and return and lock down again and so on, I just cannot get it to tune up correctly.

Is this a common problem? Is there something I need to do to make it tune reliably?

EDIT: Thought I should add that at first it seemed fine, so perhaps it is something I've done?



--------------------


Guitars: Ibanez AM-200, Ibanez GB-10, Fender Stratocaster Classic Player, Warmouth Custom Built, Suhr Classic Strat, Gibson Les Paul Standard 2003, Ibanez steel-string
Amps: Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, Marshall JMP 2103, AER 60
Effects: BOSS DD-20, Danelectro Trans. Overdrive, TC-Electronics G-Major, Dunlop Wah-wah, Original SansAmp, BOSS DD-2
Music by Staffy can be found at: Staffay at MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AdamB
post Jul 7 2009, 10:10 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 425
Joined: 2-July 07
Member No.: 2.224



What do you mean 'clicked in'?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chris Evans
post Jul 7 2009, 10:12 AM
Post #4


Learning Tone Guru - Community Coordinator & Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.319
Joined: 24-September 07
From: Sittingbourne, UK
Member No.: 2.860



ok, from time to time a FR can be a pain, especially with new strings, but heres what ya need to do.

Find the center point of the fine tuners (theres a middle point that you should feel, it kinda clicks) with the locking nuts at the headstock end undone tune your guitar to pitch in the normal way (leave the fine tuners alone!)

If you`ve fitted new strings you`ll need to stretch them in a bit, I usually just play the guitar "unlocked" doing mad crazy bends on all the strings to stretch them some, then retune, keep playing and re tuning until the guitar stays more or less in tune under normal playing, one final tune up then lock the nuts at the headstock end.

you should find that you only need to do a little adjustment using the fine tuners.

I`ve seen lots of people try and tune their guitar each time with the fine tuners, thats ok if they are just a little sharp or a little flat, but fine tuners are just that "for fine tuning", you need to undo the saddles (lock nuts) at the head of the guitar and tune the guitar in the normal way each time and then lock them down again.

hope that helps a little smile.gif


--------------------
Show us what part of the world you live in and get yourself
ON THE GMC:er Location MAP
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jul 7 2009, 10:16 AM
Post #5


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



I don't lock the nut until the strings have stretched fully and it's in tune. By tuning with the machinehead pegs I can keep the fine tuners in the mid the entire time so they are ready when I finally lock the nut.

Tuning takes time. Everytime you tune a string the rest of the strings are affected.
And on top of that you should keep it in level with the body.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Staffy
post Jul 7 2009, 10:26 AM
Post #6


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 2.294
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Genarp, Sweden
Member No.: 7.291



QUOTE (AdamB @ Jul 7 2009, 11:10 AM) *
What do you mean 'clicked in'?


I mean that the trem itself shall have it's "normal" position, in the middle of the screws, this position it will find if you just moving the arm back and forth... It happens sometimes that the trem get stucked in the "wrong" resting position... Micke also did a great comment describing what i meant before ... smile.gif


--------------------


Guitars: Ibanez AM-200, Ibanez GB-10, Fender Stratocaster Classic Player, Warmouth Custom Built, Suhr Classic Strat, Gibson Les Paul Standard 2003, Ibanez steel-string
Amps: Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, Marshall JMP 2103, AER 60
Effects: BOSS DD-20, Danelectro Trans. Overdrive, TC-Electronics G-Major, Dunlop Wah-wah, Original SansAmp, BOSS DD-2
Music by Staffy can be found at: Staffay at MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AdamB
post Jul 7 2009, 10:27 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 425
Joined: 2-July 07
Member No.: 2.224



Ah right cool I'll check that. Do I need to adjust the 2 posts with the allen key at all to make sure it's in the right position?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Staffy
post Jul 7 2009, 10:37 AM
Post #8


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 2.294
Joined: 18-June 09
From: Genarp, Sweden
Member No.: 7.291



QUOTE (AdamB @ Jul 7 2009, 11:27 AM) *
Ah right cool I'll check that. Do I need to adjust the 2 posts with the allen key at all to make sure it's in the right position?


Nah, normally not, since you are adjusting the height of the strings with the two poles, but you can experiment a little with it since you may prefer a lower action.... (which may take away some of the tone....)


--------------------


Guitars: Ibanez AM-200, Ibanez GB-10, Fender Stratocaster Classic Player, Warmouth Custom Built, Suhr Classic Strat, Gibson Les Paul Standard 2003, Ibanez steel-string
Amps: Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, Marshall JMP 2103, AER 60
Effects: BOSS DD-20, Danelectro Trans. Overdrive, TC-Electronics G-Major, Dunlop Wah-wah, Original SansAmp, BOSS DD-2
Music by Staffy can be found at: Staffay at MySpace
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jul 7 2009, 11:08 AM
Post #9


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



a P.S to my post. Adjust the level of the tremolo with the two screws inside the guitar

P.P.S and as a side note, the general term is "floating tremolo", your Ibanez use an Edge tremolo or some sort. There are Jackson and Charvel guitars with Floyd Rose to mention a couple. wink.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AdamB
post Jul 8 2009, 09:18 AM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 425
Joined: 2-July 07
Member No.: 2.224



Ah cheers guys. I added another spring (so there's 4 now) to the back cavity, that sorted it I think. It's still got the bar that holds the springs into the block, but only held on with 1 screw, so that concerns me a bit, but now the bridge is perfect and will not go out of tune. I spent a fair while bashing the tremolo up and down and it stayed in perfectly. It also allowed me to loosen the claw screws a little so there not all the way into the guitar, so I have room to go up and put guage 10's on if I feel like it.

Awesome!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
micpon
post Jul 8 2009, 09:40 AM
Post #11


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 57
Joined: 24-December 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 3.596



Install a Tremol-No. You can lock the tremolo, just dive or use full floating. http://www.tremol-no.com/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2017 - 06:16 PM