2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Record, from propellerhead
Bogdan Radovic
post Jul 29 2009, 01:11 PM
Post #21


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



QUOTE (Muris Varajic @ Jul 29 2009, 02:09 PM) *
I signed for beta testing couple of days ago
and I also got reply (few days after) which says beta testing is over,
so they gave me a code to use Record freely while I'm online.
This code will work until new Record is finally released in September, if I'm right.


Yeah beta testing is now over. I tried to sign up. But on the link in my previous post, you can sign up and use the software free while you are online - until the official release date.


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Laszlo Boross
post Jul 29 2009, 10:10 PM
Post #22


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 1.034
Joined: 9-July 09
From: Budapest
Member No.: 7.375



Seems a very good program!


--------------------
Check out my lessons
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
berko
post Jul 29 2009, 10:27 PM
Post #23


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.771
Joined: 2-April 08
From: Budapest, Hungary
Member No.: 4.782



This is gonna be a nice addition to their former Reason (which was a huge collection of synth plugins with interactive interface and a great sampler). If I'll ever manage to get one I'll definitely try it


--------------------
High speed, low drag


Check out my YouTube channel
HERE!


Here you can find my
MYSPACE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jul 30 2009, 02:43 PM
Post #24


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



QUOTE (Muris Varajic @ Jul 29 2009, 02:09 PM) *
I signed for beta testing couple of days ago
and I also got reply (few days after) which says beta testing is over,
so they gave me a code to use Record freely while I'm online.
This code will work until new Record is finally released in September, if I'm right.

I got my code today aswell and I'm thinking of running this parallell to Reaper v3 and then make my choice.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Aug 2 2009, 10:39 PM
Post #25


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



I recieved two invitecodes for someone to get instant access to the "beta test", which officially is over but tuns til 9/9

PM me if you want one. Fist come first served

EDIT:
One code left


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
skennington
post Aug 2 2009, 11:47 PM
Post #26


Learning Roadie - Never Give Up - Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.461
Joined: 25-November 07
From: Charlotte,NC USA
Member No.: 3.374



Micke was kind enough to send me one of his invite codes so when I signed up, they gave me two as well. So, if anybody wants to try this recording software, I have two codes available.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Aug 2 2009, 11:55 PM
Post #27


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



Just a suggestion for everyone wishing to do this...

Propellerheads are usually very good but imho and as with any Beta you should not put it on to a computer OS installation that your life/work depends on unless you are confident that you can sort out any possible issue.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheKeplerConject...
post Aug 24 2009, 06:34 PM
Post #28


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 131
Joined: 10-June 09
From: Boston Mass
Member No.: 7.261



<<Deleted - I changed my opinion and didn't want this out there misrepresentin'>>

This post has been edited by TheKeplerConjecture: Aug 28 2009, 12:02 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Aug 24 2009, 07:01 PM
Post #29


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



QUOTE (TheKeplerConjecture @ Aug 24 2009, 05:34 PM) *
PFFFFT! No VST Support. Wimps! They're afraid to allow for VSTs because it would involve a lot of 3rd party compatibility testing. The benefit here is that more time is spent testing core functionality and it will be stable. Another reason for doing this would be that they will probably release "FX Refills" soon. The could see that everyone likes the Waves SSL channel strip plug-in and since their users can't make any use of it, they can rip it off and make the money on their version.

I won't be getting this. There are already tried and true tools available that do more. The DAW world is crowded enough. I think this was a bad decision for them. We'll see. Thanks for posting.


Two of the big pluses for Reason are that it has always been that both a stable environment because it is a self contained virtual rack system. If you really want to use vsts for Reason then you can do so easily via Rewire. VST testing btw would be down to the 3rd party rather than the guys at Prop smile.gif .

Waves SSL4000 is what, a 1000USD emulation of a specific SSL console's eq, bus compressor and a channel strip? If it does emulate an SSL then i) at the price it is a real bargain ii) SSL would be the ones being 'ripped off' iii)why not make the same comment aimed at all the plug ins that aim to look like and/or emulate other bits of hardware? There are plenty of Neve/Aurient/London/Manley/Lexicon/etc plug ins including some Waves plug ins that emulate Fairchild/Neve etc but without making it clear wink.gif.


--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Aug 24 2009, 08:48 PM
Post #30


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



I tested it for a bit and it wasn't for me, or my computer rather. It wouldn't even run the demo song properly. It hogged 600MB of RAM and was rather demanding on the resources.

I can't give a fair judgement since I never got to test it because of a too weak laptop. That in itself on the other hand says something about the computer power needed to be able to use it.
Mine is no F-1 car, 1,8 GHZ with 4GB of RAM. Reaper runs just fine though.

Record was not for me at this time.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheKeplerConject...
post Aug 24 2009, 08:51 PM
Post #31


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 131
Joined: 10-June 09
From: Boston Mass
Member No.: 7.261




<<Just Ranting - Deleted, as there's no need for it here>>

This post has been edited by TheKeplerConjecture: Aug 28 2009, 12:00 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Saoirse O'Shea
post Aug 24 2009, 11:08 PM
Post #32


Moderator - low level high stakes
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.173
Joined: 27-June 07
From: Espania - Cadiz province
Member No.: 2.194



I may well have misunderstood your post but I still stand by what I said with regard to it smile.gif .

I work with several companies at alpha and beta test and am fully aware of issues to do with VST. VST is not new. If the VST spec is 'loose' then it is for Steinberg to fix not Propellerheads wink.gif. Vst is Steinberg's proprietary format, not Props.

Props business plan does not aim at producing an 'open' sequencer environment but a closed, integrated one; the idea that the lack of VST support is to generate revenue via the sales of additional re-fills is not correct. The decision is to do with maintaining a closed, integrated solution. Props has a different business model, plan and target to Steinberg and thus a different approach and 'solution' etc - Horses for courses cool.gif .




--------------------
Get your music professionally mastered by anl AES registered Mastering Engineer. Contact me for Audio Mastering Services and Advice and visit our website www.miromastering.com

Be friends on facebook with us here.

We use professional, mastering grade hardware in our mastering studo. Our hardware includes:
Cranesong Avocet II Monitor Controller, Dangerous Music Liasion Insert Hardware Router, ATC SCM Pro Monitors, Lavry Black DA11, Prism Orpheus ADC/DAC, Gyratec Gyraf XIV Parallel Passive Mastering EQ, Great River MAQ 2NV Mastering EQ, Kush Clariphonic Parallel EQ Shelf, Maselec MLA-2 Mastering Compressor, API 2500 Mastering Compressor, Eventide Eclipse Reverb/Echo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TheKeplerConject...
post Aug 24 2009, 11:50 PM
Post #33


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 131
Joined: 10-June 09
From: Boston Mass
Member No.: 7.261



QUOTE (tonymiro @ Aug 24 2009, 06:08 PM) *
I may well have misunderstood your post but I still stand by what I said with regard to it smile.gif .

I work with several companies at alpha and beta test and am fully aware of issues to do with VST. VST is not new. If the VST spec is 'loose' then it is for Steinberg to fix not Propellerheads wink.gif. Vst is Steinberg's proprietary format, not Props.

Props business plan does not aim at producing an 'open' sequencer environment but a closed, integrated one; the idea that the lack of VST support is to generate revenue via the sales of additional re-fills is not correct. The decision is to do with maintaining a closed, integrated solution. Props has a different business model, plan and target to Steinberg and thus a different approach and 'solution' etc - Horses for courses cool.gif .


Sure, and of course I know nothing about what Propellerhead's plans are. Just speculating aloud. They are clearly aiming to offer a closed environment and I'm just wondering why. I'll discontinue the sharing of my thoughts here. I'll just see what the future holds.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd May 2017 - 01:59 PM