2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New Amp Day: Blackstar Ht-5
Marc_Maiden
post Jul 12 2009, 10:51 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



What? Everyones doing it these days! its all the rage!


the blackstar Ht-5 full stack.

now originally you know the story, the whole shipping crisis and what not...well anyways

i went to GC, they got my refund and all that good jazz for me instantly...the problem was, they didnt have a 1x10 blackstar combos in store (which is what i had ordered)

the pink haired man who sold it to me tried doing all he could, and i really appreciated that, but the only blackstar they had left was 1 full stack...hmmm

so he said ill be right back, went to the managers office, came out 10 min later, and said he could get me the full stack for $100 more...

so i ended up paying $500 for the Blackstar HT-5 full stack when its usually 600-700

thought that was really cool

--------------------------------

anyways, the sound so far is really cool...i like it....and it can def get loud enough for rehersal...clean channel might have a problem, but other than that, its plenty loud.


i dont think ive ever heard an amp with such clarity in tone...the stock tubes sound really good so im going to leave them in there.

overall im happy, and i want to thank you all for your help !!

review, sound clips, all that jazz is coming soon!


Pics:






--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
NoSkill
post Jul 12 2009, 11:31 PM
Post #2


Experienced Tone Seeker
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.039
Joined: 30-January 07
From: Canada
Member No.: 1.135



Nice! I'm glad your fiasco is over! I don't have an amp now as I'm just using a computer. I've been seriously considering this amp as it may just be perfect for my uses.

Cheers!


--------------------


Still looking for my soul mate, guitar.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Jul 12 2009, 11:35 PM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



Congrats!!

That makes you 2 since Emir took mine. laugh.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Jul 13 2009, 12:17 AM
Post #4


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



wow man that is a very cool amp you got ! And a full stack! smile.gif


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZakkWylde
post Jul 13 2009, 12:25 AM
Post #5


Learning Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: MVC
Posts: 3.185
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 2.164



I got the combo just a week ago and it's just unbelievable what this thing can do!


--------------------


Gear:
- Jackson USA Select KV2 King V with EMG 81/85
- Gibson Les Paul Custom Arctic White with EMG 81/85
- Ibanez Rg 8527 J Custom 7-String with DiMarzio Evolution and Air Norton

- Peavey 6505+ head with Marshall 1960AV 4x12 cab
- Peavey Vypyr 30 Practice Amp
- Dunlop Crybaby From Hell, Maxon OD808, Boss TU-2, MXR CarbonCopy, ISP Decimator, MXR Custom Audio Electronics Booster

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Canis
post Jul 13 2009, 12:51 AM
Post #6


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 3.319
Joined: 22-October 07
From: Molde, Norway
Member No.: 3.108



Finally! Congratulations! ^^

Am I mistaken if I take it that you're extremely satisfied with it, and have finally found your tone? Seeing as you're advertising it in your signature? =)


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Jul 13 2009, 01:11 AM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



hahah yeah...this is def the "start" if what im looking for...even though tone can change through things like the EQ, each amp has its own "base" tone, and this amps "base" tone is what im looking for...its very very warm, punchy, and articulate...

all i have to do now, is find the right tone with effects, and EQ put in, and ill be happening smile.gif


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Jul 13 2009, 06:58 AM
Post #8


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



Nice, congratulations mate biggrin.gif
Looks awesome!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
-Zion-
post Jul 13 2009, 07:34 AM
Post #9


Learning Roadie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 713
Joined: 20-May 08
From: copenhagen
Member No.: 5.141



awesome.. congratz mate.. smile.gif

i have the combo version, and i love it.. biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sted
post Jul 13 2009, 09:13 AM
Post #10


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.758
Joined: 13-April 08
From: Merseyside, UK
Member No.: 4.882



you get yours the day i got rid of mine!lol

I just found it way too loud for the house but other than that it rocks, you'll need a reverb though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Jul 13 2009, 09:30 AM
Post #11


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



Rock 'n roll! Congtarz! smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
post Jul 13 2009, 03:16 PM
Post #12


Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.890
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 3.338



Looks awesome Marc, good choice smile.gif



--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Ibanez RG2570MZ, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D

GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Share your playing and get Pro-advice from our Instructors: Join REC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matt23
post Jul 13 2009, 03:31 PM
Post #13


Accomplished Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.745
Joined: 17-January 08
From: Scotland
Member No.: 3.866



Awesome amp Marc, hope it serves you well. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AdamB
post Jul 13 2009, 04:29 PM
Post #14


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 425
Joined: 2-July 07
Member No.: 2.224



with the ht 5 head, do you have to have a cabinet attached to use the line-out?

I know that on most valve amps, if you don't have a load attached to the speaker output it'll blow the output transformer (or at least throw the fuse), but sometimes they attach a dummy load (basicly a resistor) to the speaker jack internally using a switching jack, that engages if no speaker cable is plugged into the speaker jack. Is this the case with the ht5, or do you have to attach a cabinet even when using the line-out?

-Adam
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sted
post Jul 13 2009, 05:30 PM
Post #15


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.758
Joined: 13-April 08
From: Merseyside, UK
Member No.: 4.882



QUOTE (AdamB @ Jul 13 2009, 04:29 PM) *
with the ht 5 head, do you have to have a cabinet attached to use the line-out?

I know that on most valve amps, if you don't have a load attached to the speaker output it'll blow the output transformer (or at least throw the fuse), but sometimes they attach a dummy load (basicly a resistor) to the speaker jack internally using a switching jack, that engages if no speaker cable is plugged into the speaker jack. Is this the case with the ht5, or do you have to attach a cabinet even when using the line-out?

-Adam


No mate, the head can be used independantly I beleive, it is quite a unique feature!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sensible Jones
post Jul 13 2009, 05:36 PM
Post #16


GMC:er
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.233
Joined: 2-January 09
From: London-ish. UK.
Member No.: 6.517



Congrats Marc!!! Glad to hear that it's all finally been resolved!!!
Look forward to your review!!!
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif


--------------------
I'd rather have a full Bottle in front of me than a full Frontal Lobotomy!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kaznie_NL
post Jul 13 2009, 07:53 PM
Post #17


Experienced Tone Seeker
*

Group: Passive
Posts: 4.809
Joined: 8-December 07
From: Hedel, Netherlands
Member No.: 3.471



Cool man!


--------------------
My YouTube Channel Here

My Rec Takes Here


--- GEAR ---
Ibanez SA08LTD2 BAR
Vox AD50VT
Pod Farm
Line 6 Pod Studio GX
El Cheapo Strat
Dunlop Slide
Korg Toneworks AX5G
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emir Hot
post Jul 13 2009, 11:34 PM
Post #18


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 7.201
Joined: 14-July 08
From: London UK
Member No.: 5.490



Well done man. I tried that one several days ago and I was impressed how good it works.


--------------------
Check out my <a href="https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Emir-Hot" target="_blank">Instructor profile</a>

www.emirhot.com
www.myspace.com/emirhotguitar
www.myspace.com/sevdahmetal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
AdamB
post Jul 14 2009, 09:03 AM
Post #19


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 425
Joined: 2-July 07
Member No.: 2.224



Awesome. At the moment I practice through a little vox modelling battery amp, which isn't amazing, so I've been thinking of finding something I can replace it with. This head might do the job, as I could use it for practicing through headphones and use it for practicing etc. Quite cheap, too! Think I saw the head alone for about 250/300 quid.

-Adam
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
maharzan
post Aug 7 2009, 05:31 AM
Post #20


Veteran Guitar Lord
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.333
Joined: 2-May 09
From: Kathmandu
Member No.: 7.127



Congrats!!

I am on the line to get one.. can't decide to get a combo or a mini half stack..

BTW, all of you guys, please post some clips.. I have gone through a lot on youtube but I would like to hear from you here too. smile.gif

Thanks.


--------------------
Checkout my YouTube & my band Nissim's YouTube channels.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th March 2017 - 04:38 PM