Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Anybody Here Played A Line 6 Flextone Ii?
megadeth1117
post Aug 16 2009, 09:08 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 136
Joined: 8-August 07
Member No.: 2.509



Dont mean to be a bother again but does anyone here own the Line 6 Flextone II? I was playing my friends and it actually sounded very great, but on reviews I have read, I heard it craps out on max volume

can anyone here tell me if that's true?

Thanks in advance
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Aug 16 2009, 09:17 PM
Post #2


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



Try searching for posts from nick "noangels" if I remember well he spoke dearly of Flextone.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marc_Maiden
post Aug 20 2009, 01:48 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.164
Joined: 23-October 08
From: Fremont, CA
Member No.: 6.124



i really liked the one i played...they are pre spider amps...try one!


--------------------
- Marc
Current Set up:
Atomic Reactor 2x12 Cab/power amp with a Digitech rp1000 as a preamp
Schecter c1 plus electric guitar

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
UncleSkillet
post Aug 20 2009, 02:14 AM
Post #4


Learning Tone Seeker
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.525
Joined: 21-January 08
From: Cincinnati, Ohio
Member No.: 3.915



I have one and like it very much. It is a modeling amp and you really need to get the midi to usb interface cable. This will allow you to use your PC and Line 6 Edit software to tweak your patches (sound).

I have never had a need to turn mine up all the way so I can't comment on that. It is a pretty loud amp and if you need more volume at a live gig you can run xlr direct outs in stereo to a mixing board.

Don't forget to get the foot switch if you get one so you can switch between you tone patches.


--------------------
"Think of a guitar solo as a paragraph. You need a clear beginning, a middle, and an end. Look at musical phrases like sentences, and make sure you break them up using punctuation—or space. You pause naturally when conversing, right? If you don't, you'll bore the listener. The same thing will happen with your audience if your solo is one dimensional. You'll wear them out and lose their attention." —Tom Principato
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamblackmo
post Aug 21 2009, 03:05 AM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 1-September 08
From: Tampa, Fl USA
Member No.: 5.818



QUOTE (UncleSkillet @ Aug 19 2009, 09:14 PM) *
I have one and like it very much. It is a modeling amp and you really need to get the midi to usb interface cable. This will allow you to use your PC and Line 6 Edit software to tweak your patches (sound).

I have never had a need to turn mine up all the way so I can't comment on that. It is a pretty loud amp and if you need more volume at a live gig you can run xlr direct outs in stereo to a mixing board.

Don't forget to get the foot switch if you get one so you can switch between you tone patches.


I traded a half-stack crate for some money any my Flextone II XL. It packs a punch and it takes some tweaking to achieve a nice tone. I do not know about the USB to MIDI interface, it may be something to look into because I desire to tweak my tone a bit more.

As for big sound, I play with a drummer, a bass player, and another guitarist: With the amps master volume at 6 it engulfs my friends halfstack and still maintains it's tone, especially using the recitifier modeling.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Noangels
post Aug 22 2009, 09:38 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 316
Joined: 4-August 08
From: blighty
Member No.: 5.628



I have an old flextytone 2 amp that I have used for years for home noodlings and even a gig in a dirty pub in Bath!
If you push it realy hard it can break up a bit,but if you mic up the speaker and let the the soundman give you volume then its great

I use a vetta 2 head in a cover band Im in,I have to be honest and say the flexytone 2 amp has a lot better and realer amp sounding models(apart from the engl powerball vetta models that sound pretty good!)The soldano amps on the flexys are realy good,it sounds a lot like my pod pro with original firmware-the more FX line 6 throws on these amps the more it moves away from the organic original amp tones they used to have!

Kind of prefer tube amps to be honest,use a switchblade with my metal band and am noodling at home on an old carvin belair combo with prs over kerrang on sky-killer rock tone!


--------------------
Ibanez geo and a line 6 spider
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th March 2017 - 06:30 PM