Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Connecting Passive Speakers To Mixer
Deleted
post Aug 29 2009, 07:25 PM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 181
Joined: 4-June 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 5.240



Hi,

I have a Yamaha mg82cx mixer and I want connect my passive speakers in order to use microphone.

I noticed that speakers have a strange cable (i don't know the name) because they have no connectors...



How can I do to connect speakers to the mixer? Is there any adapter which can work?

Thanks


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emir Hot
post Aug 29 2009, 08:43 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 7.201
Joined: 14-July 08
From: London UK
Member No.: 5.490



You need to buy connectors and attach them. They cost £3 each and it is very easy to make it yourself with some simple tools. I did it many times


--------------------
Check out my <a href="https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Emir-Hot" target="_blank">Instructor profile</a>

www.emirhot.com
www.myspace.com/emirhotguitar
www.myspace.com/sevdahmetal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Static
post Aug 29 2009, 09:42 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 46
Joined: 23-February 08
Member No.: 4.360



QUOTE (Emir Hot @ Aug 29 2009, 09:43 PM) *
You need to buy connectors and attach them. They cost £3 each and it is very easy to make it yourself with some simple tools. I did it many times


Correct me if I'm wrong, but wouldn't you need an external amplifier to boost the audio signal up to a sufficient level to power the speakers?


--------------------

Guitars: Peavey HP Special Custom, Gibson SG Standard, Ibanez RG1570
Amps: Marshall TSL601, Fender Frontman Reverb, Fender Champion 600
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emir Hot
post Aug 29 2009, 10:32 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 7.201
Joined: 14-July 08
From: London UK
Member No.: 5.490



If your mixer doesn't have an amp inside then yes you will need one.


--------------------
Check out my <a href="https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Emir-Hot" target="_blank">Instructor profile</a>

www.emirhot.com
www.myspace.com/emirhotguitar
www.myspace.com/sevdahmetal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Deleted
post Aug 30 2009, 09:11 AM
Post #5


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 181
Joined: 4-June 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 5.240



QUOTE (Emir Hot @ Aug 29 2009, 11:32 PM) *
If your mixer doesn't have an amp inside then yes you will need one.


I don't know if the Yamaha mg82cx has a built in amp. How can I see that?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jerry Arcidiacon...
post Aug 30 2009, 09:32 AM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.220
Joined: 2-August 07
From: Turin, Italy
Member No.: 2.464



I'm reading the manual downloaded from Yamaha website. You need a power amp + passive speakers or powered speakers, so I guess the mg82cx does not have a built in amp.


--------------------

::: Main Gear :::

Guitars : Washburn N4 Vintage | Washburn N2 | Washburn WI67Pro | Washburn WG-587 | Washburn EA20B
Amps : Laney GH50L (head) | Laney GS410 & GS212IE (cabinets) | Rocktron PROGAP Ultra (rack preamp) | Rocktron Velocity 150 (power amp) | Marshall VS230 (combo)
FXs : Rocktron Intellifex + custom pedalboard (check my video demo)
Other : Shredneck | Intellitouch PT10 tuner
Picks : Esseti Picks

Software & Recording Gear : Cubase 4 | Overloud TH1 | Mackie Onyx 400F | EZdrummer | Korg Pandora PX4D


-------------------------------------------------------

myspace.com/jerryarcidiacono

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Deleted
post Aug 30 2009, 10:07 AM
Post #7


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 181
Joined: 4-June 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 5.240



I'm reading here that mg82cx has "High-performance mic preamps". Can this mean anything?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jerry Arcidiacon...
post Aug 30 2009, 10:18 AM
Post #8


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.220
Joined: 2-August 07
From: Turin, Italy
Member No.: 2.464



Yeah, mixers have preamp for each mic channel, so you can set different volumes with gain knobs and faders. You need a "main amp" to boost the signal to the speakers.
Usually powered mixers are bigger because they have the built in amp. Your model is a passive one.

http://www.yamahamusic.com.au/products/pro...ers/default.asp


--------------------

::: Main Gear :::

Guitars : Washburn N4 Vintage | Washburn N2 | Washburn WI67Pro | Washburn WG-587 | Washburn EA20B
Amps : Laney GH50L (head) | Laney GS410 & GS212IE (cabinets) | Rocktron PROGAP Ultra (rack preamp) | Rocktron Velocity 150 (power amp) | Marshall VS230 (combo)
FXs : Rocktron Intellifex + custom pedalboard (check my video demo)
Other : Shredneck | Intellitouch PT10 tuner
Picks : Esseti Picks

Software & Recording Gear : Cubase 4 | Overloud TH1 | Mackie Onyx 400F | EZdrummer | Korg Pandora PX4D


-------------------------------------------------------

myspace.com/jerryarcidiacono

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Deleted
post Aug 30 2009, 10:20 AM
Post #9


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 181
Joined: 4-June 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 5.240



Ok, thanks!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jerry Arcidiacon...
post Aug 30 2009, 10:25 AM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.220
Joined: 2-August 07
From: Turin, Italy
Member No.: 2.464



You're welcome smile.gif
Where are you from Deleted??


--------------------

::: Main Gear :::

Guitars : Washburn N4 Vintage | Washburn N2 | Washburn WI67Pro | Washburn WG-587 | Washburn EA20B
Amps : Laney GH50L (head) | Laney GS410 & GS212IE (cabinets) | Rocktron PROGAP Ultra (rack preamp) | Rocktron Velocity 150 (power amp) | Marshall VS230 (combo)
FXs : Rocktron Intellifex + custom pedalboard (check my video demo)
Other : Shredneck | Intellitouch PT10 tuner
Picks : Esseti Picks

Software & Recording Gear : Cubase 4 | Overloud TH1 | Mackie Onyx 400F | EZdrummer | Korg Pandora PX4D


-------------------------------------------------------

myspace.com/jerryarcidiacono

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Deleted
post Aug 30 2009, 11:30 AM
Post #11


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 181
Joined: 4-June 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 5.240



I came from Bari, I see you're italian too,ci sono stato diverse volte a Torino smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Aug 30 2009, 02:15 PM
Post #12


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



In the first picture there are some connectors to the right of the speakers attached. Do you have a Aux in on your unit that powers speakers? You could then connect the mixer to the unit that has speakers attached to and hear your microphone that way.


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jerry Arcidiacon...
post Aug 30 2009, 03:12 PM
Post #13


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.220
Joined: 2-August 07
From: Turin, Italy
Member No.: 2.464



QUOTE (Deleted @ Aug 30 2009, 12:30 PM) *
I came from Bari, I see you're italian too,ci sono stato diverse volte a Torino smile.gif


smile.gif
I never been in Bari, unfortunately, but I know all the Apulia region is awesome.


--------------------

::: Main Gear :::

Guitars : Washburn N4 Vintage | Washburn N2 | Washburn WI67Pro | Washburn WG-587 | Washburn EA20B
Amps : Laney GH50L (head) | Laney GS410 & GS212IE (cabinets) | Rocktron PROGAP Ultra (rack preamp) | Rocktron Velocity 150 (power amp) | Marshall VS230 (combo)
FXs : Rocktron Intellifex + custom pedalboard (check my video demo)
Other : Shredneck | Intellitouch PT10 tuner
Picks : Esseti Picks

Software & Recording Gear : Cubase 4 | Overloud TH1 | Mackie Onyx 400F | EZdrummer | Korg Pandora PX4D


-------------------------------------------------------

myspace.com/jerryarcidiacono

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Deleted
post Aug 30 2009, 03:18 PM
Post #14


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 181
Joined: 4-June 08
From: Italy
Member No.: 5.240



QUOTE (Bogdan Radovic @ Aug 30 2009, 03:15 PM) *
In the first picture there are some connectors to the right of the speakers attached. Do you have a Aux in on your unit that powers speakers? You could then connect the mixer to the unit that has speakers attached to and hear your microphone that way.


I know what you mean, I've already done what you said and it works, but the problem is if I want to play live... I can't take the unit with me.

Thanks for the help


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Aug 30 2009, 03:30 PM
Post #15


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



QUOTE (Deleted @ Aug 30 2009, 04:18 PM) *
I know what you mean, I've already done what you said and it works, but the problem is if I want to play live... I can't take the unit with me.

Thanks for the help


Hmm for live purposes you would definitely need a strong PA system. Also it has to be active (built in amplifier in the speakers), then you just connect your mixer to them. Something like this : http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/produ...stem?sku=620523

Cheers from Bogdan


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Aug 31 2009, 02:07 PM
Post #16


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



The only solution would be to buy a power amp. Then you can make a chain:

mixer>poweramp>speakers

if you use it for some gigs, the quality of sound wouldn't be that important, so I guess some cheap Behringer unit could do the job.

This post has been edited by Ivan Milenkovic: Aug 31 2009, 02:08 PM


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th May 2017 - 02:33 PM