Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Do You Hear You Input Audio While You Are Recording?
iamblackmo
post Sep 4 2009, 02:00 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 1-September 08
From: Tampa, Fl USA
Member No.: 5.818



Topic:

I want to purchase some software or a device that will let me record to my computer, while monitoring the input. Other than micing my amp or running a cable from the headphone jack to my mic input on my computer (which wont allow me to monitor the feed).

I asked about this in the gear forum, I did not get an answer. I don't want to spend a ton of money, but I would like something to record my ideas or to make demonstrations.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Sep 4 2009, 02:27 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



I see.

Thing is, sometimes you don't wanna hear your input audio signal,
this is the case when you use VST guitar plug-ins like Guitar Rig, Amplitube etc.
It would be confusing to hear both dry guitar sound and final tone that comes from
plug-in which can also be delayed sometimes a little,
that depends of your PC's power, if other VSTs are in use etc.

So if you wanna use plug-ins like Guitar Rig etc
then you should have some DAW (Reaper maybe), descent audio card
or one of those Line6 units that works as guitar interfaces and audio cards at the same time.

I have E-MU 1820m audio card which is kind a semi-pro one.

Many GMCers use these Line6 units for recording and have lots of experience with it,
I never had any of them so I can hardly help you there. sad.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
David Wallimann
post Sep 4 2009, 03:47 PM
Post #3


Instructor
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4.565
Joined: 29-March 07
From: Fort Collins, CO
Member No.: 1.439



There are several ways to go...
If you have an amp with a direct out, you could try that...
Or use a multi-effect that would go straight into the sound card. I usually use a Boss GT8, you can find them on Ebay.

You could also go the software route. There are a bunch of cool amp simulators like Guitar Rig (a lot of us use that one)... The only thing with that is that you need a good soundcard with low latency and a fast computer.

Reaper is a good multitrack software too..

I hope that helps!


--------------------
www.youtube.com/Wallimann
www.davidwallimann.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Sep 4 2009, 04:01 PM
Post #4


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



QUOTE (iamblackmo @ Sep 4 2009, 03:00 PM) *
Topic:

I want to purchase some software or a device that will let me record to my computer, while monitoring the input. Other than micing my amp or running a cable from the headphone jack to my mic input on my computer (which wont allow me to monitor the feed).

I asked about this in the gear forum, I did not get an answer. I don't want to spend a ton of money, but I would like something to record my ideas or to make demonstrations.

1. Whats the budget?
2. What do you plan to record with it? (guitars, mics etc)
3. Do you plan to use some modeling software? (and what software you already own)
4. Does the price of modeling software goes into the budget mentioned?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamblackmo
post Sep 4 2009, 04:45 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 1-September 08
From: Tampa, Fl USA
Member No.: 5.818



QUOTE (Ivan Milenkovic @ Sep 4 2009, 11:01 AM) *
1. Whats the budget?
2. What do you plan to record with it? (guitars, mics etc)
3. Do you plan to use some modeling software? (and what software you already own)
4. Does the price of modeling software goes into the budget mentioned?


I have a Flextone II. I was told to use the outs or to mic it if I wanted to hear it

I have two pretty good computers, my desktop runs Linux. I mainly want to try to record over backing tracks for the REC program and make demonstrations or free jamming and recording it a diary of ideas of sorts.

I considered guitar rig, but I was told that was a little too much for what I wanted to do. I was thinking about using a POD or Pandora of some sort.

I would be willing to spend $150 American on a package, even if I have to compromise, I just want to be able to get a good quality recording with the ability to mix, and maybe even model or set-up tones through software.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joruus
post Sep 4 2009, 04:55 PM
Post #6


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 306
Joined: 22-May 08
From: the Netherlands
Member No.: 5.158



A Pod Studio would work great for that, and its less then 100$

You can easily connect the Pod Studio to your pc with USB, manage your tone on your pc, hear your guitarsound + your backingtrack from your pc speakers, and record it all smile.gif


--------------------
Gear:
Guitars: Ibanez Jem 7vwh, Ibanez RG 350 DX, Gibson Les Paul Studio
Effects: Line 6 PODxt + FBV MKII Express pedal
Amp: Line6 SpiderIII 15
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Vasilije Vukmiro...
post Sep 4 2009, 05:23 PM
Post #7


Jazz Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 2.691
Joined: 1-October 08
From: Belgrade
Member No.: 6.012



I don't hear it, I mean I hear just natural guitar noise unamplfied
but I add effects and stuff later.... I am more focused on getting lound clean tone that way!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamblackmo
post Sep 4 2009, 07:10 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 1-September 08
From: Tampa, Fl USA
Member No.: 5.818



QUOTE (Vasilije Vukmirovic @ Sep 4 2009, 12:23 PM) *
I don't hear it, I mean I hear just natural guitar noise unamplfied
but I add effects and stuff later.... I am more focused on getting lound clean tone that way!


I can see why having an audio output when trying to get a high-quality recording, without a home-studio can be a hindrance on a normal pc.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
post Sep 4 2009, 08:30 PM
Post #9


Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.838
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 3.338



I hear my signal while recording.

I also recommend you a pod studio, pretty good for the buck!


--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Ibanez RG2570MZ, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D

GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Share your playing and get Pro-advice from our Instructors: Join REC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd January 2017 - 02:57 AM