Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Make Shift Amp + Recording, Well, I made some changes
CathShadow
post Sep 15 2009, 03:29 PM
Post #1


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 383
Joined: 5-August 08
From: South Africa
Member No.: 5.638



Ok, So i'm in Holland now and I REALLY need to save, however I brought my Ibanez and my RP90 processor... Now, I didn't have an amp and was getting very tired of using earphones, so I landed up unplugging the center/sub cable from the PC (the connector between PC and sub itself) and plugged it into my Modelling Processor... works beautifully...

Then I had another spark (after buying a Guitar->usb cable) -> I can use the same concept to plug the guitar (from the processor (OR guitar) to the MIC connector (one of the big to little connector converters I had lying around fits the setup lol)...

Since both the Store bought cable (which is really great because of it's quality and ability to convert from analog to digital) AND my makeshift cable both work as MIC, I joined the concepts together (worked well)...


Only thing I Don't like is that since it works as a MIC, natively windows doesn't play the sound you send through your MIC due to echoing issues -> so I have to still keep the "Makeshift amp" setup instead of just outputting the guitar through the recording cable connection...

Anyone got ideas how to do this?


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sinisa Cekic
post Sep 15 2009, 11:53 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 4.649
Joined: 15-October 08
From: Belgrade,Serbia
Member No.: 6.085



Which sound card you have ?!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Sep 16 2009, 12:19 AM
Post #3


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



I didn't understand what exactly you are trying to do, could you rephrase a bit? What sound card do you have? Do you want to connect RP90 to PC?


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CathShadow
post Sep 16 2009, 06:39 AM
Post #4


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 383
Joined: 5-August 08
From: South Africa
Member No.: 5.638



heheh yeah guess I didn't explain it the best:

Well I have an onboard in Raeltek HD...

basically I've gotten the guitar to be able to record on the PC using the Mic as input. but I cannot hear the guitar at all using this method until playback.

however the other method I use is bypassing the PC and outputting the sound directly to the speakers instead.

So I can hear the sound by combining the two.

Thing is that takes away my center/sub channels while I play.

So I want to figure out how to get the sound to be outputted through the PC as well using only the proper guitar=>usb connector (which uses a Mic channel)



--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Sep 16 2009, 09:49 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



realtek is intergrated sound card that doesn't serve for audio recording well, because it has too big latency. If you want to record on computer, you need an audio interface, preferably USB one for convenient use.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Toni Suominen
post Sep 17 2009, 12:22 PM
Post #6


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 3.038
Joined: 2-December 07
From: Rauma, Finland
Member No.: 3.434



+1 on what Ivan said, the soundcard on your motherboard isn't very good for recording. You can get USB interfaces for pretty cheap.


--------------------
Gear:
-PRS Custom 22
-Edwards Les Paul
-PodXT
-Ibanez Acoustic


Check out my lessons and my instructor profile!

My Youtube channel

My Last.FM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Pedja Simovic
post Sep 17 2009, 01:26 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 8.109
Joined: 13-September 08
From: Nis, Serbia
Member No.: 5.892



Ivan is right.
I would just add that you could use integrated sound card but it takes some work to make it work. Like installing Asio 4 all drivers adjusting them in your DAW and having minimal latency. My bass player does that and records that way, he taught me to do the same. Its great if you are on zero budget smile.gif
Ideally you would want specific sound card that will serve you for future and your music projects overall. I use POD X3 live via USB to record and adjust that in DAW as sound card option. Works great, no latency!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CathShadow
post Sep 17 2009, 02:13 PM
Post #8


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 383
Joined: 5-August 08
From: South Africa
Member No.: 5.638



QUOTE (Pedja Simovic @ Sep 17 2009, 02:26 PM) *
Ivan is right.
I would just add that you could use integrated sound card but it takes some work to make it work. Like installing Asio 4 all drivers adjusting them in your DAW and having minimal latency. My bass player does that and records that way, he taught me to do the same. Its great if you are on zero budget smile.gif
Ideally you would want specific sound card that will serve you for future and your music projects overall. I use POD X3 live via USB to record and adjust that in DAW as sound card option. Works great, no latency!


Hmmm
I think I should consider that => also a side note: the usb cable that I have essentially Bypasses the soundcard and converts the sound to digital (so the quality when i record seems decent) => however It's hearing what I'm playing real time that is the issue (I want to hear it through the PC speakers while I play ) (although the recording quality is great)... I think specifically that is a raeltek issue though... (since that usb cable acts as a usb mic) so basically I want to route the "USB MIC" to the PC Speakers tongue.gif... maybe new soundcard seems to be the solution..


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
CathShadow
post Sep 17 2009, 08:29 PM
Post #9


Learning Apprentice Player
*

Group: Members
Posts: 383
Joined: 5-August 08
From: South Africa
Member No.: 5.638





Ok... So: there's an arb hidden setting: Stereo Mix, as well as a setting within Audacity => Transport->software playthrough...

which means I got what I wanted to right...

However you were right about the latency of the soundcard. It's TERRIBLE...

SOOOOOOOOOOOO if I wanna do this, I guess I need another SoundCard, or just do it my "makeshift amp" way and just change the wires when I wanna use my PC for entertainment rather than education wink.gif

Thanks for all the help/input wink.gif


--------------------

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Sep 18 2009, 08:07 AM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



No problem man, let use know if there are any more problems. Cheers smile.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2017 - 03:32 AM