2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Apple Notebook
Tolek
post Oct 18 2009, 04:50 PM
Post #1


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



Hey everybody,
I´m looking for a notebook by Apple which I´m going to use during my guitar studies in London (and later of course tongue.gif). I´ve not much experience with Apple and that´s why I´m asking you.
Does a "music notebook" exist? (I mean a macbook with Logic and other music material) If not, what would be the best alternative? Buying Logic and a normal Macbook?

Every help is welcome. smile.gif
Thanks,
Tolek
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Oct 18 2009, 04:58 PM
Post #2


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



I think you can order any Macbook with software you prefer using Apple Online Store.
http://store.apple.com/us/browse/home/shop...ACBOOKPRO-INDEX

Select any model that fits you by price and configuration
and you'll be guided to next step when you choose software you want. smile.gif

edit: old me...typo. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Muris Varajic: Oct 18 2009, 04:58 PM


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Crazy_Diamond
post Oct 18 2009, 05:00 PM
Post #3


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 897
Joined: 28-November 06
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 956



I don't think it comes together. If you buy it online you can combine some software tho and they have deals for students. I would buy a Macbook Pro with Logic at your place. Logic is an awesome software and pretty easy to use (after reading a bit). It won't be complicated at all to install Logic once you have your computer.

If you have any questions on mac I'm here to help!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rated Htr
post Oct 18 2009, 05:01 PM
Post #4


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.095
Joined: 15-October 07
From: Leiria, Portugal
Member No.: 3.056



I bought a macbook pro so, if it fits me, it will also fit you Tolek


--------------------
Currently Practicing

Rhythm: Finnish Power Metal III: Nightwish
Legato: Ben's Land Of Legato
Alternate Picking: Alternate Picking Workout #5
Chords: Chord Melody Technique

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Oct 18 2009, 05:02 PM
Post #5


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



What I linked you earlier was MacbookPro.

Here is the same thing for Macbook but seems like they offer one size only, 13".
http://store.apple.com/us/browse/home/shop...W-MACBOOK-INDEX

QUOTE (Crazy_Diamond @ Oct 18 2009, 06:00 PM) *
If you have any questions on mac I'm here to help!


How about Windows on Mac?? laugh.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Crazy_Diamond
post Oct 18 2009, 05:04 PM
Post #6


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 897
Joined: 28-November 06
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 956



QUOTE (Muris Varajic @ Oct 18 2009, 12:02 PM) *
How about Windows on Mac?? laugh.gif


Hahaha Muris, I was expecting to get that kind of answer tongue.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Oct 18 2009, 06:10 PM
Post #7


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



Wow, great help here, thanks! smile.gif

Is it better to buy a customized MacBook or a standard one plus Logic Studio?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Crazy_Diamond
post Oct 18 2009, 06:18 PM
Post #8


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 897
Joined: 28-November 06
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 956



It really depends on what you want to achieve with your mac. Each time I was trying to create one for myself it came to a price wwwwaaaayyyyyy to expensive. I think that with a macbook Pro you are going to have plenty of power to do what ever you want. I have made an HD movie in the past and I did all the editing on a Macbook Pro and everything worked perfectly. Currently I am on a normal macbook an I feel it miss a bit of power.

I would definetely go to a MacBook Pro(there is a few models) and buy Logic.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Oct 18 2009, 09:41 PM
Post #9


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



What I basically want to do is music. smile.gif Recording, mixing, etc.

Btw, does the macbook have an input for my guitar cable? Or do I have to buy an interface?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
VinceG
post Oct 18 2009, 09:42 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.891
Joined: 7-December 06
Member No.: 973



Yeah, I'd go with a Macbook Pro 15" or 17" if you want to do some music stuff on your computer. It's much more powerful than a normal Macbook Pro 13".


--------------------
METAL SUCKS

My Last.fm account. View it for all the terrible music I play on a daily basis
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
audiopaal
post Oct 18 2009, 09:45 PM
Post #11


Competitions Coordinator - Up the Irons
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 5.447
Joined: 17-February 08
From: Stavanger, Norway
Member No.: 4.276



QUOTE (Tolek @ Oct 18 2009, 10:41 PM) *
What I basically want to do is music. smile.gif Recording, mixing, etc.

Btw, does the macbook have an input for my guitar cable? Or do I have to buy an interface?

I have a cable from Monster Cables, that goes straight into my line-in (Macbook Pro 15"), and I can record with zero latency in Garageband and it's built in guitar amp sims and effects smile.gif
Works great smile.gif

I'll find the link for you!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Crazy_Diamond
post Oct 18 2009, 09:52 PM
Post #12


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 897
Joined: 28-November 06
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 956



I use a line6 guitar port interface to record my guitar. u usually record it dry and put some effects from Logic and Line 6 after. I also have something calle a iMic wich I can plug my guitar straight in the computer but it doesn't work well. I prefer the Line 6 interface.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Emir Hot
post Oct 18 2009, 09:59 PM
Post #13


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 7.201
Joined: 14-July 08
From: London UK
Member No.: 5.490



If you're going to the same school as Rated then you'll be using Cubase. No need for Mac as you can install it on PC laptop as well (much cheaper). Buy some external USB soundcard and you're all set.


--------------------
Check out my <a href="https://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Emir-Hot" target="_blank">Instructor profile</a>

www.emirhot.com
www.myspace.com/emirhotguitar
www.myspace.com/sevdahmetal
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Oct 18 2009, 10:02 PM
Post #14


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



QUOTE (audiopaal @ Oct 18 2009, 10:45 PM) *
I have a cable from Monster Cables, that goes straight into my line-in (Macbook Pro 15"), and I can record with zero latency in Garageband and it's built in guitar amp sims and effects smile.gif
Works great smile.gif

I'll find the link for you!

Thanks! smile.gif I have a POD Studio UX1 interface (just realized it biggrin.gif). I think it´s gonna work, as well. However, such a cable would be more practical. Let´s have a look at it! smile.gif
Is Garageband a preinstalled software?

QUOTE (Crazy_Diamond @ Oct 18 2009, 10:52 PM) *
I use a line6 guitar port interface to record my guitar. u usually record it dry and put some effects from Logic and Line 6 after. I also have something calle a iMic wich I can plug my guitar straight in the computer but it doesn't work well. I prefer the Line 6 interface.

Oh, I have a Line6 POD Studio. I think it´s gonna work. smile.gif

QUOTE (Emir Hot @ Oct 18 2009, 10:59 PM) *
If you're going to the same school as Rated then you'll be using Cubase. No need for Mac as you can install it on PC laptop as well (much cheaper). Buy some external USB soundcard and you're all set.

ohmy.gif
As you know, I plan to attempt the ICMP. Rated said they´re using Logic... huh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Crazy_Diamond
post Oct 18 2009, 10:02 PM
Post #15


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 897
Joined: 28-November 06
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 956



QUOTE (Tolek @ Oct 18 2009, 05:00 PM) *
Is Garageband a preinstalled software?


Oh, I have a Line6 POD Studio. I think it´s gonna work. smile.gif


Yes and yes...



--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tolek
post Oct 18 2009, 10:06 PM
Post #16


Learning Rock Star
Group Icon

Group: Student Instructor
Posts: 2.888
Joined: 23-March 07
From: Brighton
Member No.: 1.402



QUOTE (Crazy_Diamond @ Oct 18 2009, 11:02 PM) *
Yes and yes...

Ok, great, thanks a lot! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Rated Htr
post Oct 18 2009, 11:32 PM
Post #17


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2.095
Joined: 15-October 07
From: Leiria, Portugal
Member No.: 3.056



QUOTE (Tolek @ Oct 18 2009, 10:02 PM) *
ohmy.gif
As you know, I plan to attempt the ICMP. Rated said they´re using Logic... huh.gif


Thanks what they told me, they even said Cubase is for girls laugh.gif


--------------------
Currently Practicing

Rhythm: Finnish Power Metal III: Nightwish
Legato: Ben's Land Of Legato
Alternate Picking: Alternate Picking Workout #5
Chords: Chord Melody Technique

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Oct 18 2009, 11:45 PM
Post #18


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



I would get the "stock" Macbook and get the software later on. Regarding recording I guess you can use line in (and integral sound card) like Paal suggested but you may need some sort of portable external interface later on (like Pod studio ux1 and similar).


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Crazy_Diamond
post Oct 18 2009, 11:47 PM
Post #19


Learning Rock Star
*

Group: Members
Posts: 897
Joined: 28-November 06
From: Montreal, Canada
Member No.: 956



QUOTE (Rated Htr @ Oct 18 2009, 06:32 PM) *
Thanks what they told me, they even said Cubase is for girls laugh.gif


laugh.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jdriver
post Oct 19 2009, 12:07 AM
Post #20


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 484
Joined: 25-May 08
From: Southwest USA
Member No.: 5.174



Don't forget Apple has a fairly significant student discount on both hardware and software.


--------------------
"I dreamed a lot when I was younger..
I'm older now but still I hunger
For some understanding.
There's no understanding, now.
Was there ever?

...Joe Puerta (Ambrosia)...


Finally got a YouTube page going.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th March 2017 - 07:45 PM