2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Bad Amplifier
Darknodar123
post Oct 24 2009, 04:40 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 22-October 09
From: Greece
Member No.: 7.723



Hey GMC!I am a starting rocker and today I bought my very first amp Marshall MG10CD

But I am actually disappointed with its performance as it only has 4 channels.Clean,Blues,Rock and Metal.
But its not only that.The problem is that even as the manual says you adjust it to the appropriate channel (ex. metal)
the sound just continues to be Clean.The same thing applies to the other channels.

What do you think?Should have bought another amp in the first place or should have bought a POD?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matt23
post Oct 24 2009, 04:46 PM
Post #2


Accomplished Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.745
Joined: 17-January 08
From: Scotland
Member No.: 3.866



For a start four channels is pretty good for a little 10watt amp. When it's on the metal channel for instance, try turning the gain knob up.

Also make sure the volume control on your guitar is up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darknodar123
post Oct 24 2009, 04:49 PM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 22-October 09
From: Greece
Member No.: 7.723



Well thats what I do.In order to get a metal sound ofc you need the gain knob up.

Also I try turning but wherever the amp is I cant get any distortion.

I think I should have bought a POD


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matt23
post Oct 24 2009, 04:52 PM
Post #4


Accomplished Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.745
Joined: 17-January 08
From: Scotland
Member No.: 3.866



Is the volume of the overdrive channel and the volume on the guitar up as well yeh?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darknodar123
post Oct 24 2009, 04:56 PM
Post #5


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 22-October 09
From: Greece
Member No.: 7.723



Well according to the manual the Overdrive Gain must be at maximum.
Tone at zero
And on the guitar volume is maximum


The Overdrive Volume is up but as minimum as can be.I can not afford to turn it any higher.It will be heard in all the neighborhood biggrin.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matt23
post Oct 24 2009, 05:00 PM
Post #6


Accomplished Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.745
Joined: 17-January 08
From: Scotland
Member No.: 3.866



Did you order the amp online or did you buy it in a store?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darknodar123
post Oct 24 2009, 05:06 PM
Post #7


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 22-October 09
From: Greece
Member No.: 7.723



Well I bought from the nearest store.Well I dont think there would be any difference.May the Marshall isnt good itself.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matt23
post Oct 24 2009, 05:09 PM
Post #8


Accomplished Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.745
Joined: 17-January 08
From: Scotland
Member No.: 3.866



QUOTE (Darknodar123 @ Oct 24 2009, 05:06 PM) *
Well I bought from the nearest store.Well I dont think there would be any difference.May the Marshall isnt good itself.


Did you try it out before you buy, and did it have distortion then?

What I'm thinking is that the Marshall MG's do have distortion, so if your's doesn't then it will be just your amp.

My suggestion is if noone posts a solution here, you go back to the store with your amp. They will either: show you how to get distortion, swap it for one that actually works, or give you your money back so you can buy something else if you don't like the sound of an MG that works.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Oct 24 2009, 05:12 PM
Post #9


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Try this preset, and make sure you are on the overdrive channel

This post has been edited by Ivan Milenkovic: Oct 24 2009, 05:13 PM
Attached image(s)
Attached Image
 


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darknodar123
post Oct 24 2009, 05:19 PM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 22-October 09
From: Greece
Member No.: 7.723



No I cant try this.Its too loud!!!!!!!Really its very loud and the neighbors will get upset!Not kidding.

Also are there any kind of headphones??If there are i might just try it.

I have headphones but it needs a different kind.Like the jack lead


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matt23
post Oct 24 2009, 05:20 PM
Post #11


Accomplished Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.745
Joined: 17-January 08
From: Scotland
Member No.: 3.866



QUOTE (Darknodar123 @ Oct 24 2009, 05:19 PM) *
No I cant try this.Its too loud!!!!!!!Really its very loud and the neighbors will get upset!Not kidding.

Also are there any kind of headphones??If there are i might just try it.

I have headphones but it needs a different kind.Like the jack lead


Try Ivan's preset but put the volume down to a good level. And make sure you've pressed the button marked overdrive.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darknodar123
post Oct 24 2009, 05:24 PM
Post #12


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 22-October 09
From: Greece
Member No.: 7.723



Well I have tried it.But the sound is clean wherever the channels are....

Also the guitar volume was at 1 and the the amp preset as Ivan stated and my grandma got upset and started
pissing me off smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matt23
post Oct 24 2009, 05:30 PM
Post #13


Accomplished Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.745
Joined: 17-January 08
From: Scotland
Member No.: 3.866



Well I can only suggest this then.

QUOTE (Matt23 @ Oct 24 2009, 05:09 PM) *
Did you try it out before you buy, and did it have distortion then?

What I'm thinking is that the Marshall MG's do have distortion, so if your's doesn't then it will be just your amp.

My suggestion is if noone posts a solution here, you go back to the store with your amp. They will either: show you how to get distortion, swap it for one that actually works, or give you your money back so you can buy something else if you don't like the sound of an MG that works.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darknodar123
post Oct 24 2009, 05:32 PM
Post #14


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 22-October 09
From: Greece
Member No.: 7.723



QUOTE (Matt23 @ Oct 24 2009, 07:09 PM) *
Did you try it out before you buy, and did it have distortion then?

What I'm thinking is that the Marshall MG's do have distortion, so if your's doesn't then it will be just your amp.

My suggestion is if noone posts a solution here, you go back to the store with your amp. They will either: show you how to get distortion, swap it for one that actually works, or give you your money back so you can buy something else if you don't like the sound of an MG that works.



Thanks very much.Thats what I am going to do.But I have a feeling that the amp is alright and the fault is the guitar.
2 days on GMC and 5 topics with problems smile.gif


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Oct 24 2009, 05:35 PM
Post #15


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



Show us exactly what amp do you have, find a picture on google and post it here


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matt23
post Oct 24 2009, 05:35 PM
Post #16


Accomplished Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.745
Joined: 17-January 08
From: Scotland
Member No.: 3.866



QUOTE (Darknodar123 @ Oct 24 2009, 05:32 PM) *
Thanks very much.Thats what I am going to do.But I have a feeling that the amp is alright and the fault is the guitar.
2 days on GMC and 5 topics with problems smile.gif


If you think the problem could be your guitar then it'd be worth taking that in as well.

Everyone has a lot of problems when they're starting out. GMC is good though for that because you have a whole community of experienced people to help you 24/7.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darknodar123
post Oct 24 2009, 05:38 PM
Post #17


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 22-October 09
From: Greece
Member No.: 7.723



Well its the amp you have posted but a little different.

Attached Image

QUOTE (Matt23 @ Oct 24 2009, 07:35 PM) *
If you think the problem could be your guitar then it'd be worth taking that in as well.

Everyone has a lot of problems when they're starting out. GMC is good though for that because you have a whole community of experienced people to help you 24/7.


Well thanks very much.But you think they could figure it out that theres a problem with one of those two?

This post has been edited by Darknodar123: Oct 24 2009, 05:40 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marek Rojewski
post Oct 24 2009, 05:42 PM
Post #18


Experienced Guitar Hero
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.658
Joined: 26-May 08
From: Lodz, Poland
Member No.: 5.185



Sure they can, connecting another guitar to the amp/Your guitar to another amp;)


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matt23
post Oct 24 2009, 05:44 PM
Post #19


Accomplished Tone Master
Group Icon

Group: GMC Wiki:er
Posts: 1.745
Joined: 17-January 08
From: Scotland
Member No.: 3.866



QUOTE (Darknodar123 @ Oct 24 2009, 05:38 PM) *
Well thanks very much.But you think they could figure it out that theres a problem with one of those two?


Well if the amp works with one of their guitars they'll know its a problem with your guitar, and if it doesn't work with one of their guitars they'll know it's a problem with the amp.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Darknodar123
post Oct 24 2009, 05:46 PM
Post #20


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 22-October 09
From: Greece
Member No.: 7.723



QUOTE (Marek Rojewski @ Oct 24 2009, 07:42 PM) *
Sure they can, connecting another guitar to the amp/Your guitar to another amp;)


HAHA...Havent thought of that.Well then they sure will figure out whats the problem.There may be no problem with guitar but the amp really cant provide any other sound than Clean.If it couldnt provide Clean as well then i would



Attached Image

This post has been edited by Darknodar123: Oct 24 2009, 05:47 PM


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Fast ReplyReply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd May 2017 - 11:45 PM